URGENT question amps=117 +8=113 pmps=69

Status
Not open for further replies.

Putter

Member Since 2010
Putter is an acrocat, fairly new diabetic, diagnosed in Aug of this year. Numbers have always been very high. He is on 7 units Lantus twice a day. Maybe I am panicking but this is the very 1st time he has gone below 80, I usually give his Lantus at 8:30 morning and night, but tonight when he tested at 69, I was so taken back I did not know what to do. He is acting normal, in fact he is acting great. I did not give his pm dose being afraid that he would hypo but now I know he will drain his shed and probably sky rocket sometime during the night.
I have read all about shooting low #'s but being he doesn't normally come anywhere close to low, much less normal I am a bit taken back. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. He is not 1.45 hr past his normal time to shoot.
Sorry if I am posting this incorrectly but I don't usually post, I just read.
 
sorry i have no dose advise... we strongly encourage people to post regularly so the experts get to know you and your kitty....that amount of lantus is really high...here they recommend to start the dose at 1u and go in increments of 0.25 after a few cycles....i'm not an expert...and i'm afraid perhaps no one is around....i would not give such high dose being he is 69 pre-shot....

bumping you to see if anyone can chime in...if they're around....

is there a spreadsheet you can add to your signature? lurking around to read it good but it is better if they get to know you and your kitty....my opinion....

looks like no one is around....
 
Claudia, Putter has been on Lantus since he was diagnosed, except for a week on PZI which was a disaster.
We have worked up to 7 units over time, being an acrocat he has been extremely high until we got to 6 units when he finally started to drop, once we got to 7 units his numbers actually started to look like they were going to finally come down. It has truly been an emotional roller coaster but Putter is a real trooper throughout the entire ride.
I was extremely excited to see him get below the high 2's. So you can imagine when I start to see only double digits I panicked. I just tested him again and he is at 64.
I don't think I will give him anything tonight at all.
 
i'm not familiar with an acrocat...not at all...i'm sorry...as i said i'm not an expert....would you be able to monitor if you give a token dose? how long can you stall to give the shot?

i' suggest you add your spreadsheet (i'm sure you have one) to your signature....introduce yourself and see what the experts say tomorrow morning....i'd like to help but the amount of lantus he is on makes me nervous you give him that tonight....

if you are lurking you have seen how we all each start one condo per day with the date/cat's name/ amps #

i don't know what to say....i wish i could help you....
 
cut dose next time you shoot would be my opinion but i don't own an acro. glad you didn't shoot this.
my understanding is that we avoid greens at all costs for acros and in fact might want to give high carb if we see them.
i'll send a shout out elsewhere for more acro help.


[edited 1st sentence to clarify]
 
Acros should not be allowed to go under 100!
Feed one can of HC now; you need to bring that number up.
 
Do you have a spreadsheet with Putter's numbers? It would be most helpful to assist if you have one.
I say to give a fair amount of HC food because acros have functioning pancreas so HC may not stop the BG from dropping.
 
I would recommend a dose reduction to 6.5u tonight. You are experiencing what many of us have experienced, when the resistance "breaks" and the dose overruns itself. Awesome job!! Sending you a Private Message, please be sure to check..
..Carolyn
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top