Update on my diabetic trio

Status
Not open for further replies.

AbyResq

Active Member
Callie has 1 week down with no insulin :joyful:

Tuck is finally getting better regulated. Everyone thought he was bouncing and I finally decided to see if he just needed a higher dose. I work from home so I can monitor like a fiend. The higher dose seems to be doing the trick. I need to work on determining a sliding scale. He definitely has quick reactions to both food and insulin. I gave him the higher dose on a yellow preshot the other night and lost some sleep :facepalm:. Overall, I'm pleased with his progress.

Oliver decided he wanted to be like Tuck. He and his brother have been having some food issues. A few weeks ago Oliver's insulin requirement started going down. I thought maybe he was headed for remission. Nope, now I think he wasn't eating well. He and his brother are in a room together and they are grazers. So it's been difficult to tell who is/isn't eating and who got sick. I switched foods and he's eating better and keeping it down. I switched him from Fancy Feast to Tiki Cat. Now I'm gradually increasing his dose to get him stabilized.
 
Hey Kristen! Glad to see you.

Awww yay Callie! Keep it up!

Tuck is looking much better. That little stinker...he loves to try to confuse you!

Yeah, food issues are never fun. But hopefully with a food that works, Oliver will slowly head back down. If his tummy was upset, that could be a reason for higher numbers.
 
WTG Callie :D Nice to see Tuck finally coming around, even if it is on a higher dose :cat: Why are boys always so difficult? Those 2 just don't want to let you relax :bighug:
 
Tuck just gave me a beautiful 203 for his PMPS. Of course, that made me scratch my head and wonder what to give him. This was after he was in the 40's this afternoon. Hopefully, I cut the dose enough tonight. I think I'm keeping the strip company in business.

Thanks Sarah, I think all of our cats are beautiful.

I'm hoping I can place Tuck and Callie into the same home. They are bonding and it would give me peace of mind to place her in a home that truly knows how to care for a diabetic cat. I suspect she may come out of remission one day. Her numbers aren't super low and when I contacted her breeder I found out that Callie's dad has diabetes!:eek: Oliver is an old guy and I suspect I will have him for the rest of his days. Callie and Tuck are both 7 so I'm hopeful someone will open their heart to them.
 
Wow Tuck! He enjoys throwing those random low numbers...but that's a really good cycle! I'm interested to see his AMPS today.

I hope that Callie and Tuck can find a home together! Heck, I'd take them if I didn't have 3 of my own (who barely like each other...).

Kristen, I've said it before, but I think it should be said again. Bless you for taking in those babies! You've got such a big heart and it's people like you who make the world a better place.
 
Thanks, @Rachel. I have to admit I will have a hard time letting Tuck go. I usually have a pang of sadness when I place a foster cat then I'm happy to see them in a happy stable home. I will worry about Tuck, small changes in food or insulin seem to have a dramatic effect on his blood sugar. That's great if you're willing to test a lot but worrisome if someone were to blind shoot.

Well, he was 387 this morning but it's probably a bounce or too much steering because I gave a little too much juice for last night's PMPS of 203. I gave him 2 small baby spoons of gravy food in the middle of the night, honestly I wanted to sleep! I reduced his dose this morning because I've had to do a little too much extra feeding mid-cycle. Poor Tuck will miss his extra food it this works.
 
I can only imagine! I think I'd have a tough time fostering because I wouldn't want to let them go! And it's even harder I'm sure when you have someone like Tuck who already has diabetes and is harder than most to get regulated.

Looks like Tuck has thrown you some lower mid cycle numbers today too! How nice to see those blues. Hopefully this is the start of something good (anti jinx)!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top