Upping Poopy's Sliding Scale Test Run

Status
Not open for further replies.

Teresa and Poopy

Member Since 2011
From 2/8

I've been tempted to go ahead and up his sliding scale by .1u but really don't want to have a hypo situation on a run home check...so I'll wait for Saturday to start.

I agree the cycle BGs have some room to drop. Ideally, I'd like to get Poopy mostly in PSs 200-250, with cycle BGs 80-120. That there's could call fer some purty fancy footwork, though, if'n he decides to dip low on me. Waiting through the week should give us an idea if that is likely to happen, though. Don't you think?

And if I do up the dose by .1u, I'm also thinking I should stick with it even if it dips his numbers where I'd like them to be (sort of ignore the sliding scale).

What I mean is, he's currently hitting 250-299 for PS and I'm shooting 1.5u. If I switch that to 1.6u, and he brings in PSs 200-250, to stay with the 1.6u and not drop down to 1.5u. Make sense?

My main concern - he shows glucose in his urine. No ketones (knock on wood) but the glucose bothers me. It tells me he's not regulated to where he should be for long term health. If I can get him to drop his PSs to 200-250, and cycle BGs to 80-120, I'm thinking that should end the glucose in his urine and better his long term health.

Am I reading too much into the glucose in his urine?

Thoughts and suggestions are MORE than welcome.

The amount of food he eats...Last night and today they left food (1/3-1/2 cups). True, I'm feeding 2 13 oz. cans per day. I'm hoping they aren't tired of the same ole same ole and are just eating when they are hungry.

Edited to add: The calories for a 13 oz. can figure to 388 each (164/5.5 x 13). I know the Poop eats more than Mia but not really sure how much more. If Poopy used to weight 20 lbs (was hefty but not fat), at 20 cal per pound, he should be eating 400 calories. Sounds like he's getting a bit more than that. Mia, on the other hand, is only 8 lbs. so needs only 160. That leaves 216 extra calories with 2 13 oz. cans a day. Of course, the Poop is still putting back on weight so shows he's eating more than the 400 calories, I would guess.

Sheesh. I can sure tell I've had more than one cuppa java this morning (my normal limit)!

I started the 1.6u tonight, hoping to get enough time in before work Monday to not fret. And I am seriously open for suggestions or ideas. :-D
 
Looking forward to tracking the results. Poop already has good #'s maybe he'll start showing off some green. :-D
 
Good luck! I will keep in the loop as I will be doing that for Sneakers in the near (hopefully) future :-D !
 
Your spreadsheet is lookin great momma! Good on ya. He just might need a little time to settle into a new dose.
 
Thanks! :-D If I could just get him a bit lower on his numbers, and get the glucose out of his urine, I'd feel better. But really don't want to flirt with hypos either. Guess I want my cake and to eat it too, eh? :lol:

I'm off to La La Land for the night. At least I hope it's for the night. Shoulders are still killing me, even with the steroid shots. :sad: And, of course, the double dose of steroids has my wheels spinning...the kind DH sure doesn't like bumping over and back on him. :cry: Thank goodness he's been a trooper and basically ignores my rants. Guess he wants a nice V Day pressie. :lol:

Hope Asher lets you sleep tonight, Donna. :smile:
 
I test Poopy in a little bit but thought I'd see if anyone is out there this morning.....

If Poopy tests in the lower 200s (200-250), what do you think about me keeping the dose at 1.6u and not sliding down to the 1.5u? (My aim is to keep him low but avoid hypo.)
 
Poop made it easy for me this morning with AMPS at 281. Shot 1.6u and will do a curve today (between tearing out the tub and kitchen faucets - Oh Joy! Not!).

~O) Hoping everyone has a glorious Saturday!
 
+3 292, but had face in food 20-30 minutes ago. Was hoping to catch BG before spike. Don't think I did.

Leaving food out just like all other days so I can get a true reading of how his days go. :-D
 
+5.5 186 (and no food since +3).

He is also very interested in why I keep crawling in and out of the tub fully clothed and with no water (friggin home ownership). *Sigh*
 
It is really impressive how well he has settled into your sliding scale, after only 1 week he's regulated. WAY YO GO !!!!

Good luck with the increase, paws and fingers crossed that his PS's start dropping down into the blues.
 
Teresa and Poopy said:
He is also very interested in why I keep crawling in and out of the tub fully clothed and with no water (friggin home ownership). *Sigh*

Hmmmm.. and steroid shots in the shoulder... see a connection? Homeownership WILL do that to you... especially if you have an old house!

My little helpers, and big helper Dom the dog, are fascinated by the water line going to the toilet that I was TRYING to replace (picked up 2 different sizes last night... and BOTH are too long!), after replacing all the guts inside the tank. Barely enough room for me between toilet & tub... throw in a 78# dog supervising from close up! :lol: If only he could hand me the wrench!

Good luck w/ your project. The garden tub is OUR place for lazer tag. Herb holds the record with tightest circles and longest duration: 10x in each direction, then up the wall to get his balance back, then again, and again, and again....
 
+6 192, and not sure how much he ate versus Mia. Both have continued snacking.

The shoulder issues flared up without any house repairs or anything notable - why I chalked it up to RA. The steroid shots aren't helping, either. Not much, anyway. Not sure what I'm going to have to do. Can't afford the $600 co-pay to have MRI done per each. (Talk about an OUCH!)

I appreciate the thoughts of Poopy being regulated but he still has glucose in his urine. Would like to get him lower which I think will lead to his urine being glucose free. If tonight's numbers don't drop, am thinking of bumping up scale another .1u.

Seems he has room in his PSs as well as cycle BGs to drop a bit.

Thoughts?
 
Ok here are my thoughts. Think marathon not sprint.

The first week on your scale he was still a little erratic, the second week he settled into nice yellow PS's, regulated is considered PS's under 280 (renal threshold) and nadirs in mid 100's.

I agree that you still have room to drop but if you increase to fast you run the risk of getting on that hi/low roller coaster that is so hard to get off of.

So since he is mostly under renal threshold you have some time to enjoy the slow dance.
 
Thanks, Robin. :-D I guess I am trying to sprint. ohmygod_smile

Since I just upped the scale .1u, and he's only had the 2 shots so far, I should give him some time to settle into it. *Sigh*

"But I want it NOW!" ~ Veruca Salt from Willy Wonka
 
Picked up food to be sure PMPS is not food related...but will continue to dose 1.6u since they normally snack all day/night.

Will test in 30 minutes, then again for PMPS.
 
AMPS 276, shot 1.6u

Last night's PMPS was from last strip in bottle. Am really wondering if it was a bad strip. Seriously considered testing Poopy again but he was grouchy (so strip may have been good - who knows?). Was also the first time since doing sliding scale with same food when I've removed the food for the last couple hours. Seems if Poop keeps his intake somewhat level, he gets smoother numbers. Then again, it may be just one of those wonky dance steps cats take. @-)

Sometimes it's hard for these two old legs to keep up with dancing four. :lol:

Will stay the course this week to compare numbers with last week. Hoping to see Poop settle into lower PSs and BGs overall, and no more glucose in urine (if I can catch him going! Grrrr). Will keep food the same (may need to think of adding toppings in the future - the way they have slowed down eating, maybe they are tired of the same ole thing - or could be at their maximum calorie intake). May consider offering other flavors with same carbs.

Overall, both cats are in great shape - soft fluffy fur, keeping themselves clean, playful (even if aggressively at times), tons of purrs, and always settle in whatever room DH and I are in. The litter box has solid poops (no runs or nuggets) on the smaller than when on dry side (think regular size tootsie roll, reformed, versus larger tootsie roll). The liquid lumps' sizes range from 2" diameter to 6"x 2" spread out. (Pretty sure the larger ones are from Poop and have glucose.)

Both kitties are medium hair, and do have the occasional fur ball upchuck even though I do brush them pretty regularly (a loving treat for them). I did a search on here and found Vaseline is an inexpensive helper. Anyone have experience with this? I used to use the fur ball tube stuff, but it has way too much sugar so threw it out. How much and how often do I use Vaseline? I read to dot their nose with it so they would lick it off. Um...I need more data. :lol:

Testing has drawn a crowd due to the treats afterward. Poopy gets his raw chicken chunk (warmed for 5 seconds in the micro, and which he adores! It is fascinating to watch him eat it! Talk about a glimpse of the wild side!), Mia prefers the freeze dried chicken or liver chunks, and the droolers get something from their mixed canister of goodies (dog bone biscuits, natural biscuits, pupperoni bits, puffed peanut butter crunchies, etc.). So when momma bean says, "Let's get you ready" to the Poop, I end up with eight eyes nearby...waiting.

Today is DHs turn at the plumbing (he works Saturdays). I got the stems/washers/O rings replaced/repaired and re-installed yesterday. Now he gets to remove the faucet spout and shower head (I don't have the strength in my shoulders to do it) so I can soak or replace the shower head and he can ream the pipes. (A bit over a week ago the water company changed out our meters - since then, I've had to clean out all the sink faucets due to debris. The main shower - thankfully we have two - suddenly turned to dribbles only so we're trying to get it all cleaned out from stuck debris.) The water company claims no involvement or assistance. Grrr.

Surprisingly, my shoulder joints are starting to feel better. Maybe the steroids are helping after all!

Last, but by far least, I really appreciate everyone's words of encouragement and wisdom. I would be so lost without each and every one of you! :YMHUG: Thank you!
 
What a lovely Whole Kitty (and household) report, Teresa. Love the picture of everyone excited about Poopy getting his test! He must feel so important. :mrgreen:
 
I'm getting concerned. Mia and Poopy are definitely showing signs of being tired of the same food. Poopy has started hounding me to test...for his chicken treat...and begging for food (not mine, at his 1/2 full food bowl). Half their food was left by PMPS.

PMPS 307, which makes me think yesterday's PMPS wasn't off. Then again, 307 isn't too far off his normal either. From new can of food, only about 1/3C eaten. Mia turned up her nose without eating any of it.

@-)
 
Don't know if it will work for you, but when Kitty gets a little finicky about her food, I mix a little tuna and juice with it-- or break up a freezed dried chicken treat in it. It normally, makes her decide that it wasn't so bad afterall!
 
Thanks! :-D I did crush a freeze dried chicken cube over the food - and Mia pigged out, eating everything it touched but no more. Poopy wouldn't have anything to do with it.

Since Poopy already had his shot, and I dosed per my scale at 1.7u, I broke down and opened a 5.5 oz. can of Sophisticats SD Beef & Chicken (7 carbs). He ate over 3/4 of it (that's on top of the 1/3C he ate of the Super Supper earlier)!

At least I won't worry now about him not having enough food in his system. :-D

I'll test him in a couple hours - before bed - to be sure he's ok on his numbers.

I'll check my stock to see what else may have only 4 carbs. I like the trend of numbers Poopy gets on the 4 carbs (when he eats). :-D
 
It looks like Poopy is doing well with the sliding scale in a short period of time.
If you stick with it he probably will give you some nice greens soon.
I used to use vaseline with my GA long haired Manx, just a dab on his nose or chin.
I give Henry a few drops of canola oil when he seems a little constipated or seems to be getting hairballs, just about an 1/8 of a teaspoon on top of his food.
Loved the description of the little and big Tootsie roll poops :mrgreen:
I started calling Henry's poopies Sugar Daddies, Sugar Mamas and Sugar Babies after we started sugar dancing. :lol:
Hope your shoulder will ease up soon, mine is bothering me today too, think its the brisk cold for FL and Fibromyalgia in my case. It was 17 degrees here this morning and stayed in the upper 30's and 40's today.
 
Ever made a cat litter box cake? Where I got the idea to compare poops with reshaped tootsie rolls. :lol:

+3.5 162...that's almost a 50% drop in 3 1/2 hours.

Please, no Kitty Moon tonight. nailbite_smile

Sorry to hear about your Fibro, Angela. My sister has it and it's rough. :sad:

How often would you dab your Manx with the vaseline? Daily? Weekly?
 
I would guess between +5 & +7. It seems to move.

I'm going to get ready for bed, then test him again in about 20 minutes (30 minutes from his last test) to see where he's going.
 
Have a good night. Looks that you may have a real nice cycle on your hands. (anti jinx) Paws crossed for you and The Poop that your sliding scale works well.
 
+5 96

Seems the drop down has slowed. Will test again in 20-30 minutes to be sure. (DH doesn't quite understand and thinks I'm nuts - mostly since I don't test so often at night and am usually sound asleep well before now. Offered to teach him how to care for Poopy so he'd understand. Response? "No way! Needles!" accompanied with a shudder!)
 
Teresa and Poopy said:
Offered to teach him how to care for Poopy so he'd understand. Response? "No way! Needles!" accompanied with a shudder!)
:lol:
My DH shares the same aversion to needles although he doesn't have much of a choice. :twisted:

Sweet numbers coming from Poopy. He should be on the rise soon enough.
 
I get the same response from my DH. It seems since dx Copper is MY cat now. I ask if i wasn't here, what would you have done? He said he would of tried to figure it out, but it wouldn't been easy for him. Who said it's easy for us? Someone has to do it.

Glad to see poppy doing so well. Looks like a good cycle.

I should be up for another hour testing copper. His +4 was 173. Had to feed his regular feeding then. So have to wait at least 2hrs to test again.

Good luck, paws crossed for Poppy

Lori
 
+5.5 100. Seems the downward drop has slowed (+4.5 100, +5 96, +5.5 100) and evened out. Poop still has food out and is snacking now (after his chicken chunk) so I'm off to bed.

Will be interesting to see Poopy's AMPS.

Have a great night, all! :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top