I think what I have digested from reading SLGS is you hold the reduced dose for at least a few days, preferably one week if the reduction was earned. There is an article about dealing with low numbers. You might read that again to sooth your anxiety as I am certain you have some.Update:
I did reduce Spy Kitty's dose by 0.25U as recommended (from 2.75U to 2.5U) for his Sat 07/10 PM shot. His numbers yesterday Sun 07/11 were all good, in the 100's. This morning (6:30 a.m. CDT) his AMPS number was 82. I opted to feed him and wait and test again in 2 hours (8:30 a.m.) which I did. His number then was 91. I don't know what to do in terms of what dose to shoot. It seems like 2.5U will send his blood glucose too low? Am I over-reacting again?
He is now at 80% wet and 20% dry + treats. His water intake is down. It had been 11 ounces per day (for 5 days in a row that I measured it) and for the past couple of days it has been 7-8 oz.

You're absolutely not overreacting, you're doing exactly what you should do and keeping Spy safe. You don't have the data yet to support shooting that low and with the food transition caution is warranted.His number then was 91. I don't know what to do in terms of what dose to shoot. It seems like 2.5U will send his blood glucose too low? Am I over-reacting again?
@Shelley & Jess - With SLGS, you typically hold the dose for a week (providing numbers don't drop into dose reduction territory). You want to then do a curve and make a decision whether the dose needs to be increased. The dose is held more than a few days. If you're referring to the post on dealing with low numbers that's on the Lantus board, it's primarily geared to Lantus/Basaglar/Levemir. The information can be adapted to Prozinc but the depot insulins act differently than Prozinc.
No dry food is allowed when following Prozinc MPM dosing method, so until fully transitioned you'll need to stick with SLGS which means anytime the BG drops below 90, whether it's mid-cycle or at pre-shot Spy Kitty earns a reduction.I am just now reading about the tight regulation protocol. Do you have an opinion on that method?
Nice numbers! Yes, with SLGS he would earn another reduction any time he goes below 90. So you have been reducing it correctly and will want to go down to 1.75 tonight.So the AMPS of 82 yesterday (07/12) warranted a reduction to 2.25U which I did for the PM shot. Several PM tests last night were under 90, the lowest being 60, so I reduced the dose to 2.0U this morning. Was that the right thing to do?
With an AM dose of 2.0U Spy Kitty has several readings under 90 today. Do I reduce again tonight to 1.75U? @Shelly & Jess @Sienne and Gabby (GA)
That’s great! Sometimes once they hit a breakthrough dose they start earning those reductions quite quickly.Thanks @Hshray. I am ecstatic about his recent numbers! This will be his fourth reduction in four days. I just wanted to make sure that there was not a "rule" about "no more than so many reductions within a certain time frame". It just seems too good to be true.
No, he did not have any dry food yesterday or today.Did he end up having any dry food yesterday? Any today? Depending on the status of the dry transition and what the PMPS number is we might look at a little larger reduction.
**Anti-Jinx** Anti-Jinx**Anti-Jinx**It just seems too good to be true.
No, no rule, take those reductions, the numbers will tell us if he doesn't hold the reduction and you can increase again if needed.I just wanted to make sure that there was not a "rule" about "no more than so many reductions within a certain time frame"
**Anti-Jinx** Anti-Jinx**Anti-Jinx**![]()
No, no rule, take those reductions, the numbers will tell us if he doesn't hold the reduction and you can increase again if needed.
You're doing an awesome job getting those tests in! Earlier I was looking at that 35% drop from AMPS to +2. Doesn't look like he got any food bump and we 'usually' don't see that much of a drop at +2 during a 'normal' cycle with Prozinc, but ECID (every cat is different) - with the food transition just something to keep an eye on.
yesDid you stall without feeding?
Post the next test, we'll see what kind of rise he's got going and decide if/what to shoot from there.
The blues last night were probably a bounce from that run of greens.
Yes please. Still no food? If he's green I'd skip.
Post the next test, we'll see what kind of rise he's got going and decide if/what to shoot from there.
The blues last night were probably a bounce from that run of greens.
Not much of a rise in an hour. I'm not comfortable telling you to shoot anything because of the rapid changes in his numbers since removing the dry.
You could feed and test in an hour see what kind of food bump he gets. He handled the last NS really well - got back on track the next cycle.
Post the number, we'll see where he's at.
I'd skip, get back on track and schedule tonight if needed.![]()
Feed him (he's probably 'starving'!) and grab a test in 3 to 4 hours, might give us an idea if/how much his pancreas is kicking in. If the number is lower his pancreas is working.
Feed him (he's probably 'starving'!) and grab a test in 3 to 4 hours, might give us an idea if/how much his pancreas is kicking in. If the number is lower his pancreas is working.
Yes, let's keep stepping down the dose if he's high enough to shoot and you're around and can stay up to test. (I know some nights I just couldn't do it and reduced the dose a bit more because I needed sleep).Do I shoot 1.5U for his PM shot?
Yes, let's keep stepping down the dose if he's high enough to shoot and you're around and can stay up to test. (I know some nights I just couldn't do it and reduced the dose a bit more because I needed sleep).
He hasn't shown you any lime greens yet, close, but not quite. Do you have your hypo kit stocked? Want to make sure you're ready for them if he does decide to go there. I've seen the full effect of removing all dry take anywhere from a few days to a week or more. We don't know where he's finally going to land with the food transition yet. It's a balancing act for you right now, and it doesn't make it easy, keeping him in good numbers while waiting to see what the full effect of removing the dry does.

Just seeing this. He's probably going low and why he's seeking food. Get a test now please. You might need to give him some higher carbs.
Tsp of HC food. and test again in 20 minutes