? Update on Mouse - OTJ TRIAL - TRIAL over...she's now vomiting

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Polgeria, Oct 20, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Polgeria

    Polgeria Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2020
    Hi everyone!! Long time no chat!
    Mouse and I have been doing well!! Sorry for dropping into oblivion for awhile, but life interrupted. Her numbers have been amazing, and I'm super proud of her tiny body.

    Due to unforeseen circumstances yesterday, we had a surprise OTJ trial yesterday and she did amazing, so we're making it official today. Are there any guidelines on that here? I haven't been able to find it.
     
  2. Polgeria

    Polgeria Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2020
    Well, the trial is over. She just started vomiting, and her BG spiked to 109. I've given her 0.25 UI of insulin and we're gonna keep her there for a bit longer.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  3. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Awwwwww
    Well being this close is a good thing. :bighug:
     
    Polgeria likes this.
  4. Polgeria

    Polgeria Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2020
    It is. She made it 24 hours. She's really close. I'm sad so see her sick right now, and know it's my fault. I jumped the gun. I won't make that mistake again.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  5. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
  6. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    There’s a dose under .25 that many try before going off entirely.
     
  7. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
  8. Polgeria

    Polgeria Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2020
    Given that she's still vomiting after getting insulin, drooling, licking her lips, and howling, I'm thinking she's not ready for it yet. She only spiked to 109, and she's not reacting well to it.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  9. Polgeria

    Polgeria Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2020
    I'm going to run a curve once she's stabilized again and then see about dropping her to 0.1 UI before trying going OTJ again. This time with more planning.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  10. Polgeria

    Polgeria Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2020
    She's down to 86 now, so I'm hoping the vomiting stops soon. I've kept my vet up to date though email, and she's been very responsive. If it doesn't stop, I'll be bringing her in for an antiemetic shot.
     
  11. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Vomiting can raise the blood glucose momentarily.
     
    Polgeria and jt and trouble (GA) like this.
  12. Polgeria

    Polgeria Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2020
    Another update for you all: we are at the emergency vets: she started open mouth breathing along with everything else and curled up next to her carrier after not finding any other place she wanted to hide.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  13. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    oh noooo sending prayers!
     
    Polgeria likes this.
  14. Polgeria

    Polgeria Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2020
    Thank you, I'll keep you updated! Hopefully I'm overreacting.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  15. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Prayers!:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    Polgeria likes this.
  16. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    this would be one time overreacting is a good thing. :bighug:
     
    Critter Mom, Polgeria and tiffmaxee like this.
  17. Polgeria

    Polgeria Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2020
    Update from the doctor: they don't think it's related to her diabetes, he actually thinks she's in remission as far as that goes. He thinks based on her x-rays from the last time he was there and her symptoms now that her heart disease has progressed. She's on oxygen now and they want to keep her overnight for observation and testing, and do another x-ray to see if heart has enlarged more.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  18. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Awwww bless her heart literally. She remains in my prayers. :bighug:
    Waldo lived another 2 years with RCM . His meds worked really well.
     
    Polgeria likes this.
  19. Polgeria

    Polgeria Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2020
    She's got a 4/6 heart murmur. I'm not sure where to go from there. I don't think we can afford surgery. Our care credit card is maxed out, I'm out of work, we just had another cat go through an overnight emergency visit last week, and this overnight stay is going to max out another credit card. She's only 11 years old though.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  20. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    :( I dont know if DCIN helps with this kind of thing. Surgery was never an option for us. Meds kept Waldo comfy for 2 years. I dont know if thats an option for your baby though :bighug:
     
    Polgeria likes this.
  21. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I don’t think they would do surgery. There are drugs for CHF and they can try to remove the fluid and see if it comes back. If there’s isn’t kidney disease lasix is an option.
     
  22. Polgeria

    Polgeria Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2020
    Ty, I don't know anything about murmurs. It's never been an issue until now. I just knew we had to be careful with her fluids.

    What /Who is DCIN? I've seen them mentioned before, but never inquired.
    I just know that this visit alone is going to be around $1,200-$2,000 or more, and I'm going to pretty much have to put it on a credit card. I haven't even gotten a quote yet, I just told them to fix her. But I know the last cat they had over night just purely for observation was $1,200 and that was without any meds.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  23. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Polgeria likes this.
  24. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    It cant hurt to ask. :(
     
    Polgeria likes this.
  25. Polgeria

    Polgeria Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2020
    I've found their webpage and will reach out once I have the vet quote in hand, thanks!
     
  26. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Sending prayers for Mouse - and for you, Allison.

    :bighug:


    Mogs
    .
     
    Polgeria and jt and trouble (GA) like this.
  27. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Murmurs can be benign or not. Max had one for years that was benign and the cardiologist said would never be a problem. The years later he had CHF that was unrelated. The cardiologist was very surprised to see me back. I think it was 4 years later.
     
  28. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Neko lived with a murmur for several years before her heart progressed to the "need to do something" stage. There is a kind of murmur they can get due to aging. If you can afford a cardiologist vet consult, they are really helpful. Typically issues are treated with drugs. Neko was on 3 different heart drugs. :rolleyes:

    FYI - Mouse is looking good. Under TR, a week in normal numbers earns a reduction. You were overdue for the drop to 0.1 units.
     
    Polgeria and jt and trouble (GA) like this.
  29. THH & Snowcrash (GA)

    THH & Snowcrash (GA) Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2020
    Are they able to do an echocardiogram or cardiac ultrasound there?
     
    Polgeria and jt and trouble (GA) like this.
  30. Polgeria

    Polgeria Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2020
    Update on Mouse: So far her heart is looking good, no signs of failure! ♥️♥️ They're not sure why she was open mouth breathing and cyanotic when I brought her in, but she's looking a lot better now. She's not eating much at the moment though. Her x-rays showed an increase in her intestinal lining though, so the vet is concerned about that. I've ok'd an ultrasound to rule out further issues in the gi tract.
    She might be home tomorrow if she continues to improve.
     
  31. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    fingers and Paws crossed along with prayers! Come on (((((Mouse!))))) (((((Allison)))))
     
    Polgeria likes this.
  32. Polgeria

    Polgeria Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2020
    I believe they did those, or something similar to them, and they came back normal.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  33. Polgeria

    Polgeria Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2020
    I believe they did those, or something similar to them, and they came back normal.
     
  34. Polgeria

    Polgeria Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2020
    I had been planning on running a curve this week and then dropping the dose based on the curve results, since I have been so bad with her testing recently.

    I don't think the vet is giving her insulin while she's there, I'll have to check on that. They didn't ask me about dosing or which insulin I'm using, and I think I only mentioned her dose...the vet keeps saying that her numbers are good, but he's got her testing up in the 200's right now (stress related most likely). I hope I don't have to up her dose to bring her back down to the numbers I had her at before all this.
     
  35. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Worth a phone call. The vets would dose based on the numbers in front of them with whatever insulin they deem fit.
     
  36. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Good the heart is okay. Fingers and paws crossed she comes home tomorrow.
     
  37. Polgeria

    Polgeria Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2020
    They are testing with an alpha track, and not giving insulin at this time, they feel she's too low at 120BG. That's on track with my numbers on a human meter.
    I let them know that I don't want her getting anything more than .25 UI.

    Interestingly enough, the tech I spoke with has 2 diabetic kitties herself that she's issues with, so I mentioned how much help you all have been to me. She might be by for some advice
     
  38. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Mouse could be showing some vetty stress. Also, issues with the heart, even if temporary, can cause the numbers to rise.
    You had more than enough data to reduce her.
     
    Polgeria and jt and trouble (GA) like this.
  39. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Hoping Mouse will keep improving :bighug::cat:
     
    Polgeria and jt and trouble (GA) like this.
  40. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
  41. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Sending more prayers for you both.

    (((Allison and Mouse)))

    :bighug:


    Mogs
    .
     
    Polgeria and jt and trouble (GA) like this.
  42. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Mine follow Mog's :(:bighug:
     
    Critter Mom and Polgeria like this.
  43. Polgeria

    Polgeria Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2020
    Pending her numbers post this visit I'll look at a reduction then. Hopefully this doesn't set us back.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  44. Polgeria

    Polgeria Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2020
    Thank you everyone for the love and support. I don't have anything new yet, but you folks are really helping me keep from going insane over here. ♥️♥️
     
  45. Polgeria

    Polgeria Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2020
    I finally got through to the vet's office, and she's off oxygen! She's not eating though, so they're giving her fluids to counter that. They're also giving her an antiemetic.

    Her glucose is still over 200, but they're not giving her insulin.

    She's had her abdominal ultrasound, but the results haven't been added to her chart, and the vet will call me when they're in there.

    She's no longer a priority case, since she's not critical any more, so I'll be waiting a bit I bet.
     
  46. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I'll take that as a good thing! whew
     
    Polgeria and Critter Mom like this.
  47. Patty & Teal'c

    Patty & Teal'c Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2019
    I'm so sorry you and her are going through this. Prayers for you both.:bighug::bighug:
     
  48. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    I hope the ultra sound doesn't show anything serious. Praying she starts to eat
    something ,please keep us updated :bighug::bighug:
     
    jt and trouble (GA) and Polgeria like this.
  49. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    :cat:

    (((Mouse)))

    Prayers continue in the Shire.

    :bighug:


    Mogs
    .
     
    jt and trouble (GA) and Polgeria like this.
  50. Polgeria

    Polgeria Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2020
    Just got Mouse home. The ultrasound sound results were not good. She's got inflammation all over her GI tract and fluid in what's left of her uterus. They want to do a biopsy and remove at minimum the fluids, maximum the remainder of the tissue. For now we've got steroids, pain meds, and antibiotics for her.

    I'm going to follow up with her normal vet on pricing for the biopsy and surgery, as we're already at $3000, and discuss next options.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  51. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    I'm so sorry Allison, what do you mean what's left of her utetus?
    Poor baby, my heart breaks for her and you.
    Please let us know what your vet says
    $3000 already Jesus :bighug::bighug:
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  52. Polgeria

    Polgeria Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2020
    They always leave a bit of the uterus in for a stabilizer. They call it a " uterine stub"
    She had an emergency hysterectomy about a year ago because it had filled with fluids, and they couldn't identify what those fluids were then either.
     
  53. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    My prayers continue...Thats not gonna help your bill though...:(((((Allison)))) ((((Mouse))))
     
    Polgeria likes this.
  54. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    That poor baby.
     
    Polgeria likes this.
  55. Polgeria

    Polgeria Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2020
    Thank you ❤️ she's all paid up. I'm more concerned about her health right now, and getting her glucose levels down. She's over 200 right now, and I'm not sure how much of it is still stress.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page