Urgent! Low preshot bg!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Delia

Member Since 2014
Hi, Cleo has bg at 153 before shot. What should I do? Wait thirty minutes? Skip the injection?
Please, let me know, she is waiting for her dinner :smile:
Thanks to all

Delia
 
I will skip injection, I think this is what you would recommend me. Skip insulin makes me fear of losing the progress made. What dose should I do in next injection?
 
Give your usual dose at the next shot. The BG reading will probably be much higher than usual, but don't worry, that is expected. It should start leveling out within the next day or two.

If you start getting lower numbers more frequently, you may want to lower the dose by 1/2 unit. Cleo's pancreas may be starting to work. :mrgreen:
 
Hi there :cool:

When in doubt it's wise to err on the side of safety - you made the right choice.
Think of it as a 'fur-shot" Cleo will get back on track.

Have you visited one of the Lantus support forums here? A lot of information to help you best manage your kittys FD.
Have a look here for starters.

Hang in there!
 
What dose is she on? I wouldn't skip the shot , it's really not that low to do so. I know on the relaxed Lantus they don't shoot that low but if it were me I would shoot.
 
Thank you all, you are a great comfort to me!
@ Robin-S: she's on 1.5 IU bid. Two days ago I gave a partial dose with a preshot of 118 and I was told that under 200 is better if I skip injection. Would you give the full dose? There is no risk of hypoglycemia?
@ Lisa: I wish it to happen...
@ Sandy: Thank you for the link. It is very useful!

I'm so happy I found this forum. Now it all seems easier with your help and support!!! :-D :-D :-D
 
One slight correction, Relaxed Lantus does shoot that low as long as there is testing to support that decision and the ability to monitor. We do not shoot below 90 normally again unless we have enough testing data to support the decision.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
AMBG is 172. I have to go to work, so I'm scared she goes in hypoglycemia when I'm not at home. I'll skip injection again. Maybe tonight I should lower the dose? please tell me if I'm wrong. I have so much fear of worsening the situation now that she seems to be bit better.
 
Stick with 1 unit for at least 3-5 days straight unless she drops below 50 mg/dL on a human glucometer. Your spreadsheet suggests that will be safe.

Most importantly, Lantus works best using a stable dose. Adjustments are based on the nadir, the lowest level of glucose after a shot, roughly +5 to +7 hours later.

We have 2 protocols for giving Lantus:

Start Low, Go Slow
Tight Regulation

Take a look over both and see what will fit best into your life.

We test, feed, and shoot within about 15 minutes when using Lantus. Lantus is gentle, so it is OK if the cat grazes, rather than eating a big meal first.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top