sbnadell
Member Since 2013
Hi all. It has been a while since I posted an update on Norton. I think the last time I posted we were able to manage his diabetes with food alone and periodic BG home testing. Last August (2014) his BG started to increase, and we started him on Lantus. His vet started him on low doses, initially 1.0 unit once a day, then eventually 1 unit twice a day. Based on his BG tests and drinking habits, we worked with the vet to modify the insulin dosage, but it did not go above 1.5 units for many months (and was at times as low as 0.5 unit). His BG's fluctuated in the mid-100's-mid-200's at shot time and in the low-100's or occasionally below (80-90's) at nadir. He tends to be lower at his evening shot time, so for a number of months we were giving him 1.0 unit in the morning and 0.5 in the evening.
In September 2014 he had a few seizures, not diabetic related, and was diagnosed with primary epilepsy and we started giving him Zonisamide once a day. After a few months we settled on the correct dosage for that, and he has not had a seizure since late November 2014. So that is good.
Back to his diabetes - after many months of stability, in March his BG shot up into the 300's, even at mid day. It did not seem like the Lantus was doing much at all. We started to slowly increase the dosage, working with his vet, eventually up to 3.0 units twice a day in June. We bundled him in his thunder shirt and took him to the vet in May for a Frustosamine, which was 475. We also replaced his insulin with a new bottle in May; the one we were using was ~3 months old. I was out of town for a week in June, so we missed a weekly BG check; when I came back and we tested him his BG was down to 76. We tested him over the following few days and he did not get a shot until his BG was back up over 150 (per discussion with vet) at then at a much lower dose. This was end of June/beg of July. We brought his insulin dose back down, and since then his BG has been up and down, we are on the phone with the vet weekly to discuss his latest BG results and what to do with the insulin. It seems that we cannot get back to a stable dose.
During all of this his weight has stayed fairly stable at ~15.3 lbs, plus or minus a few tenths of a pound. His appetite is a little up and down. He will eat fine for a couple of weeks then decide he doesn't want anything for a meal or two, which means no shot and probably just messes things up further. He has been drinking a lot and urinating more than normal for many weeks as we try to get his insulin dose at a good level. I think we are probably at the point where we need to bundle him up again and take him to the vet so they can check to see if he has a urinary tract infection. We have not been able to work out getting a urine sample from him at home.
Right now we are giving him 1.5 units twice a day. We tested him this weekend after a two week hiatus because I was out of town again. Yesterday morning at shot time his BG was 243. Today at nadir it was 350. He was half asleep this afternoon, so I don't think stress drove his BG up. His insulin bottle is again nearly 3 months old, so I think we should get another, but I don't know if that really makes a difference.
This is very frustrating. After the last time he stopped eating, we could only get him to eat by cutting out the lowest carb portion of his wet food (I was mixing very low carb Fancy Feast chicken classic with Fancy Feast grilled chicken which is ~13% carb), so now he is eating more carbs. But it was the only way to get him to eat. We actually had to even put a little of his rescue high-carb food on top of the FF grilled chicken for a couple of meals. We tried other flavors and brands, but he has no interest in anything else. We also give him a little EVO dry food, but he gets most of his calories from the Fancy Feast.
Sorry for the long post, but there was a lot to catch up on. If anyone has any advice or thoughts, I would appreciate it. I have a call into his vet who will call me back tomorrow. I just wish we could get him to a stable place again.
Thanks-
Shari & Norton
In September 2014 he had a few seizures, not diabetic related, and was diagnosed with primary epilepsy and we started giving him Zonisamide once a day. After a few months we settled on the correct dosage for that, and he has not had a seizure since late November 2014. So that is good.
Back to his diabetes - after many months of stability, in March his BG shot up into the 300's, even at mid day. It did not seem like the Lantus was doing much at all. We started to slowly increase the dosage, working with his vet, eventually up to 3.0 units twice a day in June. We bundled him in his thunder shirt and took him to the vet in May for a Frustosamine, which was 475. We also replaced his insulin with a new bottle in May; the one we were using was ~3 months old. I was out of town for a week in June, so we missed a weekly BG check; when I came back and we tested him his BG was down to 76. We tested him over the following few days and he did not get a shot until his BG was back up over 150 (per discussion with vet) at then at a much lower dose. This was end of June/beg of July. We brought his insulin dose back down, and since then his BG has been up and down, we are on the phone with the vet weekly to discuss his latest BG results and what to do with the insulin. It seems that we cannot get back to a stable dose.
During all of this his weight has stayed fairly stable at ~15.3 lbs, plus or minus a few tenths of a pound. His appetite is a little up and down. He will eat fine for a couple of weeks then decide he doesn't want anything for a meal or two, which means no shot and probably just messes things up further. He has been drinking a lot and urinating more than normal for many weeks as we try to get his insulin dose at a good level. I think we are probably at the point where we need to bundle him up again and take him to the vet so they can check to see if he has a urinary tract infection. We have not been able to work out getting a urine sample from him at home.
Right now we are giving him 1.5 units twice a day. We tested him this weekend after a two week hiatus because I was out of town again. Yesterday morning at shot time his BG was 243. Today at nadir it was 350. He was half asleep this afternoon, so I don't think stress drove his BG up. His insulin bottle is again nearly 3 months old, so I think we should get another, but I don't know if that really makes a difference.
This is very frustrating. After the last time he stopped eating, we could only get him to eat by cutting out the lowest carb portion of his wet food (I was mixing very low carb Fancy Feast chicken classic with Fancy Feast grilled chicken which is ~13% carb), so now he is eating more carbs. But it was the only way to get him to eat. We actually had to even put a little of his rescue high-carb food on top of the FF grilled chicken for a couple of meals. We tried other flavors and brands, but he has no interest in anything else. We also give him a little EVO dry food, but he gets most of his calories from the Fancy Feast.
Sorry for the long post, but there was a lot to catch up on. If anyone has any advice or thoughts, I would appreciate it. I have a call into his vet who will call me back tomorrow. I just wish we could get him to a stable place again.
Thanks-
Shari & Norton
I've actually pulled off a full curve, 6 tests over 12 hrs, with Bat-Bat (my very fractious cat) several times; helped to alternate ears & give lots of scritches under the chin.
with a little water added.