update on Toby

Status
Not open for further replies.

Peg and Toby

Member Since 2014
Gave Toby The 4 units this Morning. He Started out at 428 and at +6 he is now at 162. He acts like he feels better today but,
is not eating as good. So does this mean he will drop a lot lower tomorrow. Haven't got through the day yet. His hind legs were
getting weak. they seem a little better today. Gave a vitamin b 12 shot today 2hrs. later when I went to test for ketones his urine was reddish colored. Hope it was just the shot. Going to the vet. at 4 pm today to have him checked out. Want to get
fluids for him if he needs them. Will monitor bg through out the day. Peg and Toby
 
Hi Peg,

Glad you are taking Toby in. Hope the vet will give you some fluids, and some advice on the dose. Now that he is at 4 units, you don't want to drop the dose. Just watch him closely for big drops. Do you have some canned food with gravy on hand? And you will want some Karo syrup (alternative honey) to use if he drops under 40. You just rub it on his gums.

Levemir has a later onset than the Lantus that is usually dosed in Tight Regulation. So you are correct to be watching for an additional drop from the dose you gave recently. Onset for Levemir is 4-6 hours after dose on a full shed, peak (nadir) can be as late as +12. It is very gentle and very flat, quite different from the Lantus onset of 3-4 and peak (nadir) of 6-8.

I know, I know, just too much information. But, it kind of helps to know the differences in the insulins and how they work. After 38 years of being on shots, I've used about every insulin ever made (except BCP PZI). BCP PZI is for cats, not humans.

Take care, Peg

Claudia
 
good luck at the vet today Peg. it's good that you are taking him in. better to be safe. i hope all goes well .
Take care
Nadine
 
I for one highly disagree with the dosing advice given by Sienne. 4u is too damn high of a dose when starting with Levemir. As shown by the first shot at that dose dropping him over 300pts in 6 hours. But now that its shot just keep an eye on him because his nadir could still be another 4-6 hours away.

Its one thing to basethe starting dose off the previous dose of a different insulin if you are comparing apples to apples not when comparing apples to oranges.


Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Went to the vet. Toby has a uti his ketones are trace. He wasn't dehyrated The vet said I kept his fluids up. She did give subQ
fluids to help with the ketones. Electrolytes were okay too. This dose may be too much doesn't uti's raise bg? Thought I read infection causes bg to to rise. Vet. didn't know anything about this insulin. Now I am nervous because if today's dose hasn't worked yet Then I will be in trouble tomorrow. Don't know what to do tonight? Wish us luck , Peg and Toby
 
Went to the vet. Toby has a uti his ketones are trace. He wasn't dehyrated The vet said I kept his fluids up. She did give subQ
fluids to help with the ketones. Electrolytes were okay too. This dose may be too much doesn't uti's raise bg? Thought I read infection causes bg to to rise. Vet. didn't know anything about this insulin. Now I am nervous because if today's dose hasn't worked yet Then I will be in trouble tomorrow. Don't know what to do tonight? Wish us luck , Peg and Toby
 
hi Peg
it looks like you monitor every few hours normally so i would just suggest as was said by someone else to have some karo syrup & honey & food with gravy on hand in case he goes too low. do you know what to do for hypos?

here's the link for hypos

viewtopic.php?f=28&t=15887


nadine
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top