update on Ozzie

Status
Not open for further replies.

lauren77

Member Since 2010
Just to update you all on Ozzie and to say from the bottom of my heart a big Thank you for all the help, love and prayers sent for Ozzie to get well. We thought he might be able to come home today but after speaking to the Doctor he feels another day of closely watching his BG with the higher doses is necessary at this crucial stage of phase 2. Neg ketones again but at 7pm he was given 4.5 units of Lantus and slowly his BG rose to the 400's - he then asked the doctor in the evening to give him short acting insulin to bring it down. Everything is okay, eating, alert, drinking and urinating okay. He is going to raise his insulin a little higher to try and keep him down but it's just getting the right dose. He's worried if he goes up into the 400's and is there for a while we all could be back to square 1 with the ketones back again. Any thoughts or help on this would be much appreciated. My laptop is freezing over and over today so hopefully when I get back today from visiting I can come on without any problem. My thanks again to you all -- Ozzie sends a big thank you as well!
 
Still sending healing prayers Ozzie's way....

Lauren, right now while he is stressed and ill and at the vet, he may be needing that much insulin, but 4.5u is getting up there in dosage. So when he is home I encourage you to test before every shot and get some spot checks in mid cycle - around 4-8 hours after the shot for starters. You will need to monitor his BG at home for both highs and lows. This is very important with DKA kitties - they have less margin for error with higher numbers. As your vet said, you don't want him in the 400s and I'd say you want him low 300s or below at his highest and low 100s to upper 10s (70-99 or so) for lows.

My thoughts are that the 4.5u will end up being too much once he is home, relaxed and no longer sick BUT do not lower the dose without the data showing it is too much. There are a lot of people here with experience using lantus and levemir, a similar insulin, that can help you find the right dose.

My concern over the dose is that too much insulin, as well as too little, can cause higher numbers because too much insulin causes something called rebound - a defensive response to either too low numbers, a fast drop, or a lower number then they are used to.
 
Lauren, you might want the vet to check IGF-1 and IAA. Ozzie might be insulin resistant (as is Harley) and really need that much insulin. You will never know without have these tests done.

Pattie
 
Many thanks you guys - I will start to test before and would love to post so I can get help and guidance regarding his dosage. I am a little nervous I might screw ups but hopefully will be very, very aware of how important this BG testing is...
Posted his update and will know more tomorrow when I pick him up....
Many thanks for all your help!
 
Harley and Pattie said:
Lauren, you might want the vet to check IGF-1 and IAA. Ozzie might be insulin resistant (as is Harley) and really need that much insulin. You will never know without have these tests done.

Pattie

Those are the tests for Acromegaly I mentioned in the 911 thread.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top