cabreu
Member
It's been a while since I've logged in, and also since I've stopped recording Willow's BG. It's so stable! Since returning to work, I've only been checking it before each shot, and it's always in the 100-130 range. I had slowly reduced to 2 units (down from around 8 at the start of cabergoline).
We had to go out of town and couldn't find a sitter who could do shots, so for 3 days, Willow only got cabergoline, but no insulin. I figured her BG would spike to at least >200. But when I got home it was 112! Checked again with a bigger drop of blood and got 127. That was last night, and I didn't give her insulin, and this morning she was at 130. Checked this evening, and she was at 115. I am going to see how far this goes, but I think we're past the depot stage, right?
Other than that, Willow seems good. Vet said she has a slightly enlarged heart, but I never did the echocardiogram. She hates going to the vet so much! But her teeth are in bad shape, and I am not sure whether to risk putting her under for a cleaning/extraction. Is the echocardiogram going to tell me anything useful? I assume they'll have to put her under for that too, and even if it's not as bad as the dental anesthetics, I don't want to put her through anything unnecessary. I'm a little worried that if we do the teeth cleaning, she won't wake up. Any advice appreciated, and thanks to everyone (especially Wendy) for getting Willow here!
We had to go out of town and couldn't find a sitter who could do shots, so for 3 days, Willow only got cabergoline, but no insulin. I figured her BG would spike to at least >200. But when I got home it was 112! Checked again with a bigger drop of blood and got 127. That was last night, and I didn't give her insulin, and this morning she was at 130. Checked this evening, and she was at 115. I am going to see how far this goes, but I think we're past the depot stage, right?
Other than that, Willow seems good. Vet said she has a slightly enlarged heart, but I never did the echocardiogram. She hates going to the vet so much! But her teeth are in bad shape, and I am not sure whether to risk putting her under for a cleaning/extraction. Is the echocardiogram going to tell me anything useful? I assume they'll have to put her under for that too, and even if it's not as bad as the dental anesthetics, I don't want to put her through anything unnecessary. I'm a little worried that if we do the teeth cleaning, she won't wake up. Any advice appreciated, and thanks to everyone (especially Wendy) for getting Willow here!