Update on Scout/Question...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kristin & Scout

Member Since 2015
alright! so it's been a busy week for me, but Scout had his dental last Wednesday (8/19) and everything went smoothly and came back great and his numbers have been good (for the most part). He has been in a noticeably better mood, but I've noticed recently he has been "throwing up" (more like gagging) greenish/yellowish bile midday maybe every other day or so, but enough for me to be concerned. I can hear him struggling to get it out and there is usually little to absolutely no hair in it, so I'm thinking it's not a hairball? He is very considerate about it though and always does it on the hardwood floor (never the carpet!) Is this normal? He rarely ever barfs up his food after eating.
 
Are you meal feeding or mini-meal feeding? Maybe he gets too hungry?
Or, maybe he has an acid stomach and could use 1/4 tablet of Pepcid AC (discuss with vet).
 
Maybe try freezing 1/3 of each meal and put it out at the same time as the meal, to be eaten when thawed, so he doesn't get too hungry at any point.
Or get a timed feeder.
 
Hey Kristen. Just an observation but I see that you are shooting some pretty low numbers. I am wondering if you could possibly get some mid-cycle tests. I am thinking he may be getting too low. One example would be on 8/12. It was a low AMPS (104) and then he went up to 507 at PMPS time. Typically, we don't shoot below 200 until we get some data. If you want to shoot under 200, it would be good to get some mid-cycle tests (+5-+7), to see what his nadir is. Those black colors may be due to bouncing after getting some low numbers.
 
what exactly is bouncing and why does it happen? i am a little confused as to why its getting so high even with insulin... i feel like it should be that high if i skip the shot completely
 
Hi Kristen!! Hi Scout!! ( you cutie!!)

Just wondering.. Did you get an answer to the above post at all?
Don't want to be redundant, if you already got an answer elsewhere.
 
no I didn't!

but I did learn that scout might even be transient (apparently different than going into remission)? as in that he might have been "fake diagnosed"? he was given a steroid shot last November and depending on how long it takes for the steroids to leave his body, he might not have permanent diabetes? he started insulin in May. does this info sound right? I'm praying this is the case, but it sounds too good to be true haha
 
Thanks for bumping that up, Brenda. I sure missed it. Kirsten, we think of bouncing as "liver training". When his body perceives a lower number than it is used to (it could be a green or if a cat has been sitting in 400s and suddenly gets a 250) it panics and releases extra sugar. That raises the levels more than we would expect - so a bounce up. Some cats experience a bounce a couple hours after a lower number; some have a higher flatter cycle the next cycle. It varies. Cats bounce until they stop - until their body gets used to lower ranges and stops panicking and releasing that extra sugar. For some cats, that's just a few weeks. We had a cat on Lantus that bounced for 2 years (I think that's the record) until she finally settled in. We have several spreadsheets on the forum right now that illustrate bouncing. I think Brenda's Tucket bounced for several weeks before he finally settled in.
 
okay so I should hold off shooting if he's under 200? maybe that's the problem. I just panic thinking about how high his numbers would be in 12 hrs!

and does anyone know how long it could possibly take for the steroids to leave his system?
 
also, the other night I wasn't able to be home in time for his PM shot/feeding so I asked my boyfriend to stop by to do it for me. imagine my heart attack nightmare the next morning when I find the empty cans and realize that he had fed Scout a can and a half of food (about 4-5 oz) from my emergency HIGH CARB stash that was hidden in a separate cupboard. luckily and weirdly, Scout's numbers were only about 140 in the morning. does anyone have an explanation for this?
 
also, the other night I wasn't able to be home in time for his PM shot/feeding so I asked my boyfriend to stop by to do it for me. imagine my heart attack nightmare the next morning when I find the empty cans and realize that he had fed Scout a can and a half of food (about 4-5 oz) from my emergency HIGH CARB stash that was hidden in a separate cupboard. luckily and weirdly, Scout's numbers were only about 140 in the morning. does anyone have an explanation for this?
That is interesting. Not sure why. Maybe because you had recently increased to 1.5 and got low preshots.

As far as shooting under 200, if you can be around, it can be okay to shoot in the 180 range. Not with a new dose or when you have to leave. Just be sure he is rising, not still falling and shoot a smidge less than the dose before. Many beans shoot in the 180 range, after they have the data and are confident.
 
Oh awesome. You got the best possible advice and info from the best possible bean!
Good luck Scout!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top