Georgia and Simon (GA)
Very Active Member
I was finally able to test Simon's bg for the very first time at 5:30 tonight (watching some of the videos on you tube about glucose testing really helped!). Simon's bg is only registering 53. When he was at the vet's on Tues. the lowest it registered was 284. I have fed him his canned food and am waiting for about an hour to recheck. The vet told me to give him 4 units of Lantus 2x/day but I am pretty sure I shouldn't give him that amount since his bg was so low. Should I be concerned that his bg is so low? If it goes up when I re-check should I skip this dose of insulin or give him a reduced amount? I am so confused and scared I am going to do the wrong thing. I did a control check on the glucometer and it is in range. Should I call the vet to ask her about this? She was not very supportive of me testing at home because she feels that the results can be wrong. Thank you for your help! Georgia and Simon