I_dislike_diabetes
Member Since 2020
Hey everyone.
Have some questions regarding prozinc and diet.
AMPS was 484mg/dl attempted to give 2U of Prozinc today @6am. Ten minutes later, I noticed wet fur at site of INJ. Didn't panic, unsure how much of the med was absorbed so I just figured I would test later in the day to get a reference. I tested around 1p, BG was 558, was freaked out but didn't push any more Prozinc, gave a small treat to Kuma for poking him. Tested again around 3p BG was 539, so THEN i panicked and gave 1U, but through my stress and Kuma's impatience, I noticed wet fur again. Dunno how much he got or any at all. Very angry and stressed at that point.
Tested at 6p and BG was 471. I proceeded to feed him his meal, but I am unsure if I should give insulin now. Should I just skip the PM shot today and just INJ at 6am tomorrow morning??? Frustrated because I feel like I am just messing up not only his insulin schedule but his diet due to my current transition.
My questions are:
Am I screwing up his chances of reaching regulation by still including the dry food? I do not want him to exp dietary changes - diarrhea etc. So I include a small amount of the dry and include a quarter of wet food (friskies pate) or ground turkey and bits of chicken breast if he doesn't really care for the wet.
I know the rule of thumb is to not give insulin again if the first shot failed but my emotions got the best of me this time. Because of two failed attempts, one in which I gave a lower dose, could I be messing things up in the long run? When should I give the next shot?
Included spreadsheet in my signature below. Testing isn't very consistent due to my poor time management honestly in addition to not wanting to poke him so much and getting used to the glucometer.
Have some questions regarding prozinc and diet.
AMPS was 484mg/dl attempted to give 2U of Prozinc today @6am. Ten minutes later, I noticed wet fur at site of INJ. Didn't panic, unsure how much of the med was absorbed so I just figured I would test later in the day to get a reference. I tested around 1p, BG was 558, was freaked out but didn't push any more Prozinc, gave a small treat to Kuma for poking him. Tested again around 3p BG was 539, so THEN i panicked and gave 1U, but through my stress and Kuma's impatience, I noticed wet fur again. Dunno how much he got or any at all. Very angry and stressed at that point.
Tested at 6p and BG was 471. I proceeded to feed him his meal, but I am unsure if I should give insulin now. Should I just skip the PM shot today and just INJ at 6am tomorrow morning??? Frustrated because I feel like I am just messing up not only his insulin schedule but his diet due to my current transition.
My questions are:
Am I screwing up his chances of reaching regulation by still including the dry food? I do not want him to exp dietary changes - diarrhea etc. So I include a small amount of the dry and include a quarter of wet food (friskies pate) or ground turkey and bits of chicken breast if he doesn't really care for the wet.
I know the rule of thumb is to not give insulin again if the first shot failed but my emotions got the best of me this time. Because of two failed attempts, one in which I gave a lower dose, could I be messing things up in the long run? When should I give the next shot?
Included spreadsheet in my signature below. Testing isn't very consistent due to my poor time management honestly in addition to not wanting to poke him so much and getting used to the glucometer.
Last edited:
