Update on PHOEBES vet visit

Status
Not open for further replies.

Phoebes (GA)

Member Since 2017
Hopefully something fixable is happening with Phoebe. I woke at 3am, she was pacing at the bed. I checked the timed food, one compartment was half eaten the other untouched. I gave her a 1/4 of a ff, she acted like she didn't know what to do with the compartment food. She ate it and before I could go get the cerenia, puked that back up. Took her bg before I fed her, it was 310, after cerenia and bupe it was 374 not even an hour later. I gave meds an hour and gave her 1/4 more of ff. She ate it. Then I went BTB. Hubby got up at 600, her bg was over 400. She ate ok. Only a 1/3 of can. Her amps is going to be food influenced. How and what do I tell my vet to listen to me about this, what points do I make? I know I need to sound like I know what I am talking about, but I am so scared it's something not fixable. So I am a blubbering mess at the moment. Please help me to form some semblance of a case for Phoebe.
 
Angela--

I'm so sorry. I don't know what the best avenue of discussion with your vet about Phoebe's FD treatment might be-- the folks you have tagged might have some good suggestions for discussing some of the less-commonly understood aspects of FD (high dose conditions etc).

I'm going to suggest a different option, the "chicken out" one. In this option, you go to your vet to get a workup on all the non-FD issues that might be going on with her, to make sure you are addressing everything you can that might be affecting her overall health. When you discuss the FD aspects, bring up the possibility of increasing the dose, see what your vet says. Keep everything civil and non-confrontational, but if she disagrees with you, well, you can always just nod your head at her dosing suggestions, and go your own way to deal with that. It's not the ideal-- you'd always prefer to be on the same page with your vet, especially since you currently have a good relationship with her-- but the bottom line is, Phoebe needs the treatment she needs, however you get to that treatment.

When is the vet appointment?
 
Angela--

I'm so sorry. I don't know what the best avenue of discussion with your vet about Phoebe's FD treatment might be-- the folks you have tagged might have some good suggestions for discussing some of the less-commonly understood aspects of FD (high dose conditions etc).

I'm going to suggest a different option, the "chicken out" one. In this option, you go to your vet to get a workup on all the non-FD issues that might be going on with her, to make sure you are addressing everything you can that might be affecting her overall health. When you discuss the FD aspects, bring up the possibility of increasing the dose, see what your vet says. Keep everything civil and non-confrontational, but if she disagrees with you, well, you can always just nod your head at her dosing suggestions, and go your own way to deal with that. It's not the ideal-- you'd always prefer to be on the same page with your vet, especially since you currently have a good relationship with her-- but the bottom line is, Phoebe needs the treatment she needs, however you get to that treatment.

When is the vet appointment?
It's at 345 pm today it's 1000 am now
 
*My thoughts only* Just from reading that situation, it sounds like she got hungry but then nausea or IBD acted up on her? Her AMPS looks fine, to me, even with it being food influenced. Vet will probably suggest an increase, if you decide to do it, I think continuing by 0.25U is still a good idea. Sorry I don't have any personal experience with most of Phoebe's health. I did have a cat that would pace sometimes before they threw up, especially when he got older. Hopefully, some of the more veteran members will chime in. Wish I could help more :(

Regardless, give us an update :bighug:
 
Angela--

I'm so sorry. I don't know what the best avenue of discussion with your vet about Phoebe's FD treatment might be-- the folks you have tagged might have some good suggestions for discussing some of the less-commonly understood aspects of FD (high dose conditions etc).

I'm going to suggest a different option, the "chicken out" one. In this option, you go to your vet to get a workup on all the non-FD issues that might be going on with her, to make sure you are addressing everything you can that might be affecting her overall health. When you discuss the FD aspects, bring up the possibility of increasing the dose, see what your vet says. Keep everything civil and non-confrontational, but if she disagrees with you, well, you can always just nod your head at her dosing suggestions, and go your own way to deal with that. It's not the ideal-- you'd always prefer to be on the same page with your vet, especially since you currently have a good relationship with her-- but the bottom line is, Phoebe needs the treatment she needs, however you get to that treatment.

When is the vet appointment?

Thank @Nan & Amber don't take this wrong but I feel like you are Phoebe and i's adopted mother. You have been here since day 1. :) ty for that. I like your approach, which it might be the way it will have to be. I will not be going back down in dosage, I know that much. DH and I both discussed that part of it. He trusts you guys too. I do not want to stop seeing her this far in the game, good lord we would have to start over with multiple issues. I definitely want her working with us. Can they deny you your pet treatment if I were to dose her above "her" comfort level?
 
*My thoughts only* Just from reading that situation, it sounds like she got hungry but then nausea or IBD acted up on her? Her AMPS looks fine, to me, even with it being food influenced. Vet will probably suggest an increase, if you decide to do it, I think continuing by 0.25U is still a good idea. Sorry I don't have any personal experience with most of Phoebe's health. I did have a cat that would pace sometimes before they threw up, especially when he got older. Hopefully, some of the more veteran members will chime in. Wish I could help more :(

Regardless, give us an update :bighug:
Thank you for your thoughts. I know now that I am getting up to 5 units by TR protocol I can increase by .5 units. Depending on any other "issues" I plan to advance by that. I know what ya mean, but this is different. Her confusion, her hesitation, staring off at nothing, getting startled like she didn't even know you are standing next to her. My husband took on 2 FIV cats in Britain before he came here and one of them went blind. Mr. Ben Bumbs, acted the same before he lost his sight.
 

Attachments

  • 20170329_121640.jpg
    20170329_121640.jpg
    58.8 KB · Views: 72
I am hoping for good news out of this vet visit-- simple and fixable. You and Phoebe deserve a break after all you have been through, you have done so much for her.
 
Sorry I just got this tag. I would go into the vet with the attitude that you want a diagnosis so you know how to treat to make her feel better. Treating the symptoms is just not enough. Treatment so far is not making her better, so you need to get to the root cause. :bighug: You need to work together as a team to figure out what is happening. If your vet feels Phoebe is beyond her capabilities, would she recommend an internal medicine vet? Although I was annoyed at my vet when she did so, at one point she threw up her hands and sent us off for an IM vet consult - and it was the best thing for us.

I don't know how recent Phoebe's latest bloodwork is, or whether she's had a GI panel, but that might also prove interesting. She may have high dose conditions, and getting the IGF-1 and IAA tests done as part of bloodwork can rule that in or out. And the answer there will help when you talk about dosing. When was her last ultrasound?

Regarding her eyes, do they ever go down to slit size in brighter light?
 
Any news?
She is treating for uti, and any other infection because she had a temp of 103. I will write a longer response later, but waiting for bloodwork results tomorrow. She had gained 6 ounces which is great. I was just glad she hadn't lost anymore so almost 13 pounds. :) I wrote on my lantus post so people wouldnt worry, should have posted here as well. Ty ty ty. I can at least breathe at the moment, I am exhausted.
 
Forgot to write the update before I posted. Man am I exhausted. Could not find anything obviously wrong, temperature was elevated. She was postured while examined, but always is she goes stone rigid there. Blood panel done along with the fructose test, that might have been unnecessary but it was cheaper to get all in one. We are to continue on our path (by that she really means mine) uping the dose after we clear this infection. To continue the onisor, it did seem to help and will continue to give the cerenia bupe and gabapentin as needed for flareups. If she isn't doing any better by Friday I am to call. Miss Phoebe wouldn't cooperate with a urine sample she emptied before we left. She gave her antibiotic. Than you everyone for your vines and thoughts will tell more tomorrow.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top