Very different glucose levels for Day and Night

Status
Not open for further replies.
@Squalliesmom @Sue and Oliver

Sushi is with 3.4 at +4! I noticed he was quiet... I gave him only the 2 units.
I fed him already, gave him a few low carb treats and 3-4 regular carb treats to see if it doesn't drop much more, since he usually only reaches nadir at +5/+6...

What more should I do??

I won't be able to be with my parents tomorrow or go to sleep anyway...
 
I'd test again in 30 minutes.. Do you have some gravy food if he would continue to drop under 50? You can give him the gravy off the food - just a teaspoon or so - and see if that brings him up.

I am glad you went with the 2 units and not the higher dose!
 
They never ate higher carb foods than the ones I am feeding now. What I have higher in carbs are these Felix treats http://www.sainsburys.co.uk/shop/gb/groceries/felix-goody-bag-original-mix-60g, which I gave him a few, I have orijen dry food http://www.zooplus.co.uk/shop/cats/dry_cat_food/orijen/45156 but it says in the package that it is low glycemic with only 5.2g carbs /100g and I have Royal Canin sensitivity control pouches http://www.royalcanin.co.uk/product...ry-diet/sensitivity-control-so-chicken-pouch/

I am going to test again now.
What can I do??
 
You feed him to bring him up IF you need to. So if he is dropping and under 50, give him a little of his regular food (only a few teaspoons) and retest in 20 minutes. If he gets down to 45 or lower, mix a little honey with his regular food.
 
You want three rising numbers and then you relax.

I know this is a little scary but it's really good news. He is moving down in numbers (what you want). It is very likely he will bounce for tomorrow morning so be higher than normal. That would be good news for the chance to see your parents because he will be higher.
 
Ok! He has been eating on his own... Twice since the 3.4

I am sorry, but this is the first time I get a reading this low and it is scary. I don't think I will be able to leave him tomorrow until I know for sure that he won't drop again... Even with a starting BG value of 20 he never dropped this low.
Yes, it is good, but OH BOY IT IS SCARY!

Thank you for being right there...I have nobody else to count on...
 
Make it fit your evening. 30 minutes if you think you can then relax and sleep.

Probably he'll be pretty high in the morning, with the expected bump and the honey rising his number. So you could give 2 units or a little less, leave out some food and go see your parents. This was really a gift because the day before a low cycle is usually high.

Congrats on your first hypo! Next time, if there is one, you'll know just what to do!
 
Sweetheart, my evening is long gone... It is 1.30 am here... lol... I'll retest at 2 am and then go for some deserved rest until 6.30...

So you think that this low bump was a result of yesterday's high wonky levels?

I dont think I'll be able to leave him alone tomorrow... What if this happens again and I am not here?

I wouldn't be able to do this without you, Dear Sue...
I can't thank you enough... You are an absolute star, you know?
:bighug:
 
I am guessing the low cycle is a delayed result of the raised dose - but it's a guess, no more. Wait and see where he is in the morning. Most likely he will bounce and be super high. You could give a reduced dose and leave out food. Cats usually eat to bring themselves up if they drop low.

You are welcome. It's the way this place works - people help other people because they were helped. You'll be able to pay it forward.
 
Sara, so sorry I wasn't around to help, too, but you're in wonderful hands with Sue and Oliver. Sue has helped me many times! :) How is Sushi doing now? How are YOU doing? I know how scared you must have been!
 
@Sue and Oliver (GA) Yes...I'll sleep and see how he is in a few hours... It is better to decide after a long *cough* restful *cough* night of sleep... Tomorrow I'll also drop the developments of tonight at the vet as usual. I think that this deserves the vet's acknowledgement...

Yes, I know that is how this place works... but it is still a choice to help... Always... AND I AM SOOOO GRATEFUL FOR YOUR HELP!!!

Lots of love,

Sara
 
@Squalliesmom It's ok, Sweetie... Sue was my Star tonight! I am tremendously grateful... And to you too!
He is at 15.3 now, so I am off to bed for my night nap...
I was super scared! I was so happy when Sue answered straight away... I can only imagine what could have happened if I wasn't monitoring his glucose!!
Sushi was fine...just super quiet, which is not normal. He was like that since yesterday...

Lots of Love, Sweetie!!

Sara
 
You too, Sara! Hope you can get some sleep.

Sue is a star, she's awesome, helped me many times!

Congrats for surviving your first hypo! Please let us know how Sushi is tomorrow!

Lucy :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hello Sue!! Hello Lucy!!

How are the both of you???

It is almost time to the pm shot... Lol... He is much better today! He is more himself and played a lot with his brother. But he is still with some wonky numbers.... but no hypos. I hope we will be back at where we were in the next few days...
Dropped his values at the vet and she told me to keep him on 2U and see if he goes back to where he was before and then we will go from there... :)

@Sue and Oliver (GA) Have I thanked you with all my heart???
:bighug:

Yes, it may be the time to start a new thread... What should I call it??
 
How about "Dropping Sushi's Dose" or "Starting Sushi Back At 2 Units"? Or "Regrouping After Hypo"?

I'm really glad he's doing so much better today! :) I looked at his numbers, I see he's still getting that big drop around +4 to +6. He's certainly consistent, at least, lol.
Sara, do you remember what his numbers were at the vet's, when he was first diagnosed? I scanned through the thread but didn't see them (but that could be me, doesn't mean they aren't there somewhere, lol!)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top