Urgent - New And Worried - Relion Micro Testing 170 Points Higher?!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sweet Spot

Active Member
Good Morning - so glad this forum is here!

I am new to the world of cat diabetes with my 13 year old cat, Spot...just started on Lantus 5 days ago. So you understand what is happening besides diabetes, I titled this urgent because on top of my boy being newly diagnosed as diabetic, my father is passing away on hospice at the same time and I am so overwhelmed.

Here is what happened and why I need help as quickly as possible (if my father passes away, we will have to leave town for weeks, with Spot - so I have little time to figure this out).

I had been testing him with a Walgreen's True Result (was going to get a better one in the future, but it is accurate with me, so I felt at least I knew it "worked"). Spot's readings were always between 160 and 220. Yesterday I bought a Relion Micro, thinking it was time to have two meters and check accuracy a bit more.

I first tested the True Result and Relion Micro on myself. The True Result averaged about 28 points lower than the Relion. That was "ok" to me. I tested myself this way 3 times, using the same blood drop, and it was always consistent.

So then I tested Spot. Three times.

True Result was around his 160 range. RELION WAS IN THE 330's ALL THREE TIMES! That means there was a 170 point higher result with Relion, three times in a row. Now I am scared.

How could there be a variable with cat blood testing, but not with my blood? I don't know what to do now.....

I don't know what to do next:

If I take him to the vet to test (and keep in mind I need to be at my father's bedside) his results could be high from "vet stress" - I guess I could take BOTH meters to the vet (if she agrees) and we test hers and both of mine all in one swoop. If the Relion and her meter are in the same ballpark, then I will know (but I still can't understand how the two meters would be close with my blood and not with Spot's).

The other option is to skip the vet and overnight an Alphatrak2 to see if it is close to the Relion result.

Thinking your cat needs no insulin vs desperately needs insulin is a bad place to be. I am already under so much emotional stress, I just don't know what to do....please advise if you can....

Thank you,
Robin
 
i'm so sorry you've got so much going on right now! :(

I don't know how to advise you on the meter readings having such variables. i'm sure someone else here may have a theory about that.

the only meter I've used is alphatrak2. i was stressed and overwhelmed when i was shopping for a meter, and i wanted something reliable quickly. i didn't have the mental energy to shop around. i saw good reviews on alphatrak2, and its specific to pets. the supplies are more expensive but who cares when the chips are down. i figured i could always buy another meter later down the road.

both your ideas are great - you can all test kitty's blood at the vet and compare results to see if both meters match your vet results. making a fast purchase of the alphatrak might be more convenient under the circumstances. it would be interesting to see the results of 3 meters at once.

what insulin is Spot on?

i wish you luck! keep us posted if you can.
 
Thank you for your quick reply, misterbeesmom -

Spot is on Lantus - the vet started him at 1 unit 2x day. But after the first dose, the "True Result" reading had him at 150...even 24 hours later...which meant "no dosing." So he has got very little Lantus these past 5 days. He didn't appear as a miraculously "healed" cat so that was one reason we bought the other meter, just to be certain - but never expected this tremendous range.

I know his health and accurate testings are most important right now, but I sure hope someone might shed light on how those two meters were accurate with my blood and not with his!
 
Several people here have reported that the True Result meter reads very low for some reason--the Relion numbers are likely correct. Your idea to have your vet get a reading is good, or you can get some urine testing sticks and see if he's spilling glucose into his urine. If he is, it means he's above the renal threshold and needs insulin (and the Relion numbers are correct).
 
You could also try the 2 meters (True Test and Relion) again on a side by side comparison. Sometimes a test strip is "off" a bit or the amount of blood could give a wonky reading. If a second comparison still results in vastly different numbers then you could have both meters tested at your vets. If your vet uses a pet meter there will be a difference, since pet meters give higher readings than human meters.

So sorry you are having to deal with so much all at once. :bighug: :bighug:
 
Thanks again for all of the replies - I wanted to have some glucose urine strips around, just for "extra data" while I familiarize myself with this process - but i can't seem to find them anywhere. Are they only available online these days and, if so, any preferred brand/style?
 
Thank you for your quick reply, misterbeesmom -

Spot is on Lantus - the vet started him at 1 unit 2x day. But after the first dose, the "True Result" reading had him at 150...even 24 hours later...which meant "no dosing." So he has got very little Lantus these past 5 days. He didn't appear as a miraculously "healed" cat so that was one reason we bought the other meter, just to be certain - but never expected this tremendous range.

I know his health and accurate testings are most important right now, but I sure hope someone might shed light on how those two meters were accurate with my blood and not with his!
hmmm, i'm guessing from what others are saying, and the fact that spot wasn't acting healed, that the relion is probably more reliable. its just a hunch.

i bought Bayer ketodiastix on amazon after not finding them at the pharmacy. blood testing is much more reliable, of course. i was using the urine testing before i got up the courage to use the glucometer.
 
Last edited:
The point-of-use BG meters use two different methods of measuring glucose and it appears one meter uses one method and the other, the other method.

The glucose is in both the serum and red-blood cells (RBC) themselves. However, the distribution of glucose is different between humans and cats (and dog too)1

In Humans 58% is in plasma/serum and 42% in RBCs

In cats 93% is in plasma/serum and 7% in RBCs

In dogs 87.5 % in plasma/serum and 12.5% in RBCs.

The point-of-use blood glucose meters (the ones we use at home) all use whole blood.2 However, what specific blood glucose they measure varies with the manufacturer. Some manufacturers only measure the glucose in the serum/plasma. Others lyse (disrupt the cell walls of the RBCs) and thus mix the glucose that was in the RBC into the liquid and thus measure total glucose. The meters then correct/adjust the reading to be equivalent to human blood plasma
 
Wow - so much to learn - thank you for these informational replies.....

So here is an update on our limited options - the vet, even with our current life circumstances, could not get us in until this afternoon, which is impossible. I am at my father's bedside daily now from late morning until early evening. So I did an overnight order of Alphatrak 2. Though I recognize from reading other posts that it will also vary from the Relion Micro, if it has results way up there in the 300's, we will toss the True Result and use the Relion Micro and Alphatrak 2 (I like having two meters for times of "wiggy" results, for peace of mind).

What I needed was to know if his two polar opposite results required no insulin or GIVE INSULIN NOW!! I will have to wait until tomorrow for that knowledge, it appears. I am going to give him .5 unit 2xday until I have my answer tomorrow evening. I hate to think I am not treating him enough but I am too nervous to play with insulin until I am certain he is this high. As someone else mentioned above, I also agree that the Relion is probably the accurate reading...I truly do....but I just need that final confirmation. I feel awful thinking this whole week he needed insulin and I was thinking he was too low to give insulin to (under 180). My poor guy....
 
Wow - so much to learn - thank you for these informational replies.....

So here is an update on our limited options - the vet, even with our current life circumstances, could not get us in until this afternoon, which is impossible. I am at my father's bedside daily now from late morning until early evening. So I did an overnight order of Alphatrak 2. Though I recognize from reading other posts that it will also vary from the Relion Micro, if it has results way up there in the 300's, we will toss the True Result and use the Relion Micro and Alphatrak 2 (I like having two meters for times of "wiggy" results, for peace of mind).

What I needed was to know if his two polar opposite results required no insulin or GIVE INSULIN NOW!! I will have to wait until tomorrow for that knowledge, it appears. I am going to give him .5 unit 2xday until I have my answer tomorrow evening. I hate to think I am not treating him enough but I am too nervous to play with insulin until I am certain he is this high. As someone else mentioned above, I also agree that the Relion is probably the accurate reading...I truly do....but I just need that final confirmation. I feel awful thinking this whole week he needed insulin and I was thinking he was too low to give insulin to (under 180). My poor guy....

good call.

I know its excruciating to think you're undermedicating. that's been nearly my sole emotion for several months now. but the delay for you is only temporary, and as anyone here will tell you, undermedicating is much preferable to overmedicating when it comes to insulin. you'll have a better idea of where spot's at tomorrow.
 
Weird about your vet. I have taken my cat in just for a blood test. They take him back and do it then I either wait 20min for result or they call me with result and i pay and leave. They wont at least let you do that?you only need a vet tech to do it.
 
Scooby -

I agree it was weird and I was disappointed - but have no energy right now to push any harder (if they don't budge on my current story, I don't know what it would take!), as I am off to be with my dad. We aren't from this area (but have been in the area for quite some time due to dad's declining health) so the vet is new to us...we don't have that "in" I guess. Just have to trust the universe on this one I guess, and hope there is resolution and therapeutic treatment very soon.
 
Scooby -

I agree it was weird and I was disappointed - but have no energy right now to push any harder (if they don't budge on my current story, I don't know what it would take!), as I am off to be with my dad. We aren't from this area (but have been in the area for quite some time due to dad's declining health) so the vet is new to us...we don't have that "in" I guess. Just have to trust the universe on this one I guess, and hope there is resolution and therapeutic treatment very soon.
What area are you in? Other members might be near you and can recommend a vet for you to see.
 
I have quite the update to share -

Before I do, please be aware that it appears my dad is very close to beginning his new journey, so if I "disappear" you will know why. I am certain I will spend much time here, helping Spot on the road to health, when life brings some peace to the forefront.......

The Alphatrak 2 arrived this evening. Please note, though of course one could assume I am quite distracted right now, I assure you I have a strong mind, will and took my time familiarizing myself with the new device, did the control test, read the entire booklet (you have to enter the right code for cat vs dog, etc.) - so the variation which now boggles my mind even more was checked and rechecked.

The Alphatrak 2 confirmed my fear that the awful Walgreens True Result I had been using to date is NOT for animal use. I allowed my poor guy to get nearly zero treatment due to his beautiful, low readings all week long. What the Relion and, now, Alphatrak 2 show is he is very ill and in need of insulin. I feel absolutely terrible. I made the mistake of assuming because the Walgreens meter was very accurate with my blood sugar, it had to be good for him. As you will see, it was not the case at all.

Tonight we tested him with the Alphatrak 2 PLUS the Relion Micro......

A few things to note first:
He had been grazing on and off this evening when the package came. These tests were not fasting...but they are still terribly high results.
Also, I was unable to use the same drop of blood for both glucometers. We did it minutes apart, but not the same blood sample.
The Alphatrak 2 was so much higher than Relion, we did it again! But it was still the same (a few points difference).

Relion Micro: 368
Alphatrak 2: 471

So we gave 1 unit of insulin. The vet had told us to begin him with 1 unit 2x day. That is what we plan to do (while checking his sugar throughout the day).

One issue we have with our little senior citizen who is set in his ways is that he is a grazer on his Fancy Feast Chicken Classic. He doesn't even get treats - nor does he want them - but he has been adamant these past 4 years, when we made the switch to canned food, that he wants his food when he wants it or we will hear about it over and over and over. So I don't know how we will ever get pure readings - but there is no way we can change him now. He likes to "snack" throughout the day, period.

Thanks again for helping a newbie during a very difficult life crisis time.

If you have any input to share about what to believe is "real" based on the 100 point spread between these two popular meters, would love to hear about it. I got the Relion Micro because so many of you successfully use Relion to help their diabetic cats. I know when the numbers are this high, he needs insulin - period. But what if one said 50 and the other said 150 - what should I believe?

Thanks so much,
Robin
 
Well I would think a blood glucose test at the vet to compare the meters would be the most accurate. I have seen posts about the alpha trak on this forum having high readings. So not sure what to think. I had my relion prime at the vet with me and we tested right there different blood samples againest the vet test to make sure the point difference was ok to test at home with it.
My cat also eats when he feels like it so I feed the same amount he would eat twice a day but I break up it up and feed every so many hours.
 
Scooby - I am so sorry for not replying to yesterday's post - i have not been around much at all since posting yesterday. I agree with you that the next step is getting tested at the vet. If my father is still with us and we aren't on the road in a few days, that is what we will do....to have some peace of mind. Will make that call tomorrow to the vet and hope to get in soon.

I am "thinking" it is safe to assume that we know he is quite high at this time, so likely safe to administer insulin as originally planned (and will use both the Relion and Alphatrak 2 until to check him until we have more confirmation). I doubt this story ends where the Walgreens glucometer was the accurate one (sarcasm)!

Again, sorry for not responding to your other post.......so appreciate your advice.........Robin
 
The Alpha Trak 2 pet meter reads higher than a human meter. It reads closer to the lab machines that the vets use. Although this is only my finding, when I did side by side comparisons with the AT2 and the Free Style Lite (human) meter my findings were that the AT2 readings were about 30% higher than the FS Lite meter.

That being said, on FDMB the protocols and numbers used in the protocols are based on human meter readings. Many of the members here use the Relion meter. As allowed by law any meter can have a variance of +/- 20% in the readings.

The AT2 meter is considered closer to lab results, but the test strips are far more expensive than the human meter strips.

Sending prayers for you at this difficult time :bighug:
 
When you call the vet tomorrow tell them you want just a glucose test and to see a vet tech at the least they should let you in right away for that. A blood test only takes minutes. you don't need the vet for it. You can have the vet phone you back with results or a tech will as well. A vet tech should be able to help you with the meters to and find which one is accurate. The other problem with your cat running high is ketones are a possibility.
 
Just a quick note, there will be a difference between the alphatrak and the relion. One is calibrated for human blood, the other pet blood. the hypo level on the human meters is a reading of 50 where it will be 68 on the alphatrak. On top of that all meters have a 20% allowable limit on them, which means if the alphatrak is reading 20% higher and the micro is 20% lower there will be a big variance in the readings.... Unfortunately it is the nature of the beast with meters, no matter who makes them for what species :( Hope that sheds some light on the gap in the numbers between the 2. I do still think you made the right choice getting rid of the 'True" meter, many have said anything with Tru or True in the name arent very reliable.

Edit : Sorry, somehow I totally missed Tuxedo Mom already stating all of this! I must have typed very slow :oops:
 
Thank you Tuxedo Mom, Sarah and Scooby -

Appreciate your support, info/advice so much during this amazingly challenging time. Feels like I am trying to keep about 20 balls in the air at once and I am just so amazingly exhausted...........
 
You've got alot on your plate right now, hopefully the meter worry can get crossed off your list soon, and Spot can get regulated a bit which will be another big worry gone :bighug:
 
Hello! I am new here too. It's our 8th day on Luntus, our meter is AlphaTrak2.
I can't advice but I can share our experience last night. Tux's BG went down to 77, and he was totally fine. I have no idea how his BG could read by other meters... but he was totally fine when AlphaTrak2 read 77. He was purring, following me to the kitchen asking food! :cat:
 
Thank you all for your replies and kind words - I am sorry I cannot reply like I wish I could right now - but I do read and so appreciate the support.

I started a new post at THIS LINK if you are able to continue offering guidance.

The meter testing chaos and the vet was just ridiculous and so I just gave up on seeing the vet and am using the Relion Micro for his spreadsheet, and also testing with Alphatrak 2 for now - the results are consistently about 20% higher with Alphatrak 2. I am ok with this for now. Neither one gives wacky results - they are quite consistent, just a large spread between the two. Though numbers aren't changing much I will say Spot is showing some improvement in appetite, energy, demeanor (crawling on top of my chest again, yeah!).

Ok...will move on over to the new post.......thanks again.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top