Update on Dusty

Status
Not open for further replies.

dustyboy4

Member Since 2010
Please see Dusty's SS. Notes are made on it as to what's going on with him.
So much going on at one time. BG high, UTI, Bloated with gas, food change, antibiotic (Convenia) , FortiFlora.
All problems are being handled just praying Dusty will respond to the Lantus and his BG will start to come down soon.
Any suggestions or questions appreciated. I learn so much from this message board and I will try to get back on here tomorrow morning.
 
Elaine:

Increasing Dusty's dose by 2u at a time may be causing the high numbers. There's also an additional concern. If there's a UTI, once the antibiotic starts to work, Dusty's numbers could drop quickly. Please get spot checks.

Also, did your vet use a needle into Dusty's bladder to get a sterile urine sample and was a culture and sensitivity run on the sample? It's the only way to know if Dusty is on the correct antibiotic for the kind of bacteria that's causing the UTI. Unfortunately, Convenia is not a typical antibiotic for UTIs.

With Dusty's numbers in this high of a range, I'd really encourage you to test for ketones whenever you can.
 
Hello Elaine. I don't think I've dropped by before, but my kitty Neko was once a high dose cat. She has both IAA and acromegaly.

I know what it feels like to always see high numbers, but Lantus really requires patience. Even using the aggressive method of increasing, you should always wait at least 5 cycles to increase. The protocol says to wait 6 cycles. When we were going up the dosing scale, I found that it took at least 5 cycles for the shed to fill and for me to see what the effects of a particular dose were on Neko.

You have a lot going on with Dusty with the infection and food change. I'm glad the vet has recommended going to the lower carb food. For all those reasons, I agree with Sienne that a 2 unit increase is too much at this point. With high dose cats, the increases can be larger, when they are at higher doses. Normally we don't recommend a 2 unit increase unless the cat is already at 20 units of insulin. And for some cats at that amount of insulin, even a .25 unit change can make a difference. All part of each cat being different.
 
I also agree. We take the doses up in small increments so as not to bypass the correct dose. Ad as Wendy said, you have to give the depot a chance to fill with one dose before moving to the next.

I am sorry he has so much going on. Some of the illnesses, especially the UTI, can cause BGs to be elevated.

I also wanted to show you a SS of another cat. The circumstances are not exactly the same, but the patterns may seem familiar. High dose, high numbers, dropped to 1u.

Teronto was started on 10u of lantus by his vet. Because of the same principle of starting at the correct dose and working up slowly in small increments AND because he was in such a pattern of black and red numbers, Jill andnLibby suggested Pauline drop the dose way back to 1u and then be patient.

Terontos SS is a great example of how too much insulin can look like too little. When his dose was brought down, he started earning reductions that Pauline caught and then lowered the dose. Notice how long he was at 1u before all the counteregualtory hormones finally got out of his system and numbers came down.
 
When Dusty was tested for the UTI the specimen was not taken with a needle, it was caught mid-stream. His vet explained to me that catching urine this way has the potential to show bacteria because it’s not a sterile specimen and because of this the test results can show positive without the animal actually having a UTI. I suppose a culture was done on since the test results showed bacteria was present but I have no idea if a sensitivity test was done to see what antibiotic would be best. Also the test results showed blood present (which we couldn't see). She believes and concluded that due to the blood, which she says couldn’t have come from anywhere else, he actually has a UTI.
The sample was taken when she was making the initial exam she had been mashing around on his belly after I told her he was possibly constipated because he had not pooped. When he began urinating I asked if a sample could be taken and she very quickly retrieved a clean dish and was able to catch a sample before he quit emptying his bladder. I don’t know if trying to have him re-tested would work since he has the antibiotic Convenia, in his system.
When I was given the results, both Vet H. and Vet C. were present. Vet C. questioned Vet H. about how the specimen was taken. Vet C. did comment that she was not surprised by the results since Dusty’s BG levels have been HI for so long. Sienne, since Convenia is not a typical antibiotic used for treating a UTI, is there some other antibiotic I could suggest to them if it happens again? In Dusty’s life time he has only been treated with 3 different types of antibiotics for various illnesses. Those are Amoxicillin, Metronidazole & Convenia.
When I commented on Keytones, I was told the urine specimen was also tested and did not show a presence of any. I’m going to try to find some test strips and do some testing myself. Vet H. told me I should be able to find these at my local pharmacy or grocery store. Does that sound right? I believe if I watch Dusty closely I could slip a strip under his stream. When he urinates he has usually held it awhile. He doesn’t always sit all the way down so getting a strip under him should be fairly easy. We will see when I find some strips
Sometime yesterday Dusty's bowles began moving normally again. I can tell he is feeling better, he has resumed telling me about his bathroom habits. I was hard to wake up last night and because of this at 2:15 a.m. I was cleaning the mudroom floor while he hung around changing places every few minutes watching me -with interest- probably to make sure I cleaned it up real good. He had pooped in both boxes and urinated in the middle of the floor. I guess the FortiFlora is making some magic. Dusty is not a litter covering cat. He just gets his business done and walks away, then will come and tell you about it. This can be such an annoying feature about him because if no one is around to clean it up he will not return to THAT box. He seems to be OK with getting back in a used box with urine but not poop. Personally, I can understand wanting it clean, I would too, humans can flush. If his poop isn’t cleaned up before he has to visit the box again, he will either use the other box (thank goodness) or go on the floor outside of the box (which is not acceptable). We are only talking urine here though, I usually don’t see poop on the floor unless he has diarrhea which is rare but has happened before.
 
During my lunch period today I found and purchased some Keytone strips at the drug store. I should have asked this before purchasing, is it alright to use human keytone strips?
 
You should be able to get Ketostix in any pharmacy, in the diabetic supply section. These are the same as the ones for humans. My Neko also gives me clearance to hold a stick. Some people use a long spoon, ladle or tray of foil if they need a bit more reach. Here's a pic of what you should have:
31st9mV4ZAL.jpg
 
Marje, I took a look at Terontos' SS. I understand about him being on too high of a dose at 10u to begin with. And I see where Terontos was dropped down and begain receiving 1u. When I get down to the entry for 10/15/11 and the AMPS reads in the 500's my first reaction would have been to continue with the 1u. I see the very low numbers from the day before but then it spikes real high. What made Terontos' owner drop down to an even lower dose of .75?

Do you all think I should be giving Dusty the initial 1u or the 2u or the 4u. I want to do what the best way is. My vets don't know what IAA is even when I tell them what it stands for. My vets don't want to test for Acromegaly. Both have told me that I can put forth all the $$$ I want, which I can't afford. They tell me they will test for Cushings at $150. Neither have ever treated Acromegaly and both tell me it would require a CT scan and would have to send me to some place like UGA, which I can't afford. They both tell me that even if he were diagnosed with any of these 2 conditions Cushings or Acromegaly that they are vertually uncharted territory. Both tell me I could have these tests done for my own personal knowledge, that either can be diagnosed but that there isn't much for treatment available. Basically that I would be waisting my $$$. I'm not at home during the day to spot check Dusty. I can do this on the weekends. I don't want to kill him by overdosing him. I understand all of what you all have written and since my Vets have told me that they have really done all that they can for Dusty except to make him comfortable and be there for us, well I have turned to you all who are in my opinion actually the experts. So, please tell me what I should do. There really aren't any vets around that I totally trust. Do you all think I should be giving Dusty the initial 1u or the 2u or the 4u. When he was on the Prozinc he was up to 10u bid and it never touched his HI reading for over 16 days.
Thanks for listening and I look forward to any replies.
 
I'll let others answer the questions about best dose but I'll try to answer the questions about acromegaly/IAA. When Neko was going up the dosing scale, we did it according to the protocol here. At some point, when her dose was high enough, it was suggested that we test for IAA and acromegaly. Since we don't have data for Dusty going up the dosing scale, it's hard to say at this point whether he should be tested. I will say that you need to stick to a dose for at least 6 cycles (3 days) so we can gather data about what is happening at a particular dose.

My vet thought I was wasting my money, but she did the acro/IAA tests because it's what I wanted to do. The other vet in the practice called them "exotic tests". My vet had never seen acromegaly before and thought Neko's dose wasn't high enough. She thought we should get to 10 units before testing. Neko never got to 10 units but did test positive for acromegaly and IAA. My vet was very surprised when both tests came back positive. But she has since identified a second cat in her practice she is 99% positive has acromegaly, and he isn't at that high a dose yet. I've read studies that show that cats with acromegaly is a lot more common than previously thought. It is more common than Cushings in cats. One of the common signs of Cushings is fragile skin that tears easily. If that isn't Dusty, I'd save that money for an IGF-1 test (for acromegaly), it if makes sense. The IGF-1 is a blood test and can be done from your vet's office, although the blood has to be sent to Michigan State University. Although it doesn't 100% confirm acromegaly (a CT scan will do that), a combination of dose and positive IGF-1 is a strong indicator and a CT scan should not be needed. For more information on the tests read here. That link will also tell you more about IAA.

Ok - about treatment. There is a treatment, called stereostatic radiation therapy, or SRT. Most cats with acromegaly do not get SRT. It does cost $$$ and is only done in 2 places in the US, Colorado State University and Yonkers NY. But acromegaly can be managed. For a cat with acromegaly, the most important thing is to get the blood sugar under control. The other things to be aware of is that acromegaly causes excess growth hormone to be produced. This can affect soft tissue and organs. Of these, the heart is the most concern. There are medications that can help, but the vet has to be aware and pay attention for changes there. An enlarged heart can look like cardiomyopathy. The other issue for treatment is that soft tissue in the larynx can grow - that means if the cat were to have anesthesia, a kitten size breathing tube should be used.
 
There's a lot of info in your post. I'm going to try to reply and touch all of your points and questions.

The headache with even a mid-stream sample like the vet was able to get is that there's no way to tell if the bacteria was truly from a UTI or from Dusty's fur, the container, etc. That's why a sterile sample is the best way to diagnose a UTI. However, given that there was a bit of blood, it's possible that there is a UTI. (Another urinary tract issue, sterile cystitis can also cause blood in the urine.) As far as a culture, I don't think the vet did a culture. It takes approx. 2 - 3 days to get the results of a culture. (A culture is when they put some of the urine in a petrie dish and see if and what kind of bacteria grows.) The vet probably looked under a microscope at some of the urine and saw bacteria. The value of the sensitivity part of a culture and sensitivity is that they give the bacteria that's grown different antibiotics to see which one does the job of killing the bacteria. As a result, you get a prescription for an antibiotic that is going to work on the specific bacteria that's present.

There are a number of antibiotics than can effectively treat a UTI. Here's a link that gives some of the commonly used antibiotics. Amoxicillin is one of the antibiotics that's commonly used for a UTI. Convenia, as I mentioned, isn't indicated for treating UTIs nor is metronidazole which is specific for anerobic bacterial infections that are common when a cat has diarrhea. You are correct -- re-doing a urinalysis or getting a sample for a C & S won't give you results because Dusty is on an antibiotic. You'd need to wait at least 7 - 10 days after the Convenia was out of Dusty's system to get a valid test.

Human ketone test strips are what we all use. You can get the ones that Wendy noted or whatever ones your pharmacy carries. Just follow the directions, especially about how long to wait before comparing the strip to the color code on the box.

You're vets are not well informed about feline acromegaly or insulin resistance. Acro was once thought to be rare. I think the current data is that it occurs a lot more frequently than was once thought. We see far fewer cats with Cushings Disease than we see cats with acro and/or IAA. There are blood tests that are only run at Michigan State University for both acro and IAA. The combined cost of both tests is under $100 although you have to pay to have the samples sent by FedEx. There's a good deal of information on these conditions on the High Dose Board here. I don't know that it's time to get Dusty tested for a high dose condition, though. I think we need to be conservative and see how he responds to being on a low carb (i.e., no WD) diet and where his numbers are after the UTI clears up. Between the high carb food and an infection, we don't have a reliable picture of where Dusty's numbers are.

What I would do is increase Dusty's dose to 4.5u. When numbers are above 300, according to the protocol, it's fine to increase by 0.5u. Since your observation is that Dusty is feeling better, hopefully, the antibiotic is beginning to kick in.
 
Thank you Wendy for the information. When I arrived home this evening and tested Dusty's BG it still registers HI. Instead of dosing him with the 4u I cut it back to the 2u and plan on sticking to the 2u for the alotted time before increasing again. On Mon. evening I had both vets discussing this. Dr. H. said she was trying to increase Dusty's insulin real slowly and Dr. C countered with that 2u probably wasn't enough considering the amount of Prozinc he had been receiving. Dr. C is the one that has been in practice longer than Dr. H and she is also the one that told me that I needed to up his dose to 4u right away. I'll keep Dusty on the 2u until Saturday and only go up how much ???? at a time if needed? 2u is already greater than what he should need for his weight. If someone else has a difference of opinion, I welcome the direction and will listen, but that is what I'm going to dofor now.

Also Wendy, the information on acromegaly is very interesting to me. $52 for the test to be sent to Michigan (I'm sure there are other cost of equipment from the vet) isn't too bad, and may be worth my time. I will mention it again. After researching acromegaly Dr. H's main argument for telling me she believes I would be wasting my time with this test was to point out that, although never regualted & always hungry, Dusty never gains weight. He rapidly lost his weight and muscle within 6 mo after diagnosis and it has never come back. Here and there he will go up 1/2 to 1 lb but something always seems to happen to set him back and usually he hangs right around 8.5 to 9 lbs. She also pointed out that Dusty's head has not increased. He doesn't shy away from bright light. His eye sight is still great and he also doesn't act like anything is hurting him. I have observed that he's slow about laying down (he's bony and I guess since we moved into this house, it has tile in the Kitchen and Baths) he has learned to try not to bang his hips up. If he's on the carpet, bed or sofa he plops down like he always has. His breathing has never seemed irregular until Saturday but that has (thank goodness) gone back to normal. All his symptoms point to a bad, out of control case of diabetes but both vets still say there has to be an underlying condition and who knows acromegaly could be it.

I truly don't think he has cushings. Everything I read says that It's not real common in cats as it is in dogs. And Dusty does not have thin or tearing skin. He also doesn't throw up very often.

I'll keep pushing them for the IGF-1 test. Thanks again for the info.
 
Sienne,
So you think I should give Dusty 4u until the protocol runs then increase by 1/2 u? Or that I should go ahead and increase it now?
 
Here and there he will go up 1/2 to 1 lb but something always seems to happen to set him back and usually he hangs right around 8.5 to 9 lbs.
How long has Dusty been off the w/d and on the DM food? I ask, because one of the main reasons vets prescribe the w/d cat food is for weight loss.

Doesn't sound like Dusty needs to lose weight.
 
I went back and gave Dusty the other 2u to make it 4u for this evening.

Until 6/2/13 Dusty was eating 2 cans of Purina DM & 1 can of Hill's w/d every day. Way more than what he should be eating but still doesn't gain weight. I have taken Dusty off the w/d as of 6/2/13 and exchanged it for Purina DM pate. How Dusty ended up on the w/d is in the next entry.
 
When Dusty was first diagnosed with Diabetes he was taken off his dry food, cold turkey, and put on Purina DM pate. He started off eating 1 and 1/4 cans per day. For the 1st 6 months after diagnosis he was also put on Glipzide. We could not afford the insulin. He wasted away and that is our fault that we couldn't take care of him properly. His vets did not suggest us putting him down, we were told we will know when to do it. After those 6 months we finally made the decision to put him on insulin. The cost is still a struggle for us, but we love him and want to keep him around if we can. The only insulin the vets would put him on was the Prozinc. Since 2009 he has been eating Purina DM pate until earlier this year. Off and on he has had, I would say every 6 months or so, bouts of loose bowels. I also can't tell you how many times I have questioned the Purina DM causing these bouts with his bowels. No matter when he eats it you can hear his bowel sounds from across the room. Although he never acts like it hurts him the girgling that goes on makes me hurt for him. Several of those bouts of bowel problems he was put on Amoxicillian & FortiFlora for several days. It would solve the problem for a time just to come back a few months later. Dusty loves Amoxicillian. He would ingest the entire dropper full and eat it like it was candy. I questioned if there could be any type of sugar in it for him to like it that much and was told that there probably was sugar in it. I complained about this and the next bouts he had he was put on metronidazole and Fortiflora. The metronidazole was perfect. He would take his meds and his loose bowels would firm up and the gas rolling around in his belly would subside. Please don't get me wrong he has never been a flatulator, so until he pooped I guess the gas didn't come out. The problem he had with the metronidazole was that once the bottle of metronidazole was finished, usually a day or 2 afterward, Dusty would have what looked like cystitis or a UTI. He would go in and out of his boxes and dribble then go back and forth, back and forth. This symptom, once it began, would stop after about 4 to 5 hours and everything would be fine. He has been tested for a UTI before and it was negative. During all of this his BG was never regulated, it bounced and because of this he continued to have a ravenous appetite & heavy water drinking. I finally became fed up, I felt his vets wanted to keep giving him rounds of antibiotics and one actually wanted to keep him on them all the time. I felt this was not solving the problem and after reading several articles about gluten intolerance I personally took him off the Purina DM and started using Fancy Feast Classic Chicken Feast. I had read that this was one of the best low carb, gluten free cat foods, non-prescription, on the market. After 1 month on the Fancy Feast Classic Chicken Feast he had a sneezing problem. I took him to his vets, expecting an upper respiratory infection. Blood was taken and tested and he was given a shot of Convenia. The Convenia fixed him right up. The test results came in and they told me that he was anemic, he had an elevated white blood count showing he was trying to fight off some kind of infection and that his kidney function was slightly elevated but that could be due to being dehydrated. Right away after the shot of Convenia his symptoms cleared up but during this visit they wanted to know what he had been eating and I told them I had switched him to a gluten free diet. Neither vet liked my switch. I told them he did OK on this diet, no more bouts of loose bowels (when I say loose it was either soft serve or cow patty stage and he would put it all over the house probably trying to tell us his stomach was upset). The only problem with the Fancy Feast was that his stools, although formed, were extremely large around and although seemed normal solid looking for the inside, looked mucusy on the outside and terribly smelly. I guess this is what had me thinking he may have Mega Colon. Anyway, they had me take him off the Fancy Feast and put him on the Hill’s w/d for gastro problems. I was told the w/d had a higher fiber content than the DM. I was asked to watch his weight because the food was used for weight loss. Sure enough dusty lost a pound (that he couldn’t afford to lose). I reported this and he was taken off the w/d and put back on the Purina DM. I complained about the DM because of all the problems over the past 2.5 yrs. and was told I could still feed him 1 can a day for the fiber content. Dusty has had great bowel movements for several months now eating like this and his BG, although registering above 350 part of the day would also go down in the mid 150’s. Until recently. Recently, the vets, unbeknownst to them, sold me a case of the Purina DM savory select. After feeding him a few cans I was picking more DM up one day and asked them what happened to the pate’ version. The ladies doing the ordering told me that the savory select was all that they had recently been receiving from their supplier. I even remember commenting that Dusty really liked the savory select version. When they finally got a case of the pate’ in stock and I started feeding Dusty that instead of the savory select well he just don’t want to eat the pate’ anymore. When I put it down, he just looks at me and turns his nose up. . I tell you all Dusty has never, until now, turned his nose up at any food, including any crumb of people food. If someone accidently drops people food you have to pick it up fast and you have to fight Dusty off because he is there lickety split and his jaws will snap together trying to get at it. I really didn’t think too much about Dusty’s food types because his pooping had been doing good. I was convinced that the w/d gave him the fiber he needed to solidify his poop without the continual need for antibiotics. It has just been in the past (now) 17 + days where he began registering HI on his meter and hasn’t come down from the upper 500’s at all during this time period. After getting on the Lantus portion of the message board, now I find out the w/d is super high in carbs like 28% and the savory select is 10%. I just feel so stupid. And now we are in this mess. I am going to have to gradually switch Dusty back over to the Purina DM pate’ because he doesn’t want to eat it. I put some down late last night and he barely touched it. He kept waking me up wanting food and when I would get up and look, the pate’ was still in his dish. Just to ease my worry, I fed him ½ can of the savory select and left ½ can of the pate on his plate this morning in the hopes that he would eat it while I was at work and if (wishful thinking here) if his BG all of a sudden went low he would think to eat. When I got home he had eaten the pate’ but he still isn’t happy with this. I’m having to wean him off the savory select. I will probably give it a week and cut him off. I am praying the bowel problems don’t come back though.
 
Hello Elaine and Dusty,

I thought I'd pop in and say hello and share a list with you.
shortcut food list

I am reading thru your condo with all the troubles Dusty has and wondering if there might be a better food for Dusty.
With all the gas problems, and diarrhea .... I'm wondering if he might have sensitivities to chicken.

I will have to come back and read thru your condo again when I'm not multi-tasking.
But you have lots of good input.
 
Elaine:

There are other ways to get fiber into Dusty's diet. You could easily go back to feeding Fancy Feast and add either canned pumpkin or squash baby food to Dusty's diet. That will give him the fiber he needs in a gluten free diet. Dusty might also do well on a raw diet. For many cats with GI issues, raw food works wonders.
 
I forgot last night to say that I had bought a can of pumpkin to see if that would add enought fibert to the Purina DM pate'. What I'm reading says to add about 3 tablespoons to a can, does that sound right? Also, does anyone know how long pumpkin will keep in the refrigerator?
I can tell Dusty is feeling better, but not good. He is still off and on peeing in the middle of the mudroom floor. I put pee pads down and keep telling him its for emergency's only. Some times it seems he listens to me and will use his boxes for 8 hours or so and then go back to peeing in the floor. His litter boxes are always cleaned out so he has no excuse except that he's trying to tell us that he still isn't feeling well.
So far, no improvement on his BG testing. His AMPS today still registers HI as did his PMPS and several spot checks from last night. I just keep hoping that when that meter counts down that something besides HI will flash up. I know, patients.
I do have a question though, since Convenia isn't the usual antibiotic to use for a UTI, and if Dusty still isn't feeling better by say Monday 06/10/13, do you think we should go back to the vets next week and see if they would think it wise to put him on one of the other antibiotics? Convenia is supposed to last for 7 - 10 days but if it's not effective in helping Dusty fight the bacteria in his urinary tract..... I thought I would throw the question out there to you all.
Thanks for listening to our growing pains.
 
I would expect to see some improvement with a UTI in a few days to a week. I would contact your vet if you're not seeing any appreciable change.

That sounds like an awful lot of pumpkin. You might check with Marje. She uses baby food squash with her kitties and she may have a better idea of quantity than I do.
 
Also, does anyone know how long pumpkin will keep in the refrigerator?
If you put it into an ice cube tray, you will small frozen chunks all ready to be thawed and used. No need to worry about how long the pumpkin will last in the fridge.
 
Since you're suspecting mega-colon, you might find the web site Feline Constipation helpful to read over.

Mucus-y stools also might be inflammatory bowel disease or a food allergy or intolerance.

Large, stinky, pudding/patty poo may indicate exocrine pancreatic insufficiency - not enough digestive enzymes, so food isn't digested properly. Weight loss is frequent. Treatment is supplemental enzymes which may be found over the counter.

ETA - the note about OTC availability is so one may check out costs locally.
 
Large, stinky, pudding/patty poo may indicate exocrine pancreatic insufficiency - not enough digestive enzymes, so food isn't digested properly. Weight loss is frequent. Treatment is supplemental enzymes which may be found over the counter.
EPI is best left to your vet to diagnose. I would not suggest running out and buying pancreatic enzymes without a confirmed diagnosis.
 
dustyboy4 said:
When Dusty was first diagnosed with Diabetes he was taken off his dry food, cold turkey, and put on Purina DM pate. He started off eating 1 and 1/4 cans per day. For the 1st 6 months after diagnosis he was also put on Glipzide. We could not afford the insulin. He wasted away and that is our fault that we couldn't take care of him properly. His vets did not suggest us putting him down, we were told we will know when to do it. After those 6 months we finally made the decision to put him on insulin. The cost is still a struggle for us, but we love him and want to keep him around if we can. The only insulin the vets would put him on was the Prozinc. Since 2009 he has been eating Purina DM pate until earlier this year. Off and on he has had, I would say every 6 months or so, bouts of loose bowels. I also can't tell you how many times I have questioned the Purina DM causing these bouts with his bowels. No matter when he eats it you can hear his bowel sounds from across the room. Although he never acts like it hurts him the girgling that goes on makes me hurt for him. Several of those bouts of bowel problems he was put on Amoxicillian & FortiFlora for several days. It would solve the problem for a time just to come back a few months later. Dusty loves Amoxicillian. He would ingest the entire dropper full and eat it like it was candy. I questioned if there could be any type of sugar in it for him to like it that much and was told that there probably was sugar in it. I complained about this and the next bouts he had he was put on metronidazole and Fortiflora. The metronidazole was perfect. He would take his meds and his loose bowels would firm up and the gas rolling around in his belly would subside. Please don't get me wrong he has never been a flatulator, so until he pooped I guess the gas didn't come out. The problem he had with the metronidazole was that once the bottle of metronidazole was finished, usually a day or 2 afterward, Dusty would have what looked like cystitis or a UTI. He would go in and out of his boxes and dribble then go back and forth, back and forth. This symptom, once it began, would stop after about 4 to 5 hours and everything would be fine. He has been tested for a UTI before and it was negative. During all of this his BG was never regulated, it bounced and because of this he continued to have a ravenous appetite & heavy water drinking. I finally became fed up, I felt his vets wanted to keep giving him rounds of antibiotics and one actually wanted to keep him on them all the time. I felt this was not solving the problem and after reading several articles about gluten intolerance I personally took him off the Purina DM and started using Fancy Feast Classic Chicken Feast. I had read that this was one of the best low carb, gluten free cat foods, non-prescription, on the market. After 1 month on the Fancy Feast Classic Chicken Feast he had a sneezing problem. I took him to his vets, expecting an upper respiratory infection. Blood was taken and tested and he was given a shot of Convenia. The Convenia fixed him right up. The test results came in and they told me that he was anemic, he had an elevated white blood count showing he was trying to fight off some kind of infection and that his kidney function was slightly elevated but that could be due to being dehydrated. Right away after the shot of Convenia his symptoms cleared up but during this visit they wanted to know what he had been eating and I told them I had switched him to a gluten free diet. Neither vet liked my switch. I told them he did OK on this diet, no more bouts of loose bowels (when I say loose it was either soft serve or cow patty stage and he would put it all over the house probably trying to tell us his stomach was upset). The only problem with the Fancy Feast was that his stools, although formed, were extremely large around and although seemed normal solid looking for the inside, looked mucusy on the outside and terribly smelly. I guess this is what had me thinking he may have Mega Colon. Anyway, they had me take him off the Fancy Feast and put him on the Hill’s w/d for gastro problems. I was told the w/d had a higher fiber content than the DM. I was asked to watch his weight because the food was used for weight loss. Sure enough dusty lost a pound (that he couldn’t afford to lose). I reported this and he was taken off the w/d and put back on the Purina DM. I complained about the DM because of all the problems over the past 2.5 yrs. and was told I could still feed him 1 can a day for the fiber content. Dusty has had great bowel movements for several months now eating like this and his BG, although registering above 350 part of the day would also go down in the mid 150’s. Until recently. Recently, the vets, unbeknownst to them, sold me a case of the Purina DM savory select. After feeding him a few cans I was picking more DM up one day and asked them what happened to the pate’ version. The ladies doing the ordering told me that the savory select was all that they had recently been receiving from their supplier. I even remember commenting that Dusty really liked the savory select version. When they finally got a case of the pate’ in stock and I started feeding Dusty that instead of the savory select well he just don’t want to eat the pate’ anymore. When I put it down, he just looks at me and turns his nose up. . I tell you all Dusty has never, until now, turned his nose up at any food, including any crumb of people food. If someone accidently drops people food you have to pick it up fast and you have to fight Dusty off because he is there lickety split and his jaws will snap together trying to get at it. I really didn’t think too much about Dusty’s food types because his pooping had been doing good. I was convinced that the w/d gave him the fiber he needed to solidify his poop without the continual need for antibiotics. It has just been in the past (now) 17 + days where he began registering HI on his meter and hasn’t come down from the upper 500’s at all during this time period. After getting on the Lantus portion of the message board, now I find out the w/d is super high in carbs like 28% and the savory select is 10%. I just feel so stupid. And now we are in this mess. I am going to have to gradually switch Dusty back over to the Purina DM pate’ because he doesn’t want to eat it. I put some down late last night and he barely touched it. He kept waking me up wanting food and when I would get up and look, the pate’ was still in his dish. Just to ease my worry, I fed him ½ can of the savory select and left ½ can of the pate on his plate this morning in the hopes that he would eat it while I was at work and if (wishful thinking here) if his BG all of a sudden went low he would think to eat. When I got home he had eaten the pate’ but he still isn’t happy with this. I’m having to wean him off the savory select. I will probably give it a week and cut him off. I am praying the bowel problems don’t come back though.

So, Dusty is eating low carb wet food, is getting 5u BID and has yet to test under HI?
You also suspect Dusty may have megacolon. And the vet won't test for acromegaly?
What insulin were you giving at the 10u dose in May?

I had the same problem when I wanted my Shadoe tested... the vet office put it off and ignored me until I went in and said, you will draw for the tests or I will go to another vet.
They did not think she was acro.... she was female and petite and showed no signs for acro but did have a high dose of insulin. Her IGF-1 result was 120. The negative range is 12-92.

You look to have some mean resistance going on if all the numbers are HI. For the health of your cat, I think it's time to pick up some R insulin and move up the dosing a bit sooner than you have been.
Holding a dose for longer than 6 cycles max just allows the resistance to get a good hold.

I would up that dose to 6u and when you have your R insulin, someone here can help you get started on using it along with the Lantus. While you're at it, you may want to tell your vet that you want to switch to Levemir as it's a better insulin than Lantus when it comes to high doses, and human diabetics have stated that Lantus stings at higher doses.

When you are ready to start using R, you will need to be around to test every hour for 4 or 5 hours because you need to learn how sensitive your Dusty is to R. Some cats get a good drop in numbers from just a 0.5u dose of R but others barely budge with a dose of 1u or more of R.

For the diet, you can easily add more water to the food as well as 1/4tsp miralax to the am and pm meals .... it will help to soften the stool and have more frequent regular passings. My Oliver has megacolon and the miralax helps him along with all of his other meds to keep him regular.
If you switch to a raw diet, like Dr. Lisa's recipe, be sure to keep adding the miralax and more water to the recipe to help Dusty stay regular.

If the gluton-free foods made Dusty better, why worry about what the vets say about your switch? Do you want to switch back to the food they want and have Dusty with problems again? The vets don't like it? Tough, Dusty is better on gluten-free, then stick with it

And tell your vet you want the test for acromegaly.... you can get it from them or you can go to another vet office. I am sure they will want your money to stay at their office.

And careful with the Convenia; many have had issues with it. I think of it as the lazy man's AB.... people don't want to pill their cats or even give oral meds, so the vets just give this long lasting shot. Sadly, if your cat has a bad reaction on day 4 or something, you can't take the shot back; it's in the cat for the duration.

I don't know what to say about the peeing; my Shadoe began to have the same habit once she was diagnosed as diabetic, then as acro. She never changed, but she was better when I put a step for her in front of the box..... I think she held urine for long, then it bothered her to step in the box and have her belly rub on the edge of the box, so she just peed out front of the box. She was not like this at all before her diagnosis.

Since your vet has never heard of IAA, and not familiar with acromegaly, here are the 2 links with the info for the tests that you want done.
IAA Test
IGF-1 (Acro) Test

Gayle
 
Hi -

I'm Lu-Ann and my Grayson is Acro/IAA+. Dusty sounds A LOT like Grayson did. We started on Prozinc and got up to 6u TID (18u in 24 hrs) before testing. We switched to Levemir... which is pH neutral, so it doesn't sting as noted above.

So many similarities:

I used real pumpkin; mixed 50/50 with water and froze in ice cube trays, then ziplock baggie. 1 cube lasted ~2 days - 1/2 teaspoon with 1 can Fancy Feast (3 oz).

Grayson's poops were huge - still are - he has Mega Colon. Mostly firm. Once we had blockage - he now takes ~1 tsp Miralax 2x/day with his food at shot time. He was diagnosed with IBD, as my 22# cat shrunk to a 12# cat in ~6 months. I had a hard time believing he was acro, despite his large frame, when he was anorexic looking, despite eating as much as 12 cans FF/day at his most ravenous. Vet school (CO State) suggested "novel proteins"; duck, rabbit and venison. Red meat is out - throws it up; he didn't like rabbit; but duck was yummy. He mostly eats FF chicken and turkey pates.

We zoomed up the dosing ladder as G was prone to ketones. With Lev, you still need to do small increases - at lower doses - but you can go more quickly if he's not responding. There's a new kitty in our Facebook group that went from black/red to his first green in 2 months. If the kitty is insulin resistant, which from his SS, I expect would be no surprise, you have to dose aggressively to get a handle on the resistance.

IF your vet, or another that you decide to go to, will do the tests, it's a normal blood draw, the blood is spun and frozen. Then shipped overnight to MSU. MSU will send the mailing package that works exactly as they need it, to your vet. Takes about a week to get it, but considerably less $$$ than going to a Fed Ex and getting all the components. Both samples go in the same package, so you're looking at about $49 and $15 I believe.

G's appetite was ravenous. Just like with the insulin, his body isn't properly processing the food, so he's starving. We use the term "feed the beast"! Grayson scavenged - dog food, cat kibble, anything I left out, and one day I caught him on the top shelf of the base lazy susan cabinet with his face in a bag of egg noodles. He was STARVING! The key to getting past the ravenous appy was getting his numbers down.

There are various things, in addition to all the good advice you've gotten above from some very knowledgeable people. Look at his teeth. Canines should be nearly touching one-another. Grayson's have a gap, typical of the jaw grown, common in Acros. Dr. Lunn, expert in feline acro, told me the insulin resistant FD and the enlarged organs - including mega-colon (as shown on ultrasound) were not slamdunk, but were very good indicators of Acromegaly. She should know - she's handled all but a handful of those kitties that have been treated for it in the US.

I'll post a pic of G's teeth so you can see what I mean. Other's have a much wider gap, but keep in mind, that not all have all the symptoms. And some develop in time. I think Julie & Punkin waited and suddenly she started seeing physical changes.

Grayson has "blossomed" back to nearly 24#. Poop is moving, his diabetes has been more regulated, and his dose has decreased.

If you'd like to come over to the Facebook group, send me a PM and we can get you added to the group. The collective knowledge there is amazing - and you'll meet others that have been in the same place - whether Acro, IAA, both, or just high dose, as well as Cushing's.

From what I've read on your thread, and your SS, I would suggest you consider treating it as though it is, with or without the test. My two cents.

Lu-Ann
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top