Using Prozinc

Status
Not open for further replies.

pteacher

Member
I haven't been on the Feline Diabetes forum long and just found this group for Prozinc. I don't have a spread sheet and really just prefer to keep a diary on Rocky. He is doing good, but my concern is his numbers seem to change a lot. I test his blood at various times of the day (usually twice a day). I was told by my vet to not give him a shot if his numbers were below 200, but if I skip his shot, then his morning numbers are high (300 or so). Just took his bg at 4:45pm (right before he ate) and it was 175. Does eating make it go higher? He gets 2 units of insulin in the morning and 1 unit at night. I really don't want to skip his nightime shot.
He has another curve scheduled for this Friday and I do have a call into my vet about this matter.
I want to do the right thing for my kitty.
 
Welcome to our little group. And it is little, busiest on the weekends and in the am and pm. If you ever have an emergency, post on Health if no answer here. I remember you from Health. Did you get the testing down?

Can you give us an idea of what his numbers have looked like lately? Maybe like this:

amps morning number # amount given
+6 (6 hours after the shot) #
pmps evening number before the shot # amount given

I can set up a spreadsheet for you and email it to you. It's very hard for us to give good advice if we don't have an idea of his history of doses and numbers. The fact that it is color coded makes it such a wonderful tool. Yes, we have people who shoot under 200 but you want to have some data first so you know what he might do. When you get a number under 200, wait 20 minutes and retest, WITHOUT FEEDING. If you go ahead and feed, the food raises the number and then you can't be sure if it is truly over 200. If you consistently get preshot numbers under 200, lowering the dose a little might give you two shootable numbers, am and pm.

Food generally does make the numbers rise - that's why you want to test before you feed, am and pm. When their pancreas starts to work again, one of the tests is to feed and test. If the number goes down, their pancreas is helping out.
 
Hi there & welcome to PZI.
I am Jennifer & my big brown cat is Baxter cat_pet_icon .

A couple of the important things to know & remember about FD is consistenty. Being consistent with feeding times & shot times & dosing amounts is important.
Also, dosing on a 12 hr time schedule that works best for your life.

When you mentioned that you are giving 2u & 1u...that could be the reason for the higher numbers & lower numbers. You want to have a balance.

I would suggest going with 1u am & pm. Try to get a +6 reading which would tell you how low he is dropping on the dose. Stick with the 1u for a few cycles & see if it doesn't balance out his numbers.
Also, the +6-+10 will let you know if he is still dropping. You don't want to give insulin if the BG is still dropping. You won't know this if you don't have any numbers to go by. The PS you can't compare that with.

I hope some of this will help.
Please ask questions if you don't understand. It can be overwhelming at times.
 
How did Rocky's curve at the vet's go? And how is testing coming along? Is it getting easier or are you still having some difficulties? Let us know, perhaps even specifically what might be causing you grief and we may be able to help. :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top