Very Frustrated. (Also made a spreadsheet, please look)

I_dislike_diabetes

Member Since 2020
Hey everyone.

Have some questions regarding prozinc and diet.

AMPS was 484mg/dl attempted to give 2U of Prozinc today @6am. Ten minutes later, I noticed wet fur at site of INJ. Didn't panic, unsure how much of the med was absorbed so I just figured I would test later in the day to get a reference. I tested around 1p, BG was 558, was freaked out but didn't push any more Prozinc, gave a small treat to Kuma for poking him. Tested again around 3p BG was 539, so THEN i panicked and gave 1U, but through my stress and Kuma's impatience, I noticed wet fur again. Dunno how much he got or any at all. Very angry and stressed at that point.

Tested at 6p and BG was 471. I proceeded to feed him his meal, but I am unsure if I should give insulin now. Should I just skip the PM shot today and just INJ at 6am tomorrow morning??? Frustrated because I feel like I am just messing up not only his insulin schedule but his diet due to my current transition.

My questions are:

Am I screwing up his chances of reaching regulation by still including the dry food? I do not want him to exp dietary changes - diarrhea etc. So I include a small amount of the dry and include a quarter of wet food (friskies pate) or ground turkey and bits of chicken breast if he doesn't really care for the wet.

I know the rule of thumb is to not give insulin again if the first shot failed but my emotions got the best of me this time. Because of two failed attempts, one in which I gave a lower dose, could I be messing things up in the long run? When should I give the next shot?

Included spreadsheet in my signature below. Testing isn't very consistent due to my poor time management honestly in addition to not wanting to poke him so much and getting used to the glucometer.
 
Last edited:
Hey everyone.

Have some questions regarding prozinc and diet.

AMPS was 484mg/dl attempted to give 2U of Prozinc today @6am. Ten minutes later, I noticed wet fur at site of INJ. Didn't panic, unsure how much of the med was absorbed so I just figured I would test later in the day to get a reference. I tested around 1p, BG was 558, was freaked out but didn't push any more Prozinc, gave a small treat to Kuma for poking him. Tested again around 3p BG was 539, so THEN i panicked and gave 1U, but through my stress and Kuma's impatience, I noticed wet fur again. Dunno how much he got or any at all. Very angry and stressed at that point.

Tested at 6p and BG was 471. I proceeded to feed him his meal, but I am unsure if I should give insulin now. Should I just skip the PM shot today and just INJ at 6am tomorrow morning??? Frustrated because I feel like I am just messing up not only his insulin schedule but his diet due to my current transition.

My questions are:

Am I screwing up his chances of reaching regulation by still including the dry food? I do not want him to exp dietary changes - diarrhea etc. So I include a small amount of the dry and include a quarter of wet food (friskies pate) or ground turkey and bits of chicken breast if he doesn't really care for the wet.

I know the rule of thumb is to not give insulin again if the first shot failed but my emotions got the best of me this time. Because of two failed attempts, one in which I gave a lower dose, could I be messing things up in the long run? When should I give the next shot?

Included spreadsheet in my signature below. Testing isn't very consistent due to my poor time management honestly in addition to not wanting to poke him so much and getting used to the glucometer.


First off, and this easier said than done....you really need to try to be calm, for a lot of reasons....One main reason is your kitty senses your frustrations.....I would not give any insulin until the next shot time...you have no idea how much you may have given your kitty and that could be a dangerous mistake. My Brady was on dry food and moist food...When he was diagnosed....NO MORE DRY FOR BRADY.....Right now to try to answer your questions....I would start worrying about calming down and trying to help your kitty and if you do that you may reach regulation. Again, cats have a real good sense of your feelings. Testing is important, your kitty will get used to it in time, the more testing you get done the more the people on this fantastic forum can help you....Try to stay consistent in your shot times, 12 hours apart, that is your best option, along with trying to keep your kitty on a regular feeding schedule.

I just want to say I was a total mess both me and my wife when Brady was diagnosed, you really need to do your best at staying calm. Those fur shots happen, just please dont try to correct those fur shots, you may do more harm than good. There are lots of videos out there on how to shoot the insulin, the prozinc website has a great video...Do your best and I promise you it will be second nature to you. Im sure other people will chime in and help you with your questions, hang in there...you will get this....
 
Thanks for your responses, I really do appreciate your concern. When I am angry/stressed, I always keep it inside or just isolate myself. I know it's bad for my cat, but it's especially bad for me; so I keep a tight lid on things, just not today apparently in regards to dosing again. I will be monitoring him throughout the night and I have a hypo tool box ready just in case. Currently he is well.
 
Thanks for your responses, I really do appreciate your concern. When I am angry/stressed, I always keep it inside or just isolate myself. I know it's bad for my cat, but it's especially bad for me; so I keep a tight lid on things, just not today apparently in regards to dosing again. I will be monitoring him throughout the night and I have a hypo tool box ready just in case. Currently he is well.


Trust me I get it, I spent alot of time by myself being confused, frustrated, angry, guilty, you name it, I felt it.....But the people here got me to a place I needed to be...im struggling with a little bit of situation now and hope its nothing, my Brady isnt eating so hot right now, and yes its tough. Plus it doesnt help that im the biggest worry wart in the world.....Shelley and Jess is giving great advice as well....they will get you in the right frame of mind and place as well......you got this!!!
 
AMPS was 484mg/dl attempted to give 2U of Prozinc today @6am. Ten minutes later, I noticed wet fur at site of INJ. Didn't panic, unsure how much of the med was absorbed so I just figured I would test later in the day to get a reference. I tested around 1p, BG was 558, was freaked out but didn't push any more Prozinc, gave a small treat to Kuma for poking him. Tested again around 3p BG was 539, so THEN i panicked and gave 1U, but through my stress and Kuma's impatience, I noticed wet fur again. Dunno how much he got or any at all. Very angry and stressed at that point.
Let me start by saying to never ever give more insulin after a failed shot - you will never know how much actually got in. Happens to the best of us, just let it go. You also do NOT want to give insulin halfway through a cycle. Don't let those high numbers tempt you, you have to ride them out. Stay on schedule.

Am I screwing up his chances of reaching regulation by still including the dry food? I do not want him to exp dietary changes - diarrhea etc. So I include a small amount of the dry and include a quarter of wet food (friskies pate) or ground turkey and bits of chicken breast if he doesn't really care for the wet.
No, but you'll make it harder for yourself on dry. Wet food has the advantage of allowing a more aggressive protocol, which encourages better numbers, which increases the likelihood of regulation and remission. There are plenty of cats that went into remission on a dry diet, but every cat is different, and personally I think it's just an unnecessary hurdle to work through. How does he feel about wet food? If he's open to it I'd switch him - however you must do this slowly, possibly with dose reductions involved. One study said they recommend a 30-50% dose reduction during transition, but if he's going through a slow transition you might not want to drop it all at once unless you drop the food all at once. And note this is concerning dry food over 10% carbs - if you're already using the LC food such as Dr Elseys or Young Again, you don't have to worry about dropping dosage.

I know the rule of thumb is to not give insulin again if the first shot failed but my emotions got the best of me this time. Because of two failed attempts, one in which I gave a lower dose, could I be messing things up in the long run? When should I give the next shot?
See above - hold fast, ride out until next shot-time. Better a day too high than a moment too low. One high day won't kill him but an overdose has the potential to.

You are doing good, just take it easy!
 
Back
Top