Glucose CheckBest to be safe and skip, especially since we don't have a spreadsheet on your cat and don't know how she's been doing otherwise
For new cats or cats with limited/no data, we say "no shot under 200"...especially with an insulin like Vetsulin which can hit so hard and fast
What Insulin do you use for your cat? I did not give insulin this evening based on 158 reading.Sorry but I don't use Vetsulin so I'm not much good at giving advice with it
I know that since we don't have more data on her, it's always going to be safer not to give insulin if she's below 200....once you learn more about how she responds, you can make more informed decisions on when it's safe to shoot
Have you looked through our Vetsulin User Guide?
It was $300.00 plus shipping...yeah, too crazy expensive...does it go bad? more than likley, my Patches will either be on 1 unit twice daily or even half, depending on how her body responds...right now, since starting this VEtsulin, she has acted strange...sleeping upstairs, which is not unusual, but for many many hours and not visiting us, not sitting next to my wife anymore...just a change in her actions...I dont know if its the insulin or is that convenia they gave her same day she was confirmed diagnosed? I dont know...But, i appreciate it...HOw reliable is this place in CAnada ? does the meds stay fresh that long? thanks!Lantus is expensive (especially if you buy it here in the US) but if you buy it from Canada (like a LOT of us here are doing) I don't think it costs much more (if any) than Vetsulin does
It's a longer acting, more gentle insulin than Vetsulin
Marks Marine Pharmacy is the place most of us are using in Canada and you can get a 5 pack of pens for about $170 including shipping!! The info on Marks is in this post from the "Insulin from Canadian Pharmacies" thread
In the US you'll pay over $460 for the same thing!
A 5 pack is 1500 units and will last a cat on 2 units twice a day well over a year so it ends up being about $15/month....and a lot of cats don't even need that much but it's one of those ECID things (Every Cat Is Different)
Glucose Check
7:25am = 243 [AMPS]
10:25am= 81 [+3]
1:25pm = 67 [+6]
4:25pm = 81 [+9]
7:25pm = 158 [PMPS]
She gets 1 unit of Vetsulin now for a week 1 unit in am at 7:30am and then again at 7:30pm.
right now, since starting this VEtsulin, she has acted strange...sleeping upstairs, which is not unusual, but for many many hours and not visiting us, not sitting next to my wife anymore...just a change in her actions...
Patches eats throughout the day. Pre shot, feed , but she has always been a light eater in the morning...she is to consume around 190 Kcal per day or there about. She actually was eating, even at the low numbers, so, one would say that either the vetsulin is regulating too low but still regulating, even with food, or....if she had no eaten, her numbers could have been even lower. Food has sugars...carbs but, fear, stress and other factors could increase this....We have her as calm as can be...I just did a full curve yesterday on the 9th. VEtsulin does drop the numbers fast, but I fear that if her body is actually getting better and the pancreas is recovering (which would be wonderful) that the VEtsulin would drop too low...I sent the spreadsheet excel to the vet and she will analyze the curve and results. I will test her this morning before she eats....if the number is lower than 160 or so, I will omit the insulin and let dr. know that her numbers have improved well over 180%. Which is great. Less meds the better.That's some hard, fast drop from AMPS to +3; a very strong early onset. For safety, I recommend you look for appetite upticks (cat actively looking for food) in the first couple of hours after a dose because that can act as an early warning of low numbers to come.
You're also getting quite a long duration of effect for Vetsulin on that dose. When do you feed Patches? Preshot only?
If measured on a human meter:
Those low values give you very little wriggle room above the hypo threshold number for 'surprises' in a cycle. Also, your cat is getting quite a prolonged time in low numbers for Vetsulin. Not a bad complaint on the duration of the dose effect, but it also implies that if your kitty goes into lower numbers it may stay low for some time. (If you need to go out, make sure your cat has access to food; same goes for when you're asleep.)
I strongly recommend you get a night cycle curve as soon as possible. A great number of cats tend to run lower at night. If Patches does run lower at night, then the dose she's on at the moment could drop her into hypo numbers.
If it were my cat on Vetsulin, I would want to reduce the dose and run another curve. I would prefer to have a nadir a bit higher so that there would be a better safety margin. The lower dose might also produce two preshot numbers high enough to safely dose consistently on a 12/12 schedule.
If measured on a veterinary meter (e.g. Alphatrak):
I would reduce the dose IMMEDIATELY - a nadir of 67 is TOO LOW.
My two penn'orth. Other members may have a different take.
Mogs
.
if her body is actually getting better and the pancreas is recovering (which would be wonderful) that the VEtsulin would drop too low...
I give the shot about 5 to 10m after eating and then after shot...because she does not eat that much...her morning value was 252...That's a very real possibility, hence my comment above about 'surprises'. There is no way of telling when the pancreas might 'sputter'.
If Patches had not been eating mid-cycle then yes, her numbers could have been lower.
Is there any way that you might encourage Patches to eat a bit more before giving her the Vetsulin? Also, if she's eating very close to injection time then if you got the preshot BG 30 minutes before the injection was due and fed Patches at that time, the time interval might help to 'preload' the cycle with food a little better and maybe slow the drop a bit. (You'd be able to determine whether this helps by testing at +1, +2, and +3.)
Mogs
.
does it go bad? more than likley, my Patches will either be on 1 unit twice daily or even half,
HOw reliable is this place in CAnada ? does the meds stay fresh that long? thanks!