Updated ss - Louie TX - mommabean to view

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi All,
So Louie was switched to prozinc last sat night. Since then there has only been one day that it seems to have done anything productive. With the exception of one dose, he has been getting 1 unit each dose.

Now, I actually brought a new cat into my home last Friday, so he may be reacting to that, but he hasn't acted overly upset about it. The new cat is very passive/submissive. They haven't had any physical contact yet, but they are definitely aware of each other. I am not sure if this can contribute to the numbers mostly staying 300+.

I had to take the new cat to the vet this morning, and I squeezed in a convo about Louie's numbers. The vet wants me to do a curve this weekend and give her the results next week. She thinks it is likely that we will need to increase the dose. That scares me even though going lower definitely does nothing...but as you'll see in the spreadsheet a few nights ago he dropped to 55 at 1 unit...so if it was 2 units? :shock: On the other hand, generally his numbers have remained high...
 
If you use U-100 syringes with U-40 insulin, you can make tiny dose increases of 0.2 units if you have half-unit markings.

Each mark on a U-100 syringe * 0.40 = dose of a U-40 insulin.
U-100 0.5 mark * 0.4 = 0.2 of U-40 insulin
U-100 1.0 mark * 0.4 = 0.4 of U-40 insulin

etc.

And yes, I can see where an increase might be warranted; going slowly and alowing a day or two for the dose to sort of settle is safer than making a big dose increase.
 
It looks like 1 unit gave you almost a little too much curve on a mid 200 PS, but a nice nadir in the mid 50's. Anything over 300 I would go with 1.25u and see what that does. But I would stay with the 1 unit on a 200's PS.

Sorry, I havn't been following along until now.
 
OOOh Rob and Harley...you're in mpls? I went to college there. LOVE the area!

Yeah...I'm thinking upping him is going to be the next step. I am hoping that this isn't indicating that he's ins resistant?
 
Yep we're in Mpls and love it. Where did you go to school?

I would up his dose to 1.25u for any PS over 300 but stay with 1 unit for anything in the 200's.
 
I went to North Central University off of Chicago ave/Elliot ave. I worked at HCMC all 5 years.

I LOVE Minihaha Falls (I have no idea how to spell it, lol)
 
Very prestegious hospital, right up there with the Mayo IMO.

I love the falls too, such a beautiful peaceful place smack dab in the city. They have started shoring it up and updating it so it doesn't fall down. :lol: I'm glad that they are preserving it though.

How is Louie doing?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top