? Vacation Dose

Status
Not open for further replies.

Merlin

Member Since 2014
I have a few questions but here is my dilemma.

1) I will be gone for four days next week. My brother will be testing for AM & PM preshots but nothing in between. I use Prozinc and am using a sliding scale. I thought I would decrease the dose 0.20 units while I am gone. So for example, if Merlin gets a 265, I would normally give him 0.8 but with my new "vacation dose" scale, he would get 0.6.

2) I use close to an 11/13 schedule rather than a 12/12 schedule and this is because he goes lower in the evening and higher in the morning i.e. so, I catch him from going high in the am. My brother can only come over at 6am & 6pm. I was having a tough time moving to that schedule (in increments) but two nights ago, he gave me a unshootable number, so I took that opportunity to jump to 6am that next day. The next day he went low on me again, so I decided last night I would go to my "vacation dose." I couldn't dose again due to another low number, so I skipped. This morning, I started my new "vacation dose" test so it will be interesting to see what his number will be tonight in twelve hours.

So, I only have three days to test out my new vacation dose (decrease of 0.2). I am wondering if I shouldn't go down another 0.2 i.e. 0.4 from my regular sliding scale? I am also instructing my brother to not shoot anything under 200. I thought I would get your thoughts regarding dose. Thanks.
 
I always vote on the side of higher levels than lower, Cindi. I think, especially since he is giving you some unexpected lower preshots, I'd go down. You can get him back on track when you get home.

Have a great trip!
 
Hi Cindi, I am new here, so I can't give you any advice, just wanted to wish you and Merlin good luck while you are away and have a great time on vacation!
 
I agree with Sue. Since you won't be there and no nadirs can get tested, I think going lower is safest. You can be more aggressive when you're around, but lower is safest when you aren't there. :)
 
Hi Cindi,
Like everyone else has said, the lower dose is always safer when no one can test Merlin mid-cycle. FWIW, We were away for a week in July and Mitz would not let the sitter test her. Since she was already only getting 0.2 units, I told the sitter not to give anything unless she could test. So, Mitz went the whole week with no insulin. Her numbers were definitely high when we got home but she got back down to her pre-vacation numbers over about 2 weeks.

Joan
 
Thanks everyone for your input. Plans never work ... it seems. My plan was to take my sliding scale numbers and shift down by 0.20 units for all the numbers. Recently, Merlin has decided to go low on the vacation dose numbers, so am taking all your advice, and am shifting down some more - 0.40 units. I think that is going to be safe for him. I am so asking my brother not to shoot below 220 because I am not sure now what 0.20 will do for a 200 number. Thanks again for all your responses.
 
Hi Cindi,
So will your brother be giving Merlin 0.2 units or 0.4 (if he's above 220)? I'm thinking 0.2 will be safer after looking at Merlin's SS and seeing that with 0.4 yesterday morning, you weren't able to shoot in the PM.

Joan
 
He will shoot 0.2 for 220 and above. This is what I have come up with.

BG # U100 U40
220-259 0.50 (0.20)

260-289 1.00 (0.40)

290-339 1.50 (0.60)

340-374 2.00 (0.80)

375 plus 2.50 (1.00)
 
I know I am a newbie, but I sure understand your worries going away with a sugar cat at home. You put a lot of time and thought into this and have good safe shooting numbers and dosages. Good luck and enjoy your vacation!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top