UPDATE: Swap approved...new questions Starting dose?: Considering switch to Levemir from Prozinc

Astexcat

Member Since 2019
So I'm considering switching insulins, as I did a curve yesterday and now have visual proof that I need to get over my fear of using the depot insulins and do what's probably best for my cat.

Right now she's at 3U of prozinc with numbers not low at all (using the Alpha Tek meter). If I were to ask my vet to switch to the levemir, what would the consensus be on starting does?

Thanks all,
Bridget
 
Hello and welcome. You kitty definitely needs a higher dose than 3 units, which I can see by looking at the Vetsulin data too. I think you will like Levemir, but you will likely need to start at higher than 3 units. Before I suggest a starting dose, what is your schedule like with regards to monitoring? Two reasons, first, some cats have a marked reaction to the switch, though that didn’t happen when you want to Prozinc, so less likely to happen. Second, we may need to fast track Smudges into higher doses faster. But that requires the ability to monitor frequently.

And last question, has Smudges ever had a DKA incident or tested positive for ketones?
 
Sorry, more questions. I went back and read your previous threads.

What food are you currently feeding Smudge? Any chance you could go back tot the raw diet and Smudge will eat it? This is only a change I would make when you can monitor, as dry food makes a huge difference in amount of insulin needed.

I now know you had been testing ketones and that is what the K numbers in the spreadsheet were earlier. You should be continuing to test daily, especially in high numbers and with an insulin switch. And please indicate the values in the spreadsheet, or we will continue to “remind” you.;)
 
Monitoring during the week is most definitely challenging, so a weekend switch would be better. Easier at night as I tend to wake up 2-3 times a night where I could grab numbers. Currently she is a fan of her raw diet (past 3-4 dys), but that changes back and forth. If it's not raw, she's on low carb canned food, mostly weurva and the sister brands. I try to keep all the canned below 6% carb per the large spreadsheet of cat food info. She doesn't particularly like the low carb dry food, and will only eat it periodically at best. None of my cats have had regular dry food since early December. She's not had a diagnosed DKA incident (or at least vet didn't keep her and treat or anything), and doesn't seem to test high for Ketones except when her sugars regularly (i.e. most of the day) run high. As long as she gets insulin and it does something, her ketones read negative.

I do have a better vet now who would have started me on lantus except of my fear of the depot insulins. However, time to get over that for the health of my cat so I'm sure she'll be supportive. I'm just trying to have some baseline of what to consider starting her at, and what would be deemed too high. I know it seems the default will be 2U, which will not be high enough, so was wondering what would be recommended based on her current numbers/poor control.

Thanks for all the help!
 
Welcome, Bridget!

What was it about depot insulin that concerned you? Frankly, I would have been more concerned about the way Vetsulin can drop numbers than the way a depot insulin works.

As far as dose, you can swap at the same dose you're currently using of Prozinc. I agree with Wendy, though. I think that ultimately, you will need substantially more insulin than 3.0u. Even at 4.5u of Vetsulin, Smudge was still in high numbers.

There aren't a large number of vets who are as familiar with Lev as Lantus. I wouldn't be surprised if you got some flack about wanting to use Levemir. You might want to suggest to the vet that based on the numbers Smudge is producing that it's likely he's going to need a larger dose of insulin. Lantus is acidic and at higher doses, it can sting. This isn't the case for Levemir. Many of the kitties here who are on higher doses are switched to Lev.

Please let us know what questions you have. We'e here to help
 
I have no doubt we're going to end up near 6U daily when all is said and done. Know that is my logic for starting with lev first, I really want this to be the last switch.

I guess I'm just super worried about a hypo, especially when I have to dose and leave in the morning. Plus side my husband doesn't leave for work until 2pm, so someone is home who can check on her mid day. Really life has me super stressed on all fronts (job, other sick animals, Smudge being one of the special cats), which tends to make me more anxious about everything and learning insulin reactions with my cat has fallen under that area.

Lots of reading on this website has helped with that though, so that's good.
 
We have a number of cats on more than six units. My girl got to 8,75 units before she turned it around. A saying here is that a cat needs however much insulin they need. Don’t get fixed on the size of dose, it’s the blood sugar numbers that matter.

I agree with Sienne about Lev being better and for Smudge and am glad you are thinking of it. Some vets have the mistaken thought than Levemir is ore powerful than Lantus. Not true, cats that switch from one to the other end up on similar doses.

Does your husband do blood tests? That will go a long way to keeping her safe. As do autofeeders. And if you can get preshot tests plus at least other per cycle, we can help you fast track the dose up. Provided the dry food gets put away.
 
I can have my husband try to get blood tests, but she is really a one-person cat, and it's not him. Dry food will 100% be put away, I want this to work.

Overnight additional tests are easy, and I've noticed that what ya'll say about those being lower seems to be true for Smudge, so I'd feel better about going off those numbers anyway. Weekends will be easy for daily extra tests.

Thanks again for all the help.
 
My vet is Ok with changing insulins and just has some minor concerns about herself and her local experts being less familiar with the use of levemir than lantus. My reading here seems to indicate that they are similar enough that it shouldn't be a problem.

Are there any known levemir only issues that this board has seen in the past?

She also indicated that the using a pen might be problematic and setup for possible future higher rate of infections since they're not designed to be repeatedly pierced by a needle and the rubber degrades faster than a vial. Again...valid concern? Cost while a factor is not a critical one at this juncture, so purchasing a vial is fine by me.

She also wants to start at .5U 2x/day. Will starting that low significantly cause things to be worse than they are? I think based on current dosing above the thought was to start at 3U 2x/day. Is it worth asking to split the difference at 2 or so? Will the .5U help some such that hopefully Smudge won't be hitting 750+ numbers 2x/day, at this point, that would be a huge improvement.

I don't want to alienate my vet (she's using VIN for her research), and she is actually doing research on this and not just blindly telling me it's her way or else, so I want to keep the working relationship and dialog going while best helping Smudge.

She is a fan of the go slow method so her recommended idea is new insulin, run a curve on the weekend, adjust and repeat. I suspect this will be the system until we get her numbers under control.

Advice and comments appreciated before I respond to my vet.

Thanks,
 
I forgot, I feel like until her numbers are sub 600 regularly (the level at which the human testers max out at) I'll have to keep using the Alpha Tek meter. Once she's consistently below that threshold, I do have a human relion meter I'll switch over to using.

Also, I thought the Young Again Zero and Dr. Eisley's chicken kibbles were considered ok....is that true or no?
 
Also, I thought the Young Again Zero and Dr. Eisley's chicken kibbles were considered ok....is that true or no?
They are dry food, lower carb than others, but still dry food which isn't good for cats in general. They will limit which dosing method you can use. For a kitty on higher doses, it's really important to be able to increase faster than once a week.

Until you get the Levemir and swap, I would keep increasing the Prozinc by 0.5 units every 3 days, unless you start seeing some yellows. Hopefully that'll get Smudge out of those higher numbers and you using the human meter sooner too. Plus give us a better idea on starting Lev dose.
She also indicated that the using a pen might be problematic and setup for possible future higher rate of infections since they're not designed to be repeatedly pierced by a needle and the rubber degrades faster than a vial. Again...valid concern? Cost while a factor is not a critical one at this juncture, so purchasing a vial is fine by me.

She also wants to start at .5U 2x/day. Will starting that low significantly cause things to be worse than they are? I think based on current dosing above the thought was to start at 3U 2x/day. Is it worth asking to split the difference at 2 or so? Will the .5U help some such that hopefully Smudge won't be hitting 750+ numbers 2x/day, at this point, that would be a huge improvement.

I don't want to alienate my vet (she's using VIN for her research), and she is actually doing research on this and not just blindly telling me it's her way or else, so I want to keep the working relationship and dialog going while best helping Smudge.

She is a fan of the go slow method so her recommended idea is new insulin, run a curve on the weekend, adjust and repeat. I suspect this will be the system until we get her numbers under control.

Advice and comments appreciated before I respond to my vet.
OK, I'll just start with the top down. First, the only differences you'll notice between Levemir and Lantus is that the onset and nadir are later. On average +4 for Lev pnset and +8 for Lev nadir. Of course, ECID, my girl onset at +5 and nadir was more like +9 to +12. An advantage to Levemir over Lantus is that at higher doses, the acid base of Lantus can sting. Given where Smudge is likely going to go in dose, you will be saving her some hurt by going with Levemir. The look of a Levemir spreadsheet is often flatter numbers than Lantus, but overall the two insulins are very similar. You can tell your vet that the experience here, with over a 100 cats, is it's not s problem switching.

There is no problem using a pen. Hundreds of cat caregivers do it. They do the same with Lantus. And that includes cats on much smaller doses. When my Neko was on high doses of Lev, I went through a pen refill (not available in the US) every few weeks, when she was on smaller doses, it lasted 3 months. And was still good, as long as kept in the fridge. Many people like the pen because if for some reason the insulin goes off, you are wasting a lot less. Plus the pen itself provides some damage against drops/falls. Have you looked into buying the Levemir from Canada? Much cheaper here. Many caregivers order on line - your vet just needs to give you the prescription. This post has more details.

Starting at 0.5 units will be a HUGE mistake. Yes things will be much worse. If ketones are a concern at all, it will make the risk for DKA worse. And since you saw ketone numbers creep up around 3 units of Vetsulin, I would be very worried your cat would end up in danger going so far back.

But most important, starting low will keep Smudge in ugly kidney/organ damaging numbers for much longer. She needs to get out of those high numbers ASAP. Starting back at a low dose and doing SLGS is exactly the wrong thing to do. I started with Caninsulin (Vetsulin is just a rebrand), got up to 5 units, switched to 1 unit of Lantus. Again, huge mistake. Even with following TR which allowed me to increase faster, it took months to get back to 5 units and my girl ended up needing even more. From what i have seen, Smudge will also need more. In the mean time, her organs will be getting damaged from those high numbers. I actually think you need to start at something closer to 4 units. And if we can get your hubby doing once during the day, we can get Smudge to better numbers faster. My husband also thought he wouldn't be able to test at first.

I am not sure how to approach your vet with this. At some point, I stopped discussing dose with my vet. I showed her the spreadsheet, I printed off the dosing method I was using and after seeing a few weeks of data on the spreadsheet, she was happy to let me go on my own. Most people here stop talking to their vet aboug dosing at some point. I knew more than my vet on dosing - she wasn't familiar with Lantus or Levemir either. But she was great with everything else, such as when my girl ended up with kidney disease. Maybe you can say you've communicated with people familiar with Levemir and switching between insulin types. Ultimately, you hold the syringe, not your vet.
 
I'm following as I'm thinking about switching my kitty onto Levemir or Lantus from ProZinc. Luckily, she has a lower requirement for insulin, but she has a sharp drop and low nadir which makes me nervous.
 
Hi Bridget
I swapped Sheba over from Lantus to Levemir and it was the best thing I did. Sheba was a happier cat on the Lev. My vet knew nothing about Lev either, but was happy to research it and then prescribe it. He was happy for me to decide the dosing after we had a discussion about it and just used to ask what dose Sheba was on when we visited.

Sheba used to onset around +3 which was an hour later than Lantus. But ECID and you will soon learn Smudges onset.

My husband didn’t test for years then through necessity had to learn when I was hospitalised for a week. After that he shared the testing with me, although I did most of it and it was a huge help. If your husband can do one test in the middle of the day that would tell us so much.

I agree totally with Wendy and Sienne about the starting dose of the Lev and the concern about ketones and staying in high numbers longer, if you start off with a low dose. They are very experienced with high dose kitties and I would be guided by them

Try not to be fearful of the depot insulin. I think they are the best insulins for cats. If you are testing you will be keeping Smudge safe.
 
I've got some links to spreadsheets of people who moved from Prozinc to Levemir:

Mia's SS - switched end of April 2018
Leoberry's SS - switched end of August 2016
Hershey's SS - switched June 2012
Colin's SS - switched end of September 2015
Jack's SS - switched end of May 2016

Those are what I can think of. We've had more go from Prozinc to Lantus to Levemir. Some cats (Hershey and Jack as examples) had a strong reaction to the insulin switch, so if a cat is seeing some greens on Prozinc, we might start on a bit lower dose of Levemir. But not all the way back to the beginning. In spite of the strong reaction, Jack ended up on a considerably higher Levemir dose.
 
Hi there and welcome :cool:

I think .5u as a starting dose would be asking for trouble.

I’ve seen it many times over the years. A kitty switches to Lantus or Lev at too low a dose and the next thing you know it’s a trip to the ER for DKA.

Your kitty needs to lose all that ugly black ...ASAP!
0.5u is not going to touch it.

The hardest part of switching from prozinc to Lantus or Lev is forgetting the ways of prozinc.

Once your vet sees the numbers improve, she should be on board.

This is a leap of faith juncture, for you and your vet. We have all experienced it in some way. Hang in there and hang in here. It’s the best place to learn how to safely care for your diabetic cat.
 
Hi Bridget,
Not visited before, I've been AWOL of the board for a bit.

You have had some excellent advice from a number of folk. I agree that taking the dose back to 0.5u would be a Huge mistake. Smudge is stuck in some pretty ugly numbers, and I agree with your thoughts on where his dose is likely to end up.

The issue with taking him down to 0.5u and going slow, is that you are going to see him stuck in these nasty numbers for far too long, and with ketones popping up here and there, it wouldn't take much for DKA to rear it's ugly head. A mild UTI/tooth infection/ appy goes off and before you know it you are facing an uphill struggle and an emergency situation.
Frankly DKA worries me more than a hypo. And starting at 3-4u of Lev, given the data you have diligently collected, is not going to end up with Smudge having a hypo event.
As Wendy has said, sometimes a swap of insulin can see a stronger reaction, but given that you did not experience that before when you swapped, it seems less likely in Smudges case.
None the less, doing the swap when you can monitor closely for the first few cycles is recommendable.
I'm not sure how best you can discuss the dosing with your vet. I basically didn't take any dosing advice from my vet when I started Lantus, she hadn't used it before, she did trust me, and trusted I had done my research. So I think when you next discuss it with her you need to show her that you have done your research, reassure her that you are not being blasé about the dosing and that you are going to keep a very close eye on Smudge and that you have plenty of support from experienced Lev users. Talk to her about the risks that Smudge is facing at the moment stuck in these hi numbers, how dialling back the dose to 0.5u (this is the starting dose fore SLGS for a cat that has never had insulin/not the case for smudge) does not seem reasonable, you need to look at the data you've got, show her the swap from vetsulin to prozinc, how dialling back then back the dose then, did Smudge no favours, his numbers have been worse on these lower doses of Prozinc.

At the end of the day you hold the syringe, and you can decide on the dose, some folk here have taken the nod and smile approach and done what they thought best, that wasn't me I preferred to work with my vet. Ultimately I think it depends on your vet and your relationship with them on how best to handle them.
I would say that whenever I have seen folk dial back the dose dramatically when swapping insulin it's a waste of precious time at best, and at worst a medical emergency.

I chose to do TR, George had pretty ugly numbers when we started too, never threw any ketones, he was always negative. My reasoning for TR was that I wanted to get him quickly and safely into a normal range as this was going to protect his organs and keep him healthy. It was also going to give him the best chance of remission, but I have to say I didn't dare let myself think about that at the start, I just wanted to see healthy numbers.
I can tell you after weeks of reds and blacks the first time I saw a blue I was a nervous wreck, though it turned out to be a non event.
To do TR with Lev, you would have to scrap the dry (Yes even the LC dry/sounds like he's not fussed by it, clever kitty, he knows wet food is better for him:cat:) In your situation I would consider TR, at least until you start seeing better numbers, if you then want to ease of and SLGS, you can always start taking a slower approach if your nerves can't deal with TR. But honestly, you will find that once you start seeing blues and greens, those pretty colours on your SS will become quite addictive.

I wanted to say that with Lev and Lantus, you usually get a warning that the numbers are going to start coming down. Whenever you change the dose, you will not usually, see thefull effect of it for a few cycles, the effect of the dose builds slowly as the depot grows and stabilises. Both dosing methods, give you enough time to assess the dose before you change, and in the begining you will have a lot of support from a lot of folk, the Lantus and Lev forum is very active. The depot is really going to be your friend, and you will grow to love it once you can wrap your head round it. It is what contributes to those flat curves that Lantus and especially Lev are so renowned for. Enlisting your DH will be very useful, it will give you peace of mind when you are out of work (I was the main CG/ but DH did his bit too), I would try to get him trained up asap, be ready for Smudge to behave differently for him, George sits calmly across my lap when I test him, but gets up to all sorts of shenanigans when it's someone else:rolleyes:.
 
Last edited:
Thanks for the responses and it does sound like I'm going to discuss with my vet that I feel comfortable with and want to start dosing at her current 3U. I think everything works better if my vet is on-board, but I do want the numbers down ASAP.

I've re-read the posting about the two protocols so many times my eyes are bleeding and it has blurred, but it looks like the TR increases every 3-5 days, and the SLGS is hold 6, do test curve, and adjust. Both hold the initial dose for a longer time. TR basically does mini-curves every day, and SLGS only does a curve once a week. The adjustment levels look different as well, but am I missing other key points of variance between the two?

I can try to see if hubby can get a test on her, but I'm not holding out hope yet. She already sometimes has small fits with me sometimes and I'm her person.

I'm assuming right now I'll have to start with the slow method, grab extra tests at night when I get up (most likely a +3, +6, +8) and gather lots of advice from ya'll here about how to proceed.
 
TR basically does mini-curves every day,
Not quite. It is recommended the first few cycles you test more frequently, so you can get an idea how they will respond to the Levemir (or Lantus). Which is why it's good to switch on a weekend or other couple days you can monitor more. After that you need to get the preshot test, plus at least one other each cycle, so a minimum of 4 tests a day. Also, if you end of continuing to have really high numbers (all above 300) and are able to get sufficient tests in, and post here regularly, we may help you fast track the increases to get Smudge to a better dose faster. The rest you have right as the differences between TR and SLGS. The length of time a dose is held is different, as is the point at which you reduce the dose, as well as when you hold the dose. TR also requires all low carb wet or raw food. Like Gill, I also followed TR - I didn't like seeing Neko linger in ugly numbers, neither did she.
 
So my vet is on board with me starting at 3U. Some of her concerns stem from never having a cat on higher than 2U dosage, so from that point of view I understand her hesitancy. Short of some unkown other issue, everyone is in agreement that 3U isn't too high since she currently is running such high numbers in the black....right?

Is starting the new insulin as easy as starting with the next dose? ProZinc is in/out, so I shouldn't have to taper down or skip a dose first right?

Also, someone mentioned possible bad effects from the switch, what would those be or symptoms of those be?

Forewarned is forearmed in my world.

Thanks again.
 
Agreed, I think 3 units is in fact too low, but OK if we can get the data to get increasing faster afterwards.

Yes, Prozinc one cycle, Levemir the next. Which cycle are you thinking of doing it? We'll see if we can find someone to keep an eye on you then.

As for bad effects, there shouldn't be any. Some cats react strongly, by which I mean get some good numbers which are unexpected. Take a look at the link to Jack's SS I posted above. Nothing but reds and pinks on Prozinc, suddenly saw some greens. But he also switched at 6.5 units and wasn't seeing blacks, so I think you'll be plenty safe. Plus you didn't see any reaction when you went from Vetsulin to Prozinc. It's the change in insulin, not a particular insulin some cats react to.
 
So my vet is on board with me starting at 3U.
So pleased, it must be a relief for you.

Some of her concerns stem from never having a cat on higher than 2U dosage


This made me giggle, she should take a look at some of the ACRO or IAA kitty SS, we've seen cats on 60units of lantus


3U isn't too high since she currently is running such high numbers in the black....right?
Correct, I think the general consensus is that you may need to go significantly higher. But you/we can deal with that once you switch. With TR (if you ditch all the dry) we can help you safely fast track smudge within the guidelines to get into better numbers, his SS has been ugly for too long.

Is starting the new insulin as easy as starting with the next dose? ProZinc is in/out, so I shouldn't have to taper down or skip a dose first right?


Correct just decide on a timing that will allow you to monitor closely just in case Smudge has an initial strong reaction to the switch, giving you a lower than normal cycle.

Also, someone mentioned possible bad effects from the switch, what would those be or symptoms of those be?
I'm not sure there is anything in particular you should be worrying about with Lev, Lantus is acidic and it can make some cats flinch when they are dosed, but not the case with Lev
 
I'll pick up the Rx today, and try to get it filled tomorrow. My hope is to start Saturday morning so I can obsessively observe her all this weekend. That of course depends on if I can get my hands on the insulin.

Would it be better to start a new thread for support/handholding this weekend or just update the subject on this one?
 
Have you thought about increasing the Prozinc to 3.5 units in the meantime. We gotta see if we can get her numbers to move. Poor thing.

I would start a new thread for each new day, which is the general guidelines we do here due to the number of kitties here. And you can include a link to this post so people have the background, should they want to read it.
 
I'm bumped her to 3.25 a few days ago, and was going to up it to 3.5 tonight. I saw slightly lower numbers this morning, but hesitate to hope that something might be happening....don't want false hopes.
 
As soon as I get home, will do. Haven't been able to pull any mid cycle numbers though, so it's only ps data.
 
So my vet is on board with me starting at 3U. Some of her concerns stem from never having a cat on higher than 2U dosage, so from that point of view I understand her hesitancy
Glad to hear she is listening to you and willing to venture into the uncharted territory of your kittys FD with you.
 
Looks like due to other issues I'll be home tomorrow (Friday) so I can start her on Levemir then. Upped her prozinc to 3.5 for her AMPS, and +6 was 380 and +9 was 619 so bouncing I'm guessing.

A 3.5U dose dropping her into the 300s doesn't affect our Levemir dose I'm guessing, just because it's still so much higher than hypo levels. Will proceed tomorrow with Levemir. Also pulled some numbers last night since I was up for other issues with other pets.
 
Great!

Time to get in the 1 thread per day groove ( which will help us best help you) :cool:
  • Please use one thread for all your comments and questions you have that day This will keep all pertaining to your cat in one place everyday.
  • Start your thread with the date, kitty's name, and AMPS
  • Your thread will be bumped to the top of the list when you or anyone else posts on your thread.
Good luck with the switch!
 
Back
Top