Astra&Purrfect
Member Since 2016
Hello, everybody!
It’s been a long time since I posted. A family member’s health (heart attack) rather distracted me away but I would like to thank the contributors on the forum once again who replied to me earlier in the year. I’d also like to give you an update about Purrfect:
Purrfect's dose has been gradually increased to 3u of ProZinc 2/day since the end of June. His pre-shot numbers are still very high in the 400s but we managed to get him down to a 280s number at nadir in July and August.
After a couple of duff strips a couple of weeks ago which prevented us seeing his nadir, we did another test today and were alarmed to see that his nadir level (474) is higher than his pre-shot level (432).
This is terribly worrying.
Do you think he’s got a Somogyi rebound? Or could something else cause these flat numbers? Lately, we’ve reduced his feeds 6 hours post-shot to try to lower his levels. He has drunk less since.
He seems fine with a good appetite, no fever and he’s not even drinking a lot which is weird with those high glucose levels. I’ve done a Ketodiastix strip and he has no cetones and “medium” level of glucose in urine (450 mg/dl).
What shall we do? Retest him later pre-shot and give him the same dose or less?
I’d be so grateful for your advice. Thank you.
Astra and Purrfect.
