URGENT: Low BG today and I dont' know what to do!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alicia and Tank

Member Since 2020
Hello, I need advise since my vet is closed today due to being Sunday. My Tanker has been on Basaglar for 2 months now. We started at 1 unit twice daily and now we are at 2.5 units twice daily. Today I was due for an at home Curve. I gave him his insulin last night of 2.5 units at 6:20PM. This morning before his morning meal, 6:00AM, I checked his BG and it was at 90. I was shocked because he usually is in the high 300s before a shot. So I called the ER vet in my area and they said to not give insuling this morning and to continue to monitor him and to call his vet tomorrow. I gave him breakfast and checked again, 6:20AM and he was at 85. No AM shot was given. I checked again 2 hours later, 8:20AM and he is at 48. He is acting and eating totally normal. I was worried my BG monitor was not reading correctly so I did a control check on it and it tested normal. I know 48 is low but since he is acting normal, should I sit tight or take him in to the ER vet? I have Karo syrup but have not given it to him since he is acting totally normal. Just wanted to know if anyone has seen this before in their cat. Attached is his BG curve readings I have done as well as medicine and food changes. Thank you! -Alicia and Mr. Tank
 

Attachments

Hi--

Are you using a human blood glucose meter, or a pet meter such as the AlphaTrak 2?

Either way, please give him a little high carb food (if the 48 was a human meter) or honey (if pet meter) to bring him up. Don't feed a lot just yet, we may need him to eat more.

Test again in 30mins.
 
OK, definitely a little honey, then! We need to bring him up quite a bit, we want him over 68.

Even without a shot this morning, you're still going to get the effects of the previous shots through the "depot" formed by Basaglar, so you may have to do this for a little while. I'm not sure yet whether you'll need to go to an ER vet (this kind of thing can often be handled at home), but just in case, how far away is it?
 
The vet is 30 minutes from my home

OK, let's see where he is at the next test. As I said, very often these situations can be managed at home (especially since you didn't shoot this morning), and that's probably preferable with such a long drive to the vet. If there's someone who can drive you, that helps, that way if you did have to take him in, one person could administer honey along the way.

So let's start with close monitoring of the situation. Again, test 20-30mins after the honey, let's see what that does!
 
Okay thank you. I just called the ER and they told me to hold tight on the honey since he is acting normal and to check him again in 1 hour. If its going lower, then they want me to take him in. Gosh this has never happened so I am kinda freaking out.
 
I agree with your ER that it's not yet time to panic, but I strongly disagree about holding off on honey and waiting an hour to test. No symptoms right now is great, but it can change in an instant.

We use 68 as the "take action" number on an AlphaTrak for safety. Ideally, you want to manage low numbers without getting to the stage of visible symptoms. Sometimes, the first symptoms are severe, and 48 is definitely too low on an AT.
 
What a scare! He earned a reduction tonight for sure!! :bighug:

I’m surprised you are able to get the ER to give you any advice at all. They usually tell you to bring your cat in so it can be examined because they could be liable for any advice they give over the phone
 
Yes I was shocked as well; I think its because my main vet is partnered with the ER vet. When I told them who my main vet was that was the only time they would give advise. Im going to continue to monitor his readings today and will see if I even feel comfortable giving insulin tonight. Since this has never happened before, I don't even know how much to give. Obviously the 2.5units from the PM dose last night caused the low this morning. I guess I will see what the number is tonight and go from there.
 
Yes I was shocked as well; I think its because my main vet is partnered with the ER vet. When I told them who my main vet was that was the only time they would give advise. Im going to continue to monitor his readings today and will see if I even feel comfortable giving insulin tonight. Since this has never happened before, I don't even know how much to give. Obviously the 2.5units from the PM dose last night caused the low this morning. I guess I will see what the number is tonight and go from there.
That makes sense. The reduction would be .25 so his new dose should be 2.25. Do you think you can setup your signature? It would be helpful to see all the info about what insulin and what protocol you’re on at a glance every time you post. Also the link to your spreadsheet.

Thanks!
 
Okay. Just checked again and hes at 153. I gave him some more wet cat food around 8:50am. Crazy how their numbers can be all over the place. Talk about the last 3 hours of feeling like a panic attack was coming on. Thank you so much for responding, you kept me calm under stress.
When you get a lower than expected number is a good idea to recheck. I would have suggested getting another quick test with that 48. If you're sample was a little small it can sometimes read lower than it actually is. Good job testing. He earned a reduction.
 
That makes sense. The reduction would be .25 so his new dose should be 2.25. Do you think you can setup your signature? It would be helpful to see all the info about what insulin and what protocol you’re on at a glance every time you post. Also the link to your spreadsheet.

Thanks!
Yes I will do so...I was wondering how people had that information on their posts.
 
Thank you. I currently have the spreadsheet running under my Google account so I can easily review when I am out of my home and on my cell phone. So I think for me that will be easier for me to manage on since I go everything from personal life to work on Google docs.
 
Thank you. I currently have the spreadsheet running under my Google account so I can easily review when I am out of my home and on my cell phone. So I think for me that will be easier for me to manage on since I go everything from personal life to work on Google docs.
We all use Google Sheets too. If you could post a link to it in your signature we can check it.
 
I also think it's a good idea to post the link to it in your signature, we are all in different time zones and you telling us it was 6AM, 6:20 or 8:20 means nothing to us.
If you ever need help god forbid you need help if tank needs help, we need to see the spreadsheet in order to give you advise, whether it be for increasing or decreasing his dose.Thank you :cat:
Tank is a very handsome kitty
 
I also think it's a good idea to post the link to it in your signature, we are all in different time zones and you telling us it was 6AM, 6:20 or 8:20 means nothing to us.
If you ever need help god forbid you need help if tank needs help, we need to see the spreadsheet in order to give you advise, whether it be for increasing or decreasing his dose.Thank you :cat:
Tank is a very handsome kitty

If someone can please let me know how to give it a short URL name I would be more then happy to link it. The hyperlink is to large therefore, it will not allow me to save it. Usually you can modify the link name but I don't see an option for that. Thanks
 
If someone can please let me know how to give it a short URL name I would be more then happy to link it. The hyperlink is to large therefore, it will not allow me to save it. Usually you can modify the link name but I don't see an option for that. Thanks
Yes... So what you do is write what you want to call it, like Tank SS. THEN highlight that and click on the chain symbol, and paste the link in there.
 
Yes... So what you do is write what you want to call it, like Tank SS. THEN highlight that and click on the chain symbol, and paste the link in there.

Thank you, got it link to signature now....sorry about that. Im new to this site so just getting familiar with it. Only 2 months in with giving insulin as well so I have a lot of learning to do as well!
 
Thank you, got it link to signature now....sorry about that. Im new to this site so just getting familiar with it. Only 2 months in with giving insulin as well so I have a lot of learning to do as well!
Hey Alicia, this is not the spreadsheet we use, please take a look at mine or anyone else's
I will post you instructions for the SS, if you have trouble give a yell and we have 2 members that will set it up for you
@Alicia and Tank
 
Last edited:
Hey Alicia, this is not the spreadsheet we use, please take a look at mine or anyone else's
I will post you instructions for the SS, if you have trouble give a yell and we have 2 members that will set it up for you
@Alicia and Tank



Hey Alicia, this is not the spreadsheet we use, please take a look at mine or anyone else's
I will post you instructions for the SS, if you have trouble give a yell and we have 2 members that will set it up for you
@Alicia and Tank

You are missing days , I don't think any one of us could figure out what your
spreadsheet means.
Please take a look at the spreadsheet we all use.
Not only do you have to test first thing in the morning, you also have to get some
tests in during the 12 hour cycle.
Same for your first night time test.

I posted the long above for you on how to set up the spreadsheet.
and another link about understanding the grid (spreadsheet)¹
If you have trouble setting it up, let us know and we have 2 awesome members who will do it for you.
Ask all the questions you want to, that's what we are here for :cat:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top