*Update* Rupert's ProZinc ups and downs

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kenai_21

Member Since 2017
Can some one look at Rupert's ss? And see if he's got too high of a dose that is making his sugars all over the place. He doesn't get any treats, both he and his brother eat Fancy Feast Classic Paté. Our dog eats in my daughter's room and her food is in a air tight food container. Also Lucy our dog has food agression towards Rupert only. We shut her in my daughter's room.
 
Hard to decipher but it looks like 2.5 u is a little too low and 3 u a little too high. I suggest trying 2.75 u for at least 3 cycles. There’s a lot of volatility too but that might be the kitty’s nature.
 
I agree. It looks like you may have missed that ideal dose...I'd try 2.75 as well. And I'd make sure to stick with it for a bit (unless you get a number too low of course!) because I feel like Rupert may take some time to settle in to a dose. I could be wrong on that...it is hard to tell for sure what's going on, but that's kind of the sense I get.
 
My vet said Rupert may be the kind of kitty that is insulin resistant. I will double check with her again. Let her see the new spread sheets as well.... So she also knows what his sugars have been like. She wanted me to start him off at 4u. I said oh no not with a new insulin started on a lower dose.
 
I am using U-40 1/2ml 29 G x 1/2"
I want to get some that will allow me to get a accurate dosage for 2.75. Which needles will I need? View attachment 33715
Your best bet for being able to get small fraction dosing increments is to buy U100 insulin syringes that have half unit marks and use them with this conversion chart. Many of us that use or have used U40 insulin resorted to that.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/insulin-conversions.htm

You would buy U1oo syringes with a total capacity of 0.3 cc (mL) that have half unit marks. The gauge and length of needle is your preference. Many US folks order online from https://www.adwdiabetes.com/ or buy the ReliOn brand from Walmart. Sometimes they have a hard time convincing Walmart staff that U100s with half unit marks actually exist. ;)
 
Kris and Rachel - Thanks so much! I was also thinking that he is a kitty who takes a long time to clear the high flats, and has been increased too quickly. It's so tough though because when they stay up there for awhile it looks like they're stuck and need an increase. I think this might be a kitty that needs to hold a dose change for a full week in between though.

So say 2.75 for a week-ish....but if he goes low during that time it may change things. And if he goes higher than his normal numbers we'll need to reconsider as well. It's going to take some experimenting.

As for syringes, you can get u100 syringes 3/10mL 8mm from wal-mart for around $12 https://www.walmart.com/ip/Relion-31g-0-3cc/132388525. If you choose to go that route, you MUST use the conversion chart which can be alittle confusing at first, so make sure you understand it and play around a little before you start injecting that way.

Conversion Chart
 
I was also thinking that he is a kitty who takes a long time to clear the high flats, and has been increased too quickly. It's so tough though because when they stay up there for awhile it looks like they're stuck and need an increase. I think this might be a kitty that needs to hold a dose change for a full week in between though.
Yes, this is exactly the way Teasel is. I have to change doses by very tiny increments and have to hold them quite a long time to see their effect. He'll also go high and flat and linger there.
 
Sunday 1-21-18
Rupert's Amps 134, reduced his dose to 2.25 from 2.75, ate his normal Fancy Feast Classic Pate
+2 163
+4 187.
Going to keep a eye on him check him every 2 hours .
 
Can I use these needles I already have from his previous 2 insulins he was on?
 

Attachments

  • 20180121_130056.jpg
    20180121_130056.jpg
    41.4 KB · Views: 162
Yes, as long as you use this conversion chart and are very careful

http://www.felinediabetes.com/insulin-conversions.htm

It's recommended to keep the syringes in completely different parts of the house so you can't accidently grab the wrong one in a sleepy morning pre-:coffee: fog. :)

So for today's dose of 2.25, the closest you can do is either 2.2 or 2.4u. Using the u100's, and assuming you want to round down to the 2.2u dose, you would have drawn the insulin to the 5.5 line.
 
Your best bet for being able to get small fraction dosing increments is to buy U100 insulin syringes that have half unit marks and use them with this conversion chart. Many of us that use or have used U40 insulin resorted to that.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/insulin-conversions.htm

You would buy U1oo syringes with a total capacity of 0.3 cc (mL) that have half unit marks. The gauge and length of needle is your preference. Many US folks order online from https://www.adwdiabetes.com/ or buy the ReliOn brand from Walmart. Sometimes they have a hard time convincing Walmart staff that U100s with half unit marks actually exist. ;)
Is using U-100 syringes in place of U-40's for convenience or better accuracy (more dilution) when using conversion chart?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top