Values confusing - need help

Status
Not open for further replies.
i was more worried about the 409 number; just gave shot will try to get +3 before I leave. If I'm home at +6 I will get a sample to see how low he really goes. I have a call into the vet as well. Maybe increase to .1. Don't know how to do .75 on the syringe which would be where I would really like to go if I need to increase dose. I have .3ml syringes....not sure if they come any smaller.

Good to know about the meters varying up to 20%...seems like in the 21st century they could get perfect accuracy :smile:
 
Is there any way to get the most recent posts on top. I have tried hitting the ascending/descending button but I must be doing some wrong?
 
Julie + Purrcee said:
Is there any way to get the most recent posts on top. I have tried hitting the ascending/descending button but I must be doing some wrong?
Go to the User Control Panel, click the Board Preferences tab, click Edit Display Options, change Display Post Order Direction to descending, click submit to save the change.
Syringes do not come any smaller than the ones you have. They do come with 1/2 unit markings on the barrel. I can provide a picture of a syringe with 0.75U if I can find it.
 
+8 going up 397
wish I would have been home for +6
sometimes giving .5 makes me doubt I'm giving anything but I fill the syringe with more than needed so I can make sure there is insulin in it.

Thanks for the info on how to change to descending
 
Julie + Purrcee said:
Is there any way to get the most recent posts on top. I have tried hitting the ascending/descending button but I must be doing some wrong?

After selecting the order, click the GO button.
Only sorts it for 1 post, I think.
The control panel option is permanent until you change it again.

You can also click first unread post to get to that part of the thread.
 
We hold a dose for 6 cycles or 3 days minimum with Lantus. Looks to me from looking at your SS, that Purrcee could use a bit of a dose increase.

I would only raise the dose from 0.5U to 0.75U if this were my cat.

Try to get a +5 , +6 ,+7 BG numbers during the next day or two. That is the usual nadir. Let's see if we can find when Purrcee's is.

When you get a chance, would you please create a profile for Purrcee over in Google docs, like you did for your spreadsheet. Directions here: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=79123
 
Vet said to increase to .1 (not sure if that's because it's hard to figure out .75 on the syringe). I was going to start tonight. I don't want to overdo it but not sure how to consistently do .75.
Will set up profile sometime soon.
 
Ok, +7 would be good.

Vet said to increase to .1
Looks like a typo and you meant 1.0U , not 0.1U?

What have you decided to increase the dose to?

If you place the little black disc at the end of the plunger, so it is just below the 1U line, you will have 0.75U.
 
+7 176 which is lowest in a long time and I think I really shot just a little over .5 last night and this am.

Do you think I should just try to shoot just a little over .5 and hope I hit it around .75 or go to a full l.0?

Advice appreciated.

Thanks.
 
Here is a picture of a syringe with the plunger at the 0.25unit mark on a syringe with 1/2 unit markings. Click on the photo for a larger image.



The needle end is the top of the syringe. The top of the plunger is the part closest to the top of the needle. It's the part with the little round disc that pushes the insulin out.

The disc has a certain thickness to it. About 0.25U worth of thickness.
The lines on the syringe have a certain thickness to them. About 0.25U.
Think of the top of the disc as the part closest to the needle.
Think of the bottom of the disc as being towards the handle of the plunger.
Think of the top of a line being towards the needle end of the syringe.
Think of the bottom of a line being towards the handle of the plunger.

You want to have the bottom of the plunger disc at the top of the 1U line. That will be 0.75U.
 

Attachments

  • 025unit-1.jpg
    025unit-1.jpg
    11.7 KB · Views: 1,516
Do the best you can. Try to be consistent. That can be more important than if it's 0.7 or 0.75 or 0.85. The hardcore members use calipers for measuring out the dose. Not necessary at this point in time.
 
Paws crossed the new dose works better! It might take a few days for the depot to build up to see the effect and of course Purcee has to clear the current bounce off of the recent blue..
 
I suspect he is bouncing off that blue yesterday. He is kinda flat right now. We will see where he is at PMPS to see ifit starts to clear. Then a before bed test too or mid night cycle test in case he decides to drop overnight..
 
There is a character limit in your signature so maybe edit your signature like this and note what I did with the URLs especially in red.

Julie & Purrcee
ReliOn Confirm + Lantus
DX: May 23 '13
Feed: Various canned LC

then for the URLS see what I did in red - you can probably copy and paste?
 
It worked great! Can you do the same for his profile? I just don't understand the instructions to make it look right. Thanks so much for your help.
 
Fantastic!

Now, That you are set up i am thinking If you don't see him come down by end tomorrow you might need a dose increase. He might be clearing that bounce soon though I hope.. Maybe even today so a mid cycle test would be good.

However I would propose you start posting on the tight regulation board since you are now more experienced. That board has a great sense of community and I feel it could really help you in terms of dosing since there are many very experienced dosing members on there. I am on there every day myself. http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewforum.php?f=9

You are welcome to continue to post here, I just think that they might be able to help you more over there.

Heres how to post
Every day ( or as often as you can) you open a new thread/post. We call them "condos"
- The subject has the date/cats name and BG readings ie 06/14 Purcee AMPS 339 +5 328 etc You add a ? icon if you have a question and maybe even a few words of the question in the subject too. You can update your subject as you get a reading, or whenever.

- The contents of your post have a quick update on how Purcee is feeling as regards the 5Ps ( peeing. pooing, preening, playing and purring) and any questions and a link to your previous post ie : Today Purcee was in a good mood, playing and eating well. But still his BG is really high. Should I increase the dose?

For your first post put "newbie" also in your subject so everyone can welcome you!


Wendy
 
Julie + Purrcee said:
Midcycle 1 am 206...lowest since 6/6/13
Do you think I should increase dose to 1.0 or give it another day?

Hold it another day.

Julie + Purrcee said:
Does anyone have a recommendation on syringes? I'm using 30G 5/16" from Walgreens but I paid $35.88 for 100

Saw these on line at American Diabetes. I would rather have 31G
http://www.americandiabeteswholesale.co ... 278_88.htm

Thanks!
I get 30G 5/16" box of 100 Relion from Walmart for about $12.56

Some people don't like the BD syringes because they always get bubbles that seem hard to get out and make consistent dosing difficult. Some people love the Terumo syringes but you need to watch yourself with the plunger because it moves real easy with a slight touch and you can end up squirting the insulin out before you inject.
 
Holding another day but unfortunately not great progress this am.
Thanks for the advice on syringes too.
I like the ones at Walgreens but they are so expensive! Kind of wish I would have bought a more common glucometer because I have to get all supplies at Walmart and would rather have some options on buying. I'm at Target a lot!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top