Updated Hank's SS from Curve Today

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kimmied

Active Member
Hi,
What a day! I know with a curve it's only suppose to have numbers for every 2 hours but I knew that I needed to see what numbers were for +5 and +7. I see that nadir was at +4, which I'm sure probably is not what he has been hitting at. Why did that happen? Yep, he did bounce at PMPS, 401! Why again?

So tonight for evening injection I gave a tad over 1u. I'm just not sure if 1.25u at PM shot is too much. What does anyone else think?

Now what? Do I stay at 1.25u for AM and what for PM? Please advise. Thank you.

Kimmie
 
Nice curve numbers, Kimmie. Yes, his drop is a little fast so feeding around +2/3 might slow that down and make the nadir later. But he started up slowly from that and stayed in nice numbers right up to the preshot. And yes, then he jumped!

I like the idea of lowering the dose just a smidge like you did last night. It's possible that could mean a shallower curve and not such a bounce. How about trying the 1.25 for a few cycles (maybe both shots?) and see what happens. When possible, get a +3 and something around 5-6 to see if that nadir gradually comes later. And try a snack early in the cycle to slow that drop too.

The good news is that he responds well and the insulin lasted through the cycle. The dose just a little more than one unit looks nice too; it meant the difference between yellow midcycle numbers and green and blue. Now to fine tune. :-D
 
Ok, thank you Sue.

Since Tuesday this is how I've been doing it; test, feed, and while he's eating, shoot. All of this around 6:20-6:30. Whatever kibble he doesn't eat, I leave down but he usually doesn't go back to eat. Hank starts getting hungry again around 3. I think he's so hungry by the time I feed him at 6:20ish that he gobbles and then sleeps the rest of the morning. I had to keep waking him most of the day yesterday while I was doing his curve. No, I don't think that he is sick. He's acting just fine. I think he gets his belly full and is content. So trying to get him to eat at +2/3...don't think he will. So what do you think? Feed a little at 3 or earlier? Cut the main feeding times food in half and then give the other half at +2/3? But then what if he's too tired to eat then? Then I've cut is intake in half. Hmmmm....

Today I should be able to get a AM +3 and +5. Then I'll be gone for awhile. I'll see what I can get after that. Should I try feeding a little at 3 today to see what happens? Won't that mess up his BG numbers?

Kimmie
 
I'd just play around with the food and see what works. Maybe spread the food out - give him some with the shot and then pick it up. Put it back down around +3 and see if he'll eat. He probably won't like that first, but he may adapt.

My thought is that food raises bg levels and if he is dropping right away, a little bump up around +3 might slow that drop. Worth trying - not sure how it will impact the numbers. Works great for some cats, not so much for others.
 
Ok, thanks.

How about I give him more food at +2 instead of +3? I just hate taking it away when he's so hungry. Do you think not a good idea to offer food at 3AM and 3PM? That would be 3 1/2 hrs before his shot. Would that affect his pre-shot numbers too much? I guess what I'm trying to get at is, he's eating twice a day, I leave the food down if he doesn't eat it all but usually doesn't go back to it till much later, almost feeding time again.

I'll try this at PM feeding time tonight.

Kimmie
 
Ok, well he made a liar out of me. I offered his leftover kibble and he ate most of it. It was only about 20 or so pieces. I just tested him at +3 it was 219. So I'll see what happens at +5 now. Thank you for your help.

Kimmie
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top