vacation dose (no test possible)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Carol & Murphy (GA)

Very Active Member
I have to go out of town tomorrow afternoon and won't be back until Wednesday around noon - a cat sitter is coming to give insulin at 7:15 pm/7:15 am - she hasn't yet learned to test (I think she has conveniently procrastinated)
So she'll have to give two doses without a test - he is only on Young Again at the current time which has resulted in lower readings but his IBD flare (now resolving I hope) has made his numbers somewhat unpredictable. I was ready to say a 1.5 units but now with my pmps reading of 235, I am not comfortable with that. 1 unit? 1.25? thanks
 
I'd probably go with 1u. And at AMPS tomorrow, if in doubt, shoot low.
 
I have to go out of town tomorrow afternoon and won't be back until Wednesday around noon - a cat sitter is coming to give insulin at 7:15 pm/7:15 am - she hasn't yet learned to test (I think she has conveniently procrastinated)
So she'll have to give two doses without a test - he is only on Young Again at the current time which has resulted in lower readings but his IBD flare (now resolving I hope) has made his numbers somewhat unpredictable. I was ready to say a 1.5 units but now with my pmps reading of 235, I am not comfortable with that. 1 unit? 1.25? thanks
Safe travels Carol and good luck with your kitty care. Try not to worry about Murphy. :cat:
 
I think the reduced dose will work too. I would still show your cat sitter how to test and maybe she/he will feel better testing when it is just her. Just let her/him know that after only a couple of trys and if she doesn't draw blood, forget it and just shoot. If she/he will only shoot 1u, you might want to make some colored water (I used yellow food color) and draw up 1 unit so she will have a sample syringe of 1u. Be sure she/he understands that that syringe is just for show and not to shoot it! I loaded five syringes with different doses and my brother at first thought it was the syringe that he was going to use. I don't think yellow food color will do the same as insulin. :) Have a wonderful day.
 
I think the reduced dose will work too. I would still show your cat sitter how to test and maybe she/he will feel better testing when it is just her. Just let her/him know that after only a couple of trys and if she doesn't draw blood, forget it and just shoot. If she/he will only shoot 1u, you might want to make some colored water (I used yellow food color) and draw up 1 unit so she will have a sample syringe of 1u. Be sure she/he understands that that syringe is just for show and not to shoot it! I loaded five syringes with different doses and my brother at first thought it was the syringe that he was going to use. I don't think yellow food color will do the same as insulin. :) Have a wonderful day.
Hah!!! Your brother!!! I know we're not supposed to, but it's such a short period of time - I am going to draw up the insulin before I leave (about 7 hrs before she shoots the pm dose, and and about 18 before the am dose) - and then have her roll the syringe before she shoots it . Otherwise I'd worry and now with Cindi's experience, I would really worry - I keep trying to get a time for her to come over to show her how to poke and test his ears, but it never works out - after this I will insist (and hope that Murphy doesn't bite her too badly):nailbiting:
 
Last edited:
I think prefilling the syringes is okay in this case. I did that a couple of times.
 
Oh thanks Lynn - it's just a quickie 2 hr drive but it may snow tomorrow which may not make for a fun drive back
It's very hard not to worry though
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top