Vacation dose for pet sitter

Status
Not open for further replies.

Holly and Sunny Bear

Member Since 2021
Hi! I was asking on the facebook page about a vacation dose and it was mentioned that we could do 1U BID while we're gone. Leaving Friday for 11 days and the sitter will be testing his BG at AMPS and PMPS but likely not much in between. Is 1U a good idea?

We're at 1.5 currently (we've only been on 1.5 for 3 cycles) since Sunny was dropping low on 1.75U on 5/31. You'll see in the SS that he got to a bg of 85 -- but I was watching closely and he was dropping fast (~30 pts every 1/2 hour) -- so I intervened with LC food and he turned at 85 and went slowly back up. Don't want that happening while we're out since the sitter will not be able to watch him that closely.

I did get a timed feeder as well - so he'll have access to food if that happens when no one is here.
Also, I'll ask the sitter to check for ketones - we have a blood meter for ketones. The higest I've seen his ketones is 0.7 but it's usally lower.
 
I should mention -- he had a lower than usual preshot number last night and this morning (~300 which is lower than I have seen in awhile).
 
Do you think Duke will eat well while you are away?
I think 1 unit would ba a safe amount to give, and it is an easy amount to draw up in the syringe..... but I will tag @JanetNJ mad @Panic to see what they think, as I am not a Prozinc user.
I would also give the sitter a cut off BG where she skips the shot such as under 200.
See what Janet and Elizabeth think.

Enjoy your holiday!
 
It's Sunny Bear actually! Not Duke. But I think that's a good new nickname for him :) He has several. My Dad calls him Gary for some reason. Lol
He's shy of others, but very food motivated so I don't think we'll have a problem with him not eating. Thank you for your help!
 
When I left town for a couple weeks the members here suggested dropping Panic by 0.25 units during my absence. This was specific to Panic's SS though. @Deb & Wink do you have any customized advise for Sunny Bear?
 
I’ve just had a look at Dukes thread.......yes I do remember looking at his thread earlier before opening Sunny Bears SS and answering you. The name must have still been in my head. Apologies to Sunny Bear.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top