Urgent - Stoney - AMPS 109 | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

Urgent - Stoney - AMPS 109

McKenzie LaPray

Member since 2025
Good morning, Stoney is due for his morning shot in about 30 minutes. He is currently at 109. Should we feed and prick again in 30? I’m also okay with reducing his dose as I work from home so I can monitor him.
 
Last edited:
Good morning, Stoney is due for his morning shot in about 30 minutes. He is currently at 109. Should we feed and prick again in 30? I’m also okay with reducing his dose as I work from home so I can monitor him.
If you are going to stall the shot to test again do not feed. The idea is we want to see if Stoney is coming up on his own not food induced
 
Remember that he has a good 1.5 to 2 hours for his to rise before the insulin will onset —- so between the 109 and the food to help sustain his BG you probably could have shot on time. But it’s unprecedented so you did the correct thing. We could have considered shooting a reduced dose as well 1.5 or 1.25 and then collected test data to see if that was enough or too much. As long as you are able to monitor the cycles we can keep him safe.
 
I just checked him again. He is at 319 and ketones 0.6 (yay!). I gave him the full dose of 1.75u and will check him in about 2 hours. We can give him his evening dose at 9:00pm, correct?
 
So if I shoot now at 9:50am, I can shoot at 7:40pm safely? Then, shoot at 7:40am tomorrow?
The recommended process is - you could shoot at 9:20 pm and work your way back in 30 minute increments each cycle until back at desired shot time.

Prozinc does have a bit more wiggle room, if you have the data, up to an hour if he's high enough to shoot and you can monitor the cycle.
Should I also shoot the full dose? Poor guys schedule is going to be all messed up this week. We have a wedding on Saturday evening that starts at 5:30. :(
Whatever you decide to shoot you'll still need to work back your shot time.
 
At this point I would just skip and resume regular shot time this evening. It will be okay.
12 minutes ago, he was at 319 and ketones 0.6. I gave him the full dose of 1.75u and will check him in about 2 hours. I will monitor and give him the evening dose at 9:30.

Going forward if he is low I will not feed and continue to test to see if he earns a reduction. Sorry. There are so many things to do depending on his numbers. It gets so confusing. :(
 
Prozinc does have a bit more wiggle room, if you have the data, up to an hour if he's high enough to shoot and you can monitor the cycle.
I want to elaborate on this a little further, couldn't find one of the threads earlier that talks about moving shot times. A reply from Djamila one of the authors of the Prozinc dosing methods:

Info - Daylight Savings Time Starts March 10th

And I would just add to this that prozinc has about an hour's worth of wiggle room, so if you are mostly consistent in your dose times, and your cat is regularly plenty high to shoot, you may be able to just make the jump all at once. If you are needing to stall fairly often, or if your cat is just barely high enough to shoot (closer to regulated), then you should consider making the time change in steps as suggested above.
 
I will monitor and give him the evening dose at 9:30.
And his regular shot time is what? 7:30 (your time?). Don’t shoot two hours early (meaning ten hours between the shots.). But since I am not in your time zone I have no idea — I am not saying you are planning to shoot two hours early I am just confused about the time. Sorry. That is why we use the +times to indicate the hours because my 9:30 p.m. is not your 9:30 p.m. (unless you are Eastern Time Zone. And that is also why I put Eastern Time in my signature.
 
Going forward if he is low I will not feed and continue to test to see if he earns a reduction
Here is the procedure:

If you are uncertain about the preshot number because it is lower than expected, stall without feeding for 30 minutes to see if the BG is stable or rising high enough to where you feel comfortable shooting.

You also have the option of shooting a reduced dose. It would be good to post for assistance (as you did this morning, but I wasn’t around because I had one cat going to the vet and another who had a stroke of some sort and they refused to see him!) So I got back home around 10 a.m. and saw your messages. But by then it was getting late.

Anyway, I digress. You can also post on the Health Forum if you don’t get a reply, but there isn’t always someone there who is familiar with ProZinc dosing nuances.

So the purpose of stalling isn’t to see if he earns a reduction. The cat may drop lower but the only reason would be because you aren’t giving them any food — so that isn’t the way we want them to earn reductions 🙂And it’s probably best not to stall for more than an hour just to keep things on track.
 
Sorry things are confusing now. It’s all new! You are doing well, but you can’t expect to be an expert overnight. I’m proud of all you have done for Stoney. I can see how you love him!
 
And his regular shot time is what? 7:30 (your time?). Don’t shoot two hours early (meaning ten hours between the shots.). But since I am not in your time zone I have no idea — I am not saying you are planning to shoot two hours early I am just confused about the time. Sorry. That is why we use the +times to indicate the hours because my 9:30 p.m. is not your 9:30 p.m. (unless you are Eastern Time Zone. And that is also why I put Eastern Time in my signature.
His regular shot time is 7:30am central. I shot today at 10:30 central! Reading all your replies, we will shoot at 10pm central, which is not an issue. It is easier for us to have him get his shot earlier, but it is not a problem during the week as I work from home and am always here! Also, so sorry to hear about your cats. I hope there is good news!
 
His regular shot time is 7:30am central. I shot today at 10:30 central! Reading all your replies, we will shoot at 10pm central, which is not an issue. It is easier for us to have him get his shot earlier, but it is not a problem during the week as I work from home and am always here! Also, so sorry to hear about your cats. I hope there is good news!
Well, if he is really high at shot time you could probably shoot up to 1 hour early, but if you are comfortable working your way back half an hour a day.

Cat number one is home. She has arthritis and I will be giving her Adequan injections and a joint supplement.

We are at a different vet now with cat number two. He had some sort of stroke and is listing to the right and has fallen over to the right a few times. He had an episode in 2022 which was worse than this one.
 
Why the reduced dose today? His numbers are high.

Also, kibble is high carb and will spike numbers. I see he ate some.
He was too low last night, even after food. I didn’t feel comfortable giving the full dose as I would not be up to monitor him. I did set an alarm for 1am and checked his numbers and he was still looking okay. He actually didn’t end up eating any of the kibble, just drank the kibble flavored water. 😂

We’re going to go back up to the full dose tonight.
 
If you are currently following SLGS, our goal is to keep him as much of the time between 90-150.

With MPM it would be 50-120.

Normal cat BG is mostly green … approximately between 50 to a max of 120 (and that 120 would be rare.)
 
If you are currently following SLGS, our goal is to keep him as much of the time between 90-150.

With MPM it would be 50-120.

Normal cat BG is mostly green … approximately between 50 to a max of 120 (and that 120 would be rare.)
Honestly, I have not even had a chance to look at which routine to follow. Let me look at them tonight to determine what we are doing. I’m usually home to monitor and administer the shot, the only problem is that he is easier when there are two people. He gave me some trouble this morning. Our timing being so late means I HAVE to give at least the AM shot, we had been doing it at 5:30/6am while my husband is still home, then Stoney’s schedule got messed up. I am the only one monitoring, feeding, and testing, while working, so the big change in timing has really messed the both of us up. I don’t like skipping doses or even reducing due to his previous DKA, and not getting a full night sleep is not feasible for me. I’m trying :( I’m about to test him in about 15 min which will be +6
 
Last edited:
Back
Top