Vacation Dose Question & It's Merlin's B-day!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Merlin

Very Active Member
Hello everyone! This Friday, I am going on vacation for one week and will be visiting one of my daughters (Merlin's mom) who is currently living in Hawaii. My other daughter is going to stay with the animals and have been practicing testing, dosing and shooting Merlin. I have been working on a safe sliding scale for her. She will be able to do a pre-shot test but will not be able to test him during the day. All has been going very well until last night...he went low for a mid-level pre-shot number (316). Unfortunately, I have not been able to get nadir readings in the past week due to my work. Anyway, this has me a little worried. So this leads me to a few questions.

1) Should I change my sliding scale?
2) I have been testing a 13/11 schedule. I was going to continue while on vacation but now I am wondering if I should go back to a 12/12 schedule?
3) Does a 13/11 schedule make his numbers a little less stable?
4) If I do change my sliding scale, how should I go about it with only a couple of days left to go to make the adjustments? Should I:

a) reduce all numbers by .2 dose?
b) add xx numbers to my numbers; for example change 290 to 320 for a 1.2u dose?
c) or just leave alone?

Secondly, Merlin turns 18 years this month. I am so surprised. Merlin is my daughter's cat. We both thru-hiked the Appalachian Trail and was gone from home for six months. When we completed our hike and went home exactly one year ago, Merlin was in a terrible state and probably had diabetes for a long time. Well now he is a totally different cat thanks to all the wonderful people on this message board. So "Happy Birthday" Merlin!
 
Re: Sliding Scale Question & It's Merlin's B-day!

Can't help with the sliding scale questions but I can certainly help with wishing Merlin a ......

Very Happy 18th Birthday!!!!

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: Sliding Scale Question & It's Merlin's B-day!

What a wonderful old guy! Happy Birthday party_cat party_cat , Merlin. How nice you have a daughter to help you out, Cindi.

It does look like the 11/13 schedule has moved the higher preshot to pm. interesting that he is dropping a little lower at night. Will your daughter be there at night or not? If so, he could let her know if he was dropping. When he was 12/12, the higher shot tended to be in the am. Yesterday was interesting for preshot and nadir at night....

I guess my thought would be that the goal is to keep him in safe numbers, even if a little higher? So maybe lower the dose on each range by .2, leave out food during the day and night. I am thinking you can always get him back on track when you get home if he is running higher. What do you think?
 
Re: Sliding Scale Question & It's Merlin's B-day!

Hi Mel...Merlin says thanks for the Birthday wish. Hey Sue. I just got home and was able to get a +6 today. I decreased his dose this am thinking that he still may be a little sensitive from last night dose. This morning he got a 224 and I would have normally given him .8 but decided to give him a teeny bit fat .6. Anyway, he gave me a 112 at +6. So I think I will re-adjust my overall scale and reduce all my numbers by .2 like you said. He will be running high but probably no more than 50 points so he should be okay. She works during the day but she will be home at night so she will be able to test before she goes to bed.

Yes that 13/11 schedule looks like it just moved his high AMPS numbers to PMPS however I think overall, his higher PMPS is a little lower than what his high AMPS numbers was before...so that is a little bit of improvement. I also thought when I got back from vacation I would try a 12.5/11.5 schedule. I also think I will keep the 13/11 schedule so Stacy won't have to get home early.

Thanks again...it is so great to get confirmation and support here.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top