Update on new vet visit

Status
Not open for further replies.

Darlene & Jack

Member Since 2011
Cross posted on here from main board...

So I took Jack to the new vet today and she was just wonderful. In addition to treating diabetic cats, she has had personal experience in having had her own diabetic cat. She did a glucose check, drew blood from the leg and checked it on her pet meter and I had brought mine to check for accuracy. Her reading was 261, and my Relion read 265! I was quite impressed with that. Right before we left for the vet I had checked Jack at home and he was 87. We talked about the different kinds of insulin and she said she usually starts cats on Lantus just because it is easier to obtain, can be filled at any pharmacy and is cheaper. But she said they have 18 vets who work they and they all have different opinions on insulins. She said for now stick with the PZ and if we want to switch in the future we can. I brought the spreadsheet and she was not too concerned with the highs for the pre shot readings, she said she would expect that for now. Her concern more is for the lows. She wants us to stick with the current dose for a few weeks and email her the spreadsheet in 2 weeks, or before if I had questions or concerns. She was pleased with the home testing and said we were doing a great job with that. So overall we really liked her and were very happy with the visit.
Jack on the other hand, was not too happy. He peed in the crate as soon as we got in the car to go home, then seemed so embarrassed. He just put his head down and seemed so sad. Got him home and cleaned him up, gave him some treats and he seems to have forgotten about it now. :-)
 
Hi Darlene, I agree with vet on staying with this dose for awhile....barring any sudden low amps or pmps
and that jump in bg's at the vet's office show's you what stress can do to a diabetic number now huh?
i hope if you do make a change over in insulins....IF YOU DO, not advocating that yet, your vet and you will consider Levemir.
check out my SS and note that before the beginning of this sheet we were one year on pzi getting us nowhere fast...not for tomtom anyway. you can see the sad shape we arrived in...and yet a few months later look at us.
if you want to view his pzi numbers than at the bottom you will see there is a page for the pzi and a page for the lev. just hit the pzi page link.
and in viewing my SS you will come to understand where BOS come in with some of those numbers i shot! :lol:
 
She sounds great, Darlene. It is wonderful to hear about vets who are really current with feline diabetes. So just keep on doing what you are doing - a good plan.
 
To avoid embarrassment from a soiled crate, I suggest putting a small towel in the bottom and taking along a spare in case you need to change. Yoshi always got car sick and I would have to stop halfway to the vet (30 min drive) and change out the towels in his carrier and then change them again at the vet. It kept him more comfortable and happier even tho it was a bit more work for me.

Jack is adorable btw!
 
I do the same as tomtom regularly poo's AND pee's on the way to AND from the vet. Yep. And I keep this important info in the back of my memory banks for times I might think my poor tom is ummm, backed up...constipated :lol: just our own little remedy.
 
The vet sounds great. From being on this forum, I have seen it can be hard to find a good one. So glad you did. Glad Jack is home and happy. Vet trips are necessary, although I'm sure kitties and mama beans alike don't look forward to them.
 
Thanks for the tip about the extra towel. I did have one in the bottom of the carrier, but not a spare.

I am so glad we found this vet, she seems like she will be great to work with. I agree from posts on here and personal experience, that a good vet is hard to find. And I feel better about him going there because they do have the 24 hour hospital as well, so if there is ever any emergency, they already know him. Just a little extra reassurance for mom. :-)
 
PMPS 269 tonight, gave .8 u
50 @ +3.5

Gave him a can of the high carb wet FF with gravy and will keep checking him tonight. I was worried after I gave the .8u that I should have given less, and then we went out. Was worried the whole time he was going to drop too low. Should I have given less? .5 maybe? Not sure what kind of guidelines I should use for giving a lower dose. I know I have read about no shoot if below 200, but wasn't sure what I should do in this situation.
 
hi darlene, i'll be here but i'm sure that HC has taken care of it.
for future reference...a little low or med. carb is the first move...
wash rinse repeat? you don't want to over do it so that you abort the whole cycle.
i'll pm you k.
 
So what are med carb foods? I thought the FF food with gravy was the next step for a low number like that. I was afraid that he would just keep dropping too much on the low carb.
 
well first if you don't have like 10-15 carb food you can mix the HC with the low carb..and THEN you give just maybe a teaspoon worth. you want to gently steer the number if you know what i mean. not send it to the moon :mrgreen:
 
I tried responding to your pm Lori, but I couldn't for some reason. It said user not found.


Any thoughts on dosages? Should I have given a lower dose when I got that 269 reading?
 
darlene try responding again to the pm...did you hit reply....or just on this post hit the pm link.
i see a few interesting things in this cycle.
the fact that Jack barely moved from his stress number at the vet is important. he could easily have just continued the rise up. Also the drop to 50 is usually a limit number so you can drop dose a bit...your at .8 so you can go to a fat .5
this is .6
you may get a bounce from the food and the low number so i won't be surprised to see a high number in the morning. so if so stay for that cycle with your .8 and consider thereafter...even with a high 300 to go to .6.
this is just what i would do at this point.
 
see darlene jack had a really nice dip today...a bit too nice actually...and there is no telling how much lower or how long he would have surfed it if it were not for the vet visit spike. and that was on .8 on a 400 number.
 
True...I was surprised how he dropped to that 87 this morning. And then by the PMPS reading. Just when I start to think that I know what's going on...it changes!

I think he's just trying to get as many colors on his ss as he can.
 
nah, he is counting on you to figure the puzzle out. so he has earned a dose reduction but like i said you are likely to see a high amps.
do you have any more numbers tonight?
 
ummmm, wow darlene..just looked at your ss. that is most interesting...he's coming down again. that almost never happens with pzi.
i see a lot of good things in your future.
please don't panic if he dips back down. you'll be nearing the end or past nadir of your cycle and the insulin starts to wear down. k?
 
Darlene I just want you to consider that 1 can of HC and you are 2 hours later coming back down tells me that without the HC you would likely have seen a hypo tonight. Good catch. If you would have fed the medium carb you would need to test in 15 minutes to 1/2 hour.
I am more convinced now you need to dose reduce.
both this morning and this evening jack may have gone down further had it not been for the intervention of stress and then food.
it's not that unusual for some cats to go off the juice rather quickly. jack is responding quite well to the insulin.
whatever you dose i think regular testing..for a while, to see what he's doing now that he has made this break thru.
 
Lori...I was surprised to see that 77 also...wasn't sure why he would go back down again. But I got to the +6 now and feel comfortable going to bed now that he has reached that time and is at 100. I like your thinking and I will keep my fingers crossed that the good things will be seen in our future! He is my furry little puzzle, as Deb likes to call Jack!

I am glad now that he nearly ate that whole can of the gravy food. I was just so afraid with the way he drops so quickly that he would really bottom out with a few more hours left until his peak.

So time to get some sleep...the rain is coming down hard and the wind howling...
 
Wow, great job! I would have said HC is overdoing it too, but his #s are perfect, so looks like it was the right things to do! My guess is Mr. P is on the ball, and that might be part of the good #s. Hard to say really. Looks like things are going pretty well though, YAY! If you get a yellow PS I might pull back to 0.5 or so, maybe even 0.4. That's a pretty big drop today, but could be some of the HC wearing off and not just the insulin, hard to know for sure. But I'm thinking 0.6 might even be a little more than he needs at this point.
 
Thanks, Joanna, he did have a good day today! Things seem to be heading in the right direction. He's been feeling pretty frisky today, lots of play fighting with his brother, etc. I will keep my fingers crossed for more good days!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top