*Update* (Toddy and Kidney Disease/Diabetes) Questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

ToddyTiger

Member Since 2010
So, a little background for folks who have not looked at my other posts..

Todd is 16 years old, has been a diabetic for over two years now. He got very sick in early July this year, with what the doctors believe was Pancreatitis. (The ultrasound showed that the pancreas was inflamed at some point) He stopped eating and drinking, started losing weight and of course his BG numbers went all crazy. He was on tons of medications, Sub-Q/IV fluids and such. We got him back to normal (mostly) in Sept. He started eating again, though not a whole lot. Throughout all of this, they were doing tons of blood work and found that sometimes his kidney values were in the normal range and sometimes they were a bit high. Nothing to worry about at the moment, so I was told.

Though he is back to getting insulin daily and acting more normal, he is still losing tons of weight. he has lost about 4lbs. His spine and hips are very boney, and his hair is not growing back. Well, it's growing back in clumps. He was shaved down like a lion in April, which I do every year, by now all of his hair is back... not this time.

The weight loss is the scary part. Our vet ended up putting him on i/d canned and dry, because of the Pancreatitis. She is worried about switching him to anything else, because she is worried the Pancreatitis will come back. She recommended going to see a internal medicine specialist, because she was at a loss as to why he is still losing weight and what are some foods we could try.

So last week, that is what we did. They did a followup ultrasound and fructosamine test. The ultrasound was clear of masses and such, though they noted his adrenal glands were a bit large. We are still waiting on the fructosamine test to come back. He didn't want me to change anything until that came back. His thoughts on what could be wrong are that Todd either has IBD or possible Cushing's, though he thinks Cushing's is less likely because he doesn't have all of the symptoms. He sent me home with some canned z/d and said to try to get him to eat it, but if he doesn't, to keep him on the i/d dry and canned until the fructosamine test comes back.

The z/d was NOT a hit, and I don't blame him, it LOOKED awful. So he is still eating the i/d, Hypoallergenic treats and Bonito Flakes.

a side note, last October 2009 he had major surgery for a intussusception. They did a biopsy and found no cause for it, but they did remove 6 inches of his intestines as well as removing the Ileum (I believe that is what it was called). After that, he was fine and doing great until this summer. At the moment, the vet does not think it is related.

His current medications are as follows

Lantus 1.5 units twice a day (original dose before getting sick was 2.5 twice a day)
Tumil-K tablet one tablet a day, broken into two
Prednisolone 5mg once a day, usually at night (started early Sept for IBD)
B-12 injection every Wed. morning

Before anyone asks, I DO home test. He's usually in the 200's throughout the day.

He is drinking and peeing normally. He is also pooping (not full on Diarrhea, but still soft, but shaped and it smells AWFUL) but he has started pooping under my office desk and under our piano. At first I thought it was our foster kitten, but I have caught him in the act now and I don't know why he is doing it. I do know that sick cats can do this, and I know that he may also be uncomfortable when he poops, and now he thinks the litter box is the reason. I hope I can get him to stop doing it, because it is not fun to come home to or wake up to. The pooping thing is new, as of maybe.. a month ago and it is not every single day. When I catch him doing it, I notice there is a lot of gas as well. I can hear it.

My biggest question is this, what are some foods I can give him, if he does have IBD? I had a cat for several years with IBD, and we had him on Natural Balance Venison & Pea, Royal Canin Venison & pea, Rabbit & Pea and Lamb & Pea, as well as the Hill's d/d version. He did well on all of those, but I don't know what Todd can have being a diabetic with possible kidney issues. I know we are going to have to switch his food though. Also, a raw diet (in case it is suggested) will not work. He refuses people food of any kind, raw or cooked. He LOVES dry food, but will eat canned if it isn't too chewy or like jello. I know he should eat only caned, but the specialist did tell me, that he can have dry, because eating something is better than eating nothing at all.

Anyway, that is where we are at right now. I left a voice mail for the specialist yesterday, because I am curious about what foods I can give him, especially since yesterday and (so far) today, he is hungry, but doesn't want any of his the i/d.

Thank you for any help!
Sarah
 
Re: Diabetic with Possible Kidney Disease and IBD.

I would suggest your next step is a phone consult with Dr Lisa....
 
Re: Diabetic with Possible Kidney Disease and IBD.

Yes, ZD is nasty stuff. When you say his is in he 200's does that mean his BG remains essentially constant with nor real curve? Increase the dose might help a little. Two of my diabetic kitties have some intestinal problems are on budesonide. However, that might not be good for Todd since he is already on the prednisolone. One of mine had well-formed feces most of the time wile the other has soft. Both smell bad. My goal is to get them to eat anything, including dry.
 
Re: Diabetic with Possible Kidney Disease and IBD.

Maybe change your subject to ask "Best foods/diet for IBD & Kidney disease"
 
Re: Best foods/diet for IBD & Kidney disease

Larry-

He stays mostly in the 200's. Sometimes it will go down to 180, but mostly it stays within the 200's. We have had a couple of days where it had gone into the 300's and one day where it was in the 400's. I am sure his insulin needs to go up, since his original dose was 2.5 units twice a day, before getting sick. The vet basically had me start with the lowest amount.. so we started with half a unit, then one unit and now we're at the 1.5 units.

I will ask the specialist about budesonide. I'm not too sure that the pred is helping him.
 
Re: Diabetic with Possible Kidney Disease and IBD.

Tucker needs to stay away from gluten for his IBD to stay under control. If he has the gluten, then his pancreatitis flares up. He eats mainly Fancy Feast gluten free, but sometimes a little Wellness canned. Just recently to try to help him gain weight I've started a little Evo Dry. I believe many IBD cats do well on raw. Tucker's IBD usually presents with him getting constipated and blocked. He's had surgeries in the past to remove hairballs because of it. I think his IBD is allergy related, so others who have IBD cats could probably help you more with food than I can.

Regarding the fur, I know exactly how you feel. Tucker's fur is not going to grow back either from his shave. Just a full patch on his back, near the scruff and few small patches here and there, mosty he looks freshly shaved. May be due to age, it may be the pred. My little man is on pred, Tumil-K, B12 injections and Levemir, similar to your kitty.

When was his potassium checked last? Low potassium leads to weight loss.
 
Re: Best foods/diet for IBD & Kidney disease

Tucker's Mom-

His last full set of labs was done on 9/28 That included the Potassium and kidney stuff. The potassium was 3.9 at the time.



Todd does get constipated from time to time, but not right now. Todd's IBD ( if that is indeed what he has) could be allergy related. I am guessing that is why the vet gave me the z/d to try. Sylvester (our kitty that passed away last year with IBD) couldn't have chicken, pork or beef, which was why he got the venison, lamb and rabbit. I am sure we will be going through a lot of foods until we find what he can have. I just hope he gains some weight. The missing hair we can deal with, but being so thin is really scary and probably uncomfortable for him.
 
Re: Best foods/diet for IBD & Kidney disease

I'm Jennifer, probably need to change my signature line since most of the time no one sees it :oops:

3.9 for potassium is low, Tucker's is usually around there, he takes 2 Tumil-K pills BID. His last lab was 4.1 which is his highest in a while. He's been losing weight since November of last year. He used to be a nice 17 and half pounds, he's a big kitty. He's down to just 14 pounds now.

Have you always been on the one pill BID since learning of the low potassium?
 
Re: Best foods/diet for IBD & Kidney disease

I'm sorry, Jennifer. I admit, I didn't see your signature. But now I know! :)

Anyway, he was originally getting two of the Tumil-K pills a day, as well as receiving more potassium in his IV fluids when at the vet. They had me bring it down to one pill several weeks ago. Early to mid Sept. he was doing really well and staying around 11 1/2 lbs, eating well and had energy.. but now he is getting worse again. But it doesn't look like Pancreatitis to me. It looks like overall just not feeling well. I'm sure the cold weather is not helping much. I have to wonder if he might need a appetite stimulant again? He needed that or a while and it did help.


-Sarah
 
Re: Best foods/diet for IBD & Kidney disease

I've got one diabetic cat and one with IBD. They were both on i.d. before the diabetic was diagnosed, then switched to w/d. w/d didn't help the diabetes and m/d didn't agree with the IBD cat. Now they are both eating EVO primarily canned food. The cat with IBD has done very well on it so far. There's been no vomiting or diarrhea and I haven't seen any blood in his stool for a few weeks now. My diabetic cat is doing much better on the EVO as well, though he still needs a good dose of insulin.
 
Re: Best foods/diet for IBD & Kidney disease

There is a lot going on here. Food choices, balancing BG, diabetes and Renal disease and wondering what else is possibly going on.. wow just a lot.

FYI-- a bit on digestive health:
fiber sources in food can mess up an animals digestive tract as well. Some animals do not do well with cellulose which is non-fermentable fiber source used many times in wt loss diets to slow the moment down and bulk up-so animal feels fuller longer. great for some healthy cats with fur ball issues, not so great for others. Beet Pulp is a moderately fermentable fiber so it is rt smack in the middle of the fermentable scale. Beet pulp also addresses the lining of the digestive tract to help keep it healthy, without the lining being healthy the animal is unable to absorb the nutrients properly. maybe a discussion with Dr. Lisa is what is next? consider reviewing Maximum Calorie (IAMS) canned-very low carbs, has the beet pulp in it and-it is on the list on this site for low carb choice.. this product like i/d is nutrient dense..but different fiber sources. Pack in the nutrients in even a very small bite. Many emergency hospitals use i/d and maximum calorie and Recovery RS. Maximum calorie is great for syringe or tube feeding. I've used both the i/d and Maximum Calorie after Khan lost 6.5#s. I've also heard fantastic results with EVO however that is high protein and depending upon what stage of renal failure your cat is in makes a difference whether a high protein diet can even be tolerated. .

Just alot more going on here than just the food choice. Meows, purrs and cat paws coming your way for luck and support. :)
 
Re: Best foods/diet for IBD & Kidney disease

Thank you for all the suggestions so far..

The specialist called about 8pm tonight. The fructosamine test came back and he said it looked good, so he doesn't want to increase or decrease his insulin dose at this time.

He said he consulted with one of the other internal medicine specialists at the clinic, because Todd has so much going on...

Basically, right now, he thinks that the kidney issue is what we should focus on. His last set of labs done on Sept. 28th were as follows

Creatinine: 2.7
BUN: 60
Phosphorus: 8.2 (I know this is high and I will ask about Phosphorus binders tomorrow)
BUN/Creatinine Ratio: 22

The doctor said normally these kinds of kidney values wouldn't cause much of a problem, but he thinks it might be effecting Todd in a big way. So first thing is I need to start Todd back on the Pepcid AC every day. Next the doctor wants me to taper Todd off of the Prednisolone, from 5mg a day, to 2mg every day for a week, then every other day for a week, and then stop. He will go back on the appetite stimulant, Mirtazapine, and see if that helps him to want to eat more.. Then we will start him on a diet for kidney issues (like k/d or the Royal Canin brand) That might be the toughest part, because most cats seem to dislike it, but the doctor tells me we have a few options to go with.. sooo.. we'll see how that goes. He wants me to either bring him into their clinic, or go to our regular vet and get Todd's kidney values and urine checked again next week, as well as getting his blood pressure checked. The reason they want the urine tested again was because in the last set of labs, I guess there was protein in the urine.(?) I was not aware of this until today.

So this is where we are at right now. I guess we are scratching the idea of treating for IBD, and going with the renal issues to see if that helps.

Any thoughts on foods for kidney issues???... Or just suggestions in general. I have taken a look at all of the CRF sites. It's a lot to take in, so suggestions from folks dealing with this would help. :)

Thank you!
Sarah
 
Re: Best foods/diet for IBD & Kidney disease

Todd seems so.. yucky, this morning. He is just sitting there in his little bed, kinda looking into space. He's kind of alert. I tried just tossing a little thing across the room to see if it got his attention, which it did. His ears perked up and he looked at it. But he still looks not great.

I called our vet this morning to let her know I spoke with the specialist last night. She wasn't in yet, but I was told she would call me back. I'm wondering if he might need some fluids, and I also want to get his blood pressure checked today.

I just wish I knew what to do. This is so hard to deal with by myself. My husband cares, but he doesn't want to hear about what is going on, nor does he want to help. It's hard not having anyone to help me or talk with.
 
Re: Best foods/diet for IBD & Kidney disease

Can I be a pain and ask that you check the potassium level? When Tucker's potassium crashes he looks like a zombie. Like there's nothing in his eyes at all. But once he gets fluids and extra potassium, he perks up. I know your kitty is not Tucker, but just in case it is the potassium level, it might be safe to just check that.
 
Re: Best foods/diet for IBD & Kidney disease

It is very difficult to be in the same household with someone that has a different point of view in regards to animals. being alone and being lonely are definitely two different things. You are not alone. We are here..many many cat lovers are here to support you. WE all care and our hearts are with you. Many here are very very smart and have smart advice. Keep posting.. post post post.. we are here to help.--even if it is to reach out and show support. don't feel like you can't keep posting how you are feeling.. keep doing it -- we want to hear from you. :) :)

Once you talk to the vet -and have your cat looked at things are bound to get better.
PUrrs/hugs and prayers sent your way!
 
Re: Best foods/diet for IBD & Kidney disease

Jennifer- Oh yes, I will get his potassium checked!! The vet was booked today, but I have an appointment for 10am tomorrow for the blood pressure check, so I'm gonna see if they will do the blood work as well. Todd is looking better right now. Much more vocal, bright eyed. I picked up some dry and canned k/d this morning, as well as the two Royal Canin canned renal diets, and the Purina version. Just to give him some choices. He LOVED the k/d dry. He ate a bunch of that and purred the whole time. <3 he also took a few licks of the k/d canned, but I think he is full from the dry. heh I hope this helps! I would love to see him gain a bit of weight. I haven't heard from our vet yet today, she will probably call in the afternoon, I know they are booked for the day. I at least want to get him started on the appetite stimulant today.

Thank you, pepperthecat! I just get so lonely trying to do this on my own. We have a pretty full house with 5 cats (one a foster who might just stay), two dogs and my hubby. I get so overwhelmed, plus the stress has made sleeping rather hard for me. I'm a bit of a mess right now. I think the hardest part is that I am home alone all day (I'm a freelance artist, so I work from home) so because of that, I can easily get really focused on how Todd is doing, what is Todd doing, does he look ok, and I feel bad leaving the house for more than an hour or two. Posting here and talking with my mom helps a lot. My husband and friends just say stuff like.. "Todd is really old, he is probably getting ready to die". Not a help at all! Anyway, I really appreciate all of the help, love, support, suggestions and just good thoughts that the kind folks here give. It really means a lot to me, even when someone just says hey, I'm thinking about you guys. So thank you!! <3 <3
 
Re: Best foods/diet for IBD & Kidney disease

Just a couple of observations...

1. a fructosamine won't tell you that a cat is well regulated....your cat's bgs could be on a rollercoaster but the 'average' looks nice and that is what a fructosamine will tell you

2. unless your cat is in renal failure (different from renal insufficiency) do NOT go to KD...see Dr Lisa's page for more

Good luck, and hugs

Jen
 
Re: Best foods/diet for IBD & Kidney disease

I'll bring that up with the vet. I know what his numbers are like at home, which on average are in the 200's. I did tell him that on our visit last week.

As for the k/d. He wanted him put onto the renal diets... what are my other choices if I can't use those? I don't know if he is in renal failure, but his numbers are high (not sky high, but higher than normal). What should I do?.. he already started eating the k/d today.
 
Re: Best foods/diet for IBD & Kidney disease

Got Todd started back on the Mirtazapine about an hour ago. It's already working.. he's SUPER happy right now. I know it masks the problem, but it's good to see him looking happy. Plus, he keeps telling me he is hungry. So YAY!

Just sharing..
 
Re: Best foods/diet for IBD & Kidney disease

hmmm.. While I was cleaning out the cat drinking fountains, someone threw up in the hallway. Now, I can't say it was Todd, because he was snuggled in the kitty bed in the living room while I was cleaning, but it could have been him and it could have happened at any point while I was cleaning, although 9 times out of 10, Roscoe (our 3 year old kitty) is the guy who threw up. It was partly digested food (the norm for when Roscoe throws up), but I couldn't tell which food it was. I checked Todd's BG and it was 382 at 8:26pm. So rather high. He'll get his insulin shortly and then I'll check again. Oh, and I gave him some Pepcid, just in case.
 
Need CRF Links

I can't find my CRF links, but to me it sounds like insufficiency vs failure (ie end stage). Reduced protein is not required; bigger focus should be on phosphorous (lower phosphorous content in diet or use phos. binders), and ensure moisture, etc.

Please, read Dr Lisa's info at www.catinfo.org
 
Re: Best foods/diet for IBD & Kidney disease

Thank you for the links, Jen! I have to admit though, with so much info out there, I just don't know where to even start.

He is eating the k/d dry and he ate some of the Purina Kidney Function canned this morning (didn't like the Royal Canin or the k/d canned). I can't put him on any kind of a raw diet because he won't eat them (tried in the past), I think EVO was suggested and he doesn't like that either, Fancy Feast and Friskies, he will only lick up the gravy, but won't actually eat the food. At least he is eating the k/d and not just looking at me like I'm crazy.

Our regular vet is out until Monday, so I can't ask her any questions, but she did call me yesterday so we could go over everything the specialist suggested. I also called the specialist this morning and left a voice mail telling them they need to call me back EARLY today (He tends to call in the later evening, which is too late to do anything, because I have questions, which are: What about using phosphorous binders? (I know this is IMPORTANT!), Can I/should I be giving Sub-Q daily or should he be receiving IV fluids at our vet over the weekend?, and should he get his BP checked today or over the weekend? He has a followup visit next Thursday for blood work and a BP check, but I believe it might be a good idea to have that checked today or tomorrow, just to make sure it isn't high... and as I type this, the assistant for the specialist just called. So this is what I was told.. If I think he needs fluids, I can certainly give him some or have our vet do it, it would be good to do the BP check and until they recheck the blood work next week, we should hold off on phosphorous binders. They have them there if they find he needs it.

So that is where we are at. I'm gonna call our regular vet now ad see about getting the stuff for Sub-Q (I'm out of the needles).

Update later, if I have some good info. :)

Thanks!
Sarah
 
UPDATE Re: Best foods/diet for IBD & Kidney disease

So I took Todd into our regular vet office around 11:30am this morning. Our regular vet was not in, but one of the vets she consulted with a bit was there. I had never met her before, and she was very nice. So they checked out his vitals and did his Blood Pressure (BP) while I was in the room with him. She said his BP didn't look bad. They did it several times and his average was good, so no BP meds at this time. She said they will check it a few more times throughout the day, just to be sure. She did note that he looked a bit dehydrated, so she thought maybe IV fluids would help. He's gotten IV fluids so many times since first getting sick in July, but I think for him, it's better than the Sub-Q. I feel bad that they have to keep putting the needle in his leg. :( So she wanted him to stay for the day (they close at 8pm) and get fluids and also recheck the blood work and urine tests that the specialist wanted to check next week. She thinks doing it now, before fluids, would be a good idea and then we can recheck again at the end of next week. She was also worried because his temp was low.. I don't know how low, but she was concerned about it. Since getting sick, he has had a constant low temp (though the 2nd opinion vet he saw in Aug. had a VERY long thermometer and said his internal temp was normal) The doctor we saw today said it very well could be that his temp is normal, and it's just that he has feces in there and it's making the temp look low. But she thought keeping him there for the day would be a very good idea. I agree, since he seems off right now.

So that is where we are at. Please send lots of good thoughts for Todd. He needs it badly!!

Thank you!
Sarah
 
Re: *Update* Toddy At The Vet.. (Kidney Disease/Diabetes)

Sending tons of prayers and purrs for dear Todd. And lots of be calm Momma vibes.

Everyone's fingers and paws are crossed that he will be feeling at least a little better this evening.

Mel
 
Re: *Update* Toddy At The Vet.. (Kidney Disease/Diabetes)

Thank you all so much!! <3 <3 Your support and love really brings tears to my eyes.



So, here is the update for the night. I picked Todd up about 7:30pm. They left the IV in, in case he needs to go to the ER tonight and so they can give more fluids tomorrow.


When they last rechecked his temp, she said it was up to 98.(something). So whatever it was this morning, it was lower than 98.(something). She took some blood and that should be back tomorrow. She said she felt as if there wasn't much change today while he was there, but he was looking a lot better when we got home. He was hungry and ate some wet and dry k/d and a few of his treats. Oh, and he ate half a can of the k/d wet while at the vet! He cleaned his bottom a bit and just looked better. He is still not looking great though. She said his BG was in the 300's this afternoon when they checked, so I made sure when we got home to give him his insulin right away. I think he looks like he is feeling a bit better. So I hope this helps..

Now.. to address bathroom issues. I put a uncovered litter box under the piano today, since this seems to be a spot where he likes to poop. About... 15 minutes ago (9:15pm-ish) I watched him go poop in the box we have in the bathroom. It smelled AWFUL and was soft, but formed and light in color. It was about the same color as the k/d he was started on yesterday. There was also a nice sized pile in the box under the piano. Same color and smell. So I assume that was from him, as the other cats don't have that color of poo. That was formed as well, and a bit soft, but not as soft as the one in the bathroom box. I noticed he also had some gas while going. I bring this up because 1) YAY he used both boxes and not the carpet!! and 2) the color of his poop has been a darker brown and harder (not rock solid, but harder) for a few weeks now. The question is.. was this poo color change today because of the new k/d diet, the fluids or all of the above? and is this good or bad?.. I saved both in baggies to show the vet, in case this is a bad thing.

So that is where we are right now. He still needs his 2mg of Pred and Pepcid tonight. She is having me hold off on the Tumil-K because there was potassium in the fluids.

He is currently all snuggled in the kitty bed next to my desk. I hope he feels better.

OH.. question!! Has anyone had a cat with a low temp reading?? Like I stated in one of my last comments, he has had a pretty consistent low temp reading for a while. No one else has been worried about it, until today when we saw a different doctor. I'm just curious about how worried I should be right now. I know for me, I always have a low temp reading. That is just how my body is, but I don't know how that works for cats. I know what temp they should be at.
 
Re: *Update* Toddy At The Vet.. (Kidney Disease/Diabetes)

Todd had a pretty good night. He slept with me for part of the night and in the morning he ate and he got his meds. I took him to the vet office around 8am, so they could do fluids. I had an appointment just after 8:30 for one of our other kitties, so when I got back with her, the doctor that was caring for Todd came in and said that when they went to flush his IV, it hurt him, so they pulled it out. She said she didn't want to strain his veins and put another in, especially since he looks so much better. So she suggested taking him home, which I did. He has had k/d wet and dry a few times today, and some treats. He sprawled out by the window for a couple of hours, taking in the sun. He seemed happy. And he got brushed. <3 So for now, I think he'll be ok. I can do Sub-Q fluids if needed. But he seems fine at the moment.

The blood work came back... the kidney values are different. Not a HUGE difference, but they have changed. I was honestly expecting they would skyrocket up, but they didn't. Here are the new values and the old...

10/15/2010 *BEFORE FLUIDS WERE GIVEN*
BUN: 52 (HIGH)
Creatinine: 2.2
Phosphorus: 4.4
Potassium: 3.6
BUN/Creatinine Ratio: 24


9/28/2010
BUN: 60 (HIGH)
Creatinine: 2.7 (HIGH)
Phosphorus: 8.2
Potassium: 3.9
BUN/Creatinine Ratio: 22


So that is where we are at. They will recheck his bloodwork and urine next week and see how things look. I did ask if I should increase his potassium, because I noticed that it was on the lower end of normal. She said I could go from 1 tab a day, to a tab and 1/4. I don't have to, because it was in the normal range, but if I want to, I can. I might do that.. what do you folks think?

Thank you!
Sarah
 
Re: *Update* Toddy At The Vet.. (Kidney Disease/Diabetes)

Todd seemed to be pretty good today, and aside from vomiting once on Sunday night, he had a good weekend. Today he ate several small meals and was doing well. This evening he seems rather blah. He hasn't wanted food tonight, so I haven't given him his insulin for the evening, though his BG was 292 around 11:20pm tonight. :/ If he eats soon, I'll give it. Otherwise, I suppose I should wait till morning. Not sure. His eyes are bright and clear, but he seems kinda tired (I guess it is midnight though).


I know its only been a week since he was started on the kidney treatment/diet. I just wonder if this is what is wrong and is what we should be treating for. They have done so many tests, xrays, two ultrasounds, blood work, urine tests, fecal tests.. the only thing that looks off in his blood work is the kidney values being a bit high, and in the last ultrasound his adrenal glands were a bit large. That is it. But he is skin and bones and his appetite comes and goes.. poor guy.

I wonder if I will see any kind of improvement in his weight. Will he gain weight on this new diet?? How long should it take to see some improvement, if any?.. I keep getting reminded that he is old. I know he is old, I know when you get old, things just don't work like they used to and sometimes you.. well, ya might not make it. But I want to do all I can for him.


The specialist will be in tomorrow, so I'll be calling him with an update and asking lots of questions. Todd has a follow up appointment on Thursday for more bloodwork and a urine test. He doesn't seem dehydrated, but I may start doing Sub-Q again tomorrow. I don't think he likes it, simply because I am not great at giving it. We have good days and bad.

Anyway.. feeling rather tired and defeated right now. I just wish I knew for sure what was wrong and how to treat him.
 
Re: *Update* Toddy At The Vet.. (Kidney Disease/Diabetes)

I hate making new topics when I have questions related to something I already posted about...

Anyway.. I'm just curious, is it normal with early kidney disease to have good days and bad days? As in.. Todd will eat, drink, act pretty well for say, 3-4 days, then maybe for 1 or 2 days, not want to eat much and so on?.. is this normal or am I just being way too worried/paranoid?? Like last night and today, he isn't all that interested in food. (though he ate several small meals every day over the weekend) This morning he ate a few bites of his k/d dry, a few small licks of the wet and 3 treats. But I had to pet him while he was eating. If I stopped petting him, he would stop eating.

I'm just really, really worried. Right now he is just snuggled up in his kitty bed, which is probably where he will be most of the day.

Just worried
 
If I were you, I'd start a new thread with a topic like 'Renal Issues and Questions' or something like that. I'm afraid I've no exp with this issue so can't provide much advice but I do remember reading that cats can feel icky from kidney issues so it may not be unusual.

Hugs

Jen
 
Change in diet will result in change in "end result" smell and form. I know my KHAN stinks really bad right now.. One BM can clear the hall! whooooaaaa!!

Give it time since it takes time for a new diet to balance the GI environment out.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top