Ville
Member Since 2018
So, I wrote a couple of days ago about there being virtually no response to Lantus (1 unit at first, then increased to 2 units by the vet in the beginning of July) and Sulo's blood glucose test results at home were just in Red or Purple. Things have certainly improved!
Timeline
Sunday 7/15: Despair, high blood glucose all day, steadily rising from AMPS onwards, getting almost to 500 (at 27.4 mmol/l) at +10.
Monday 7/16: Purple at AMPS, rising to Red. I went to buy Natures:Menu wet food (high in protein, low on carbohydrates and fibre, no wheat gluten) during the day and took Royal Canin 'diabetic' foods (wet and dry) away. Couldn't test in the evening but did one when I got back home at PMPS +3. Finally below 20 mmol/l.
Tuesday 7/17: AMPS 302 (16.8), but steady decrease in blood glucose levels after that. Home test hitting Blue already from +6 onwards, and now Yellow again at PMPS. Still going to do more later.
Sulo was at the vet today, they did very extensive blood and urine tests and ultrasound. No sign of infections, inflammation, or anything else so far, though we're still waiting for some tests that will be done at an external lab - I'll know more in a couple of days. And, most importantly, despite the stess at the vet, his blood glucose test showed him going as low as just above 8 mmol/l. The clinic will share a copy of the test results with us later.
I really don't know how to interpret all this with the little data I've managed to collect thus far. This might just be a random good day, but it does certainly give us hope! Dose is still kept at 2 units, for now. Tomorrow we've got to move Sulo to my parents during the day because of a minor pesticide operation in our flat and despite the cat being familiar with the place and liking his time there (and behaving like the saint we know he isn't!), even a short travel generally stresses him out. We'll see what that does to his promising curve.
Can a change in diet really make such a difference in such a short time? Anything I should be specifically concerned about at this point?
Timeline
Sunday 7/15: Despair, high blood glucose all day, steadily rising from AMPS onwards, getting almost to 500 (at 27.4 mmol/l) at +10.
Monday 7/16: Purple at AMPS, rising to Red. I went to buy Natures:Menu wet food (high in protein, low on carbohydrates and fibre, no wheat gluten) during the day and took Royal Canin 'diabetic' foods (wet and dry) away. Couldn't test in the evening but did one when I got back home at PMPS +3. Finally below 20 mmol/l.
Tuesday 7/17: AMPS 302 (16.8), but steady decrease in blood glucose levels after that. Home test hitting Blue already from +6 onwards, and now Yellow again at PMPS. Still going to do more later.
Sulo was at the vet today, they did very extensive blood and urine tests and ultrasound. No sign of infections, inflammation, or anything else so far, though we're still waiting for some tests that will be done at an external lab - I'll know more in a couple of days. And, most importantly, despite the stess at the vet, his blood glucose test showed him going as low as just above 8 mmol/l. The clinic will share a copy of the test results with us later.
I really don't know how to interpret all this with the little data I've managed to collect thus far. This might just be a random good day, but it does certainly give us hope! Dose is still kept at 2 units, for now. Tomorrow we've got to move Sulo to my parents during the day because of a minor pesticide operation in our flat and despite the cat being familiar with the place and liking his time there (and behaving like the saint we know he isn't!), even a short travel generally stresses him out. We'll see what that does to his promising curve.
Can a change in diet really make such a difference in such a short time? Anything I should be specifically concerned about at this point?

