URGENT my cat is doing very poor

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sebastian’s mom (Lauren)

Member Since 2023
About 5 days ago my roommate gave me a cheap cat tower his cat wouldn’t use. He came into my room and attached the support to the wall and while doing so knocked over dried flowers onto the floor. My cat got a tiny part of a leaf and then went about rubbing himself all over the cat tower. Within a few hours he fell asleep and started to twitch and have his third eyelid show. I took this as normal because he’s done this before on OCCASION while in REM, but it was hard to wake him up from this. This has continued to happen every single time he sleeps since. I’ve taken his blood glucose and he sleeps right through it. I lift up his head, he’s still sleeping. This is not like him at all. He usually wakes up every time I even move to make sure I’m not leaving him.
I only just remembered the flower incident while racking my brain for ANYTHING that could have happened today. Someone told me the cat tower could be toxic so I removed that and cleaned my whole room as well as opened a window.
Sebastian’s BG has been unmanageable as he has dental disease and is supposed to get surgery in 2 weeks for it, but I’m afraid of him going under anesthesia when he’s like this. He’s currently on 2.25 units of Lantus and still getting nadirs around 270.
His appetite has not changed at all, he’s a hungry boy. His stool is off as he’s had what looks like constipation and diarrhea. He will strain in the box looking like he’s pushing out a hard poo and then it’s runny. He still plays when he’s awake, but earlier today while playing he suddenly started screaming and hissing and I have no idea why. He was in a cardboard box when this happened and I opened it up to see him on his side confused and startled. I inspected the box and it doesn’t appear anything could have hurt him.
I took him to the vet and all she said to me was that it looks like he’s in REM, that his diabetes may be unmanageable and that she doesn’t think his dental will make much of a difference. She also suggested upping his dose to 3 units and him starting gabapentin for pain, even stating it wouldn’t make him sleep deeper, but I’m not sure I trust that. I have never seen a cat act like this literally every time they fall asleep.
I should be getting his blood work results tomorrow.
I’m AUDHD and currently in a deep deep burnout and only working PT so his vet visit today actually took away from his dental surgery money and I don’t know what to do. I didn’t feel comfortable with him going under anesthesia like this, but I also don’t feel comfortable not treating the dental disease because his teeth are terrible and I can’t imagine how that must be.
I don’t think the vet is going to be much help in figuring this out, but I need it resolved. I’m not sleeping and I’m missing work. If I don’t show up to my job in 8 hours, I won’t have a job. They don’t accept doctors notes or anything and their point system is ridiculous.
I’ve just been sobbing in bed with him all day/ night afraid that he’s not going to wake.
 
Hi and welcome to the forum.
Are you testing the blood sugars at home. If so could you set up a spreadsheet so we can see them?
You can find directions here HELP US HELP YOU

I would not increase the dose of insulin until we can see what he is doing with the current dose
Did the vet see the video? Did she think he could be having little seizures?
 
I looked at your post on fb.
I would definitely identify the type of flowers that are in that bouquet and if there are any poisonous ones in it.
It is hard to see in the photo you posted. But any part of the Lily is deadly to cats.
Also it is possible your kitty is having a seizure if you are unable to rouse him at all and he is twitching.
I can’t believe your vet won’t see him. I would insist and say he could have eaten something such as a lily. Take the flowers with you. If your vet won’t see you try and get in somewhere else. If the flowers are identified as dangerous to cats, he needs a blood test to check his kidneys are not affected by eating the plant.
 
You can call your local poison control center for information on plants that are toxic to pets. If he ate part of a lily, his kidneys could be effected.
 
Hi and welcome to the forum.
Are you testing the blood sugars at home. If so could you set up a spreadsheet so we can see them?
You can find directions here HELP US HELP YOU

I would not increase the dose of insulin until we can see what he is doing with the current dose
Did the vet see the video? Did she think he could be having little seizures?

I’m testing at home and his numbers are bad all the time
 
I looked at your post on fb.
I would definitely identify the type of flowers that are in that bouquet and if there are any poisonous ones in it.
It is hard to see in the photo you posted. But any part of the Lily is deadly to cats.
Also it is possible your kitty is having a seizure if you are unable to rouse him at all and he is twitching.
I can’t believe your vet won’t see him. I would insist and say he could have eaten something such as a lily. Take the flowers with you. If your vet won’t see you try and get in somewhere else. If the flowers are identified as dangerous to cats, he needs a blood test to check his kidneys are not affected by eating the plant.

he was seen and he did have bloodwork done. The vet just disregards my concerns. He’s not himself AT ALL. Bloodwork results should come in today
 
It's Friday and a long weekend is coming up. If your vet won't see you he's an idiot, call every vet in town and get him in ASAP.
This is important. Never mind his numbers and forget about the dental, if his liver and/or kidneys are failing there won't be any dental work. I know money is tight but we can work around that later. There's DCIN (diabetic cats in need), GoFundMe for starters so please take our advice. Get a vet that cares, take the flowers or whatever you know about them and get out there.
If you're lucky a local vet can deal with this. If not it's going to mean an emergency clinic.
Lauren, I know all about ADHD. Forget about any guilt and your autism and do what my signature says, be the person your cat thinks you are.
You can do this, your new friends here all care very much.
 
Those are not terrible numbers for a cat that is unregulated or has some sort of infection or inflammation. We always worry about diabetic ketoacidosis but there are other issues that can have some of the effects that you described. For example, a cat with inflammatory bowel disease, just like humans, can have problems with constipation or diarrhea. It would be better if a vet had a look at your cat and can advise you regarding what's going on.
 
About 5 days ago my roommate gave me a cheap cat tower his cat wouldn’t use. He came into my room and attached the support to the wall and while doing so knocked over dried flowers onto the floor. My cat got a tiny part of a leaf and then went about rubbing himself all over the cat tower. Within a few hours he fell asleep and started to twitch and have his third eyelid show. I took this as normal because he’s done this before on OCCASION while in REM, but it was hard to wake him up from this. This has continued to happen every single time he sleeps since. I’ve taken his blood glucose and he sleeps right through it. I lift up his head, he’s still sleeping. This is not like him at all. He usually wakes up every time I even move to make sure I’m not leaving him.
I only just remembered the flower incident while racking my brain for ANYTHING that could have happened today. Someone told me the cat tower could be toxic so I removed that and cleaned my whole room as well as opened a window.
Sebastian’s BG has been unmanageable as he has dental disease and is supposed to get surgery in 2 weeks for it, but I’m afraid of him going under anesthesia when he’s like this. He’s currently on 2.25 units of Lantus and still getting nadirs around 270.
His appetite has not changed at all, he’s a hungry boy. His stool is off as he’s had what looks like constipation and diarrhea. He will strain in the box looking like he’s pushing out a hard poo and then it’s runny. He still plays when he’s awake, but earlier today while playing he suddenly started screaming and hissing and I have no idea why. He was in a cardboard box when this happened and I opened it up to see him on his side confused and startled. I inspected the box and it doesn’t appear anything could have hurt him.
I took him to the vet and all she said to me was that it looks like he’s in REM, that his diabetes may be unmanageable and that she doesn’t think his dental will make much of a difference. She also suggested upping his dose to 3 units and him starting gabapentin for pain, even stating it wouldn’t make him sleep deeper, but I’m not sure I trust that. I have never seen a cat act like this literally every time they fall asleep.
I should be getting his blood
It's Friday and a long weekend is coming up. If your vet won't see you he's an idiot, call every vet in town and get him in ASAP.
This is important. Never mind his numbers and forget about the dental, if his liver and/or kidneys are failing there won't be any dental work. I know money is tight but we can work around that later. There's DCIN (diabetic cats in need), GoFundMe for starters so please take our advice. Get a vet that cares, take the flowers or whatever you know about them and get out there.
If you're lucky a local vet can deal with this. If not it's going to mean an emergency clinic.
Lauren, I know all about ADHD. Forget about any guilt and your autism and do what my signature says, be the person your cat thinks you are.
You can do this, your new friends here all care very much.


They said his blood work is normal aside from elevated glucose. But that doesn’t explain anything that’s going on.

upload_2023-12-29_14-21-59.jpeg


This is him AWAKE. The only time his third eyelid isn’t showing is if he’s eating or playing a lil.
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-12-29_14-21-59.jpeg
    upload_2023-12-29_14-21-59.jpeg
    53.2 KB · Views: 248
Those are not terrible numbers for a cat that is unregulated or has some sort of infection or inflammation. We always worry about diabetic ketoacidosis but there are other issues that can have some of the effects that you described. For example, a cat with inflammatory bowel disease, just like humans, can have problems with constipation or diarrhea. It would be better if a vet had a look at your cat and can advise you regarding what's going on.

like I said he just saw a vet, but I will take him back today.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top