update?

coryb

Member Since 2020
update?: continuing with slgs protocol, holding dose although it seems the badg needs more insulin, no ketones, but very hungry, 4 cans of ff pate, split into 5 meals...adding water to some meals to increase fluids. 5 "P"s, noticing more dandruff. don't post much, plenty of info to be had, only if feeling unsure about doing right by my dude...thankful for this community and resource.
 
Last edited:
Cory -

In all likelihood, Badger will need a dose increase. With SLGS, you need to hold the dose for a week before increasing.

I'd also strongly encourage you to get some PM cycle tests. Lantus dosing is based on the nadir, not pre-shot numbers. Just because you're seeing a pre-shot value over 300, don't assume that all of the cycle will be in those numbers. Gabby could start a cycle in the 400s, drop to the 40s, and bounce back to the 400s by PMPS. If I hadn't gotten spot checks, I would have increased her dose when a dose reduction was needed. In addition, without those PM tests, you're missing half of your data.

Please let us know if you have questions. There's a lot to absorb!!
 
I'd also strongly encourage you to get some PM cycle tests.
I have to agree. I always avoided PM testing because, well.... I though the daytime was enough. Then when I did start testing in the PM, I found his numbers were consistently lower than in the daytime. After some time doing tests at various hours, I have a better sense of what his cycle tends to look like. Every cat is different, so more initial testing will give you comfort as you go forward that you kind of know where Badger might be going in a given cycle. I regret that I spent many months last year not investing the time and energy in seeing what Zoot!'s data looked like.
 
Cory -

In all likelihood, Badger will need a dose increase. With SLGS, you need to hold the dose for a week before increasing.

I'd also strongly encourage you to get some PM cycle tests. Lantus dosing is based on the nadir, not pre-shot numbers. Just because you're seeing a pre-shot value over 300, don't assume that all of the cycle will be in those numbers. Gabby could start a cycle in the 400s, drop to the 40s, and bounce back to the 400s by PMPS. If I hadn't gotten spot checks, I would have increased her dose when a dose reduction was needed. In addition, without those PM tests, you're missing half of your data.

Please let us know if you have questions. There's a lot to absorb!!
thanks for the info, doing my curve right now, can work on getting some pm spot checks, but haven't had any #s below 300 all day, but will cont the q2 hr checks as late as i'm able.
 
I have to agree. I always avoided PM testing because, well.... I though the daytime was enough. Then when I did start testing in the PM, I found his numbers were consistently lower than in the daytime. After some time doing tests at various hours, I have a better sense of what his cycle tends to look like. Every cat is different, so more initial testing will give you comfort as you go forward that you kind of know where Badger might be going in a given cycle. I regret that I spent many months last year not investing the time and energy in seeing what Zoot!'s data looked like.
yep, working on arranging my life around this...one of the many reasons i've been able to have a cat is bc of their independence and ability to thrive relatively unsupervised...but we have always been able to rise to the challenges in front of us...not even a month since dx!!
 
update?: very hungry, 4 cans of ff pate, split into 5 meals...adding water to some meals to increase fluids. 5 "P"s, noticing more dandruff.
Zoot! actually get a bit more than that, and we feed him when we dose, and between +1 and +3, then again at +4 (AM and PM) with a snack at +7. We found by feeding sometime between +1 to +3 of his cycles we are better able to manage his BG numbers during the period when the old Lantus dose is wearing off and the new is kicking in; and then +4 gets him through any low nadir.

Again that is what we have learned from our testing data and of course Badger will end up being different. Sorry for being so long winded.:)
 
Back
Top