update on Callie

Status
Not open for further replies.

calliecat an marty

Member Since 2011
sorry I haven't been on here with an update ! its been a ruff few days I've been in contact with Carol on the phone several times a day ( the poor sweet angel ) i'm driving her nuts i'm sure.

This is whats been happening Callie was supose to start her insulin on Friday that didn't happen the vet wanted a urine sample ! I could'nt and still can't get her to do this for me or catch her using hers ! so I start taking her bg once a day just to see if the food change from expensive vet dry food W/D to classic fancy feast results Saturday @ 6:30 pm 326 Sunday @ 6:30 pm 269 Monday @9:00 am 298 ( callie got a little worked up with this bg check she didn't want it done so this could have had and effect ) Monday @8:30 pm 234 !!!

mean while on Monday morning I called the vet to see if I could come get callies insulin she said WELL WE HAVE A PROBLEM she says its seems you have a past due bill ?????? I said what ?? 7 years ago when callie and tesse got fixed ,shot, ect done there was a different vet than now , they said I didn't pay the bill which I did !! they told me I couldn't bring callie there or get her insulin until I gave them $370.59 plus when I would get the insulin I would have to pay everything up front !! which last week they told me I could start a payment plan , 6 years ago I switched banks so I called my old bank to see if they kepted my old records to show proof that I paid they were real snottie with me and would help me !! so I paid the $370.59 again and last week $172.00 and today $177.37 for callies insulin and needles and all that they have done for my callie is 2 blood test !

this evening callie will start her first shot I'm going to check her bg @ 4:45 feed her and at 6:00 give her, her shot her insulin is pro zinc .... the vet said to start her at 1 unit 2x a day but I want some advice from everyone here please on what dose to give her I will post her bg level when I take it I want to thank all you wonderful people on FDMB I don't know what I would do without you ( my vet stinks but I needed callies insulin ) :YMHUG: to all !!
 
Short answer: Yes, 1 unit 2x/day sounds about right.

Test, feed, shoot....that's the usual order of things.

He BG has come down with the food change, and that's good, but needs to come
down more.

You will know how the insulin is working because you home test....YOU ROCK for
all you are doing for Callie.

As to your 'past due bill'.....grrrrrr. Don't have cancelled checks, old bank statements
or something in your cat's file folder, do you maybe? I stuff all my cat's bills, blood results, etc.
into their individual file folders.
 
callie's bg was 191 I called the vet just to see what she would say she said to hold off on the shot , check her tomorrow morning and we would go from there what do you think ??
 
calliecat said:
callie's bg was 191 I called the vet just to see what she would say she said to hold off on the shot , check her tomorrow morning and we would go from there what do you think ??


I think that's reasonable....let's see where she is in the morning.

The food changes are having an effect.

You could still get a bit more benefit from the food changes.

If she's ab0ve 200 in the morning, consider a SMALL dose .5u but no more than 1u
 
at 4:30 this morning callie woke me up she was hungry I checked her bg it was 273 I gave her 1/2 can of ff and waited until 7:45 am to re check it was 253 I called the vet she said to give callie 1/2 unit and give her 2nd shot at 8:30 pm ! she said not to check her bg again well i'm going to check at +6 I'm watching her very closely I gave her some 1/2 can of ff she didn't eat it all just a few bites and gave shot !! and called Carol of course ! :YMHUG:
 
It looks like her Pancreas is working a little. I'm glad your vet went with the 1/2 unit instead.

Definately get a +4 or +6 test in so you can see how she is responding to the insulin (you don't have to tell your vet).

Great job!!!!
 
good after noon everyone ! I did callie's +6 and it was 176 then gave her a snack i have watched cat_pet_icon her all day , she seems to be doing just fine!

now for her second shot at 8:30 pm what range should her pmps be to decide if she gets shot or not ??
 
I can't give dosing advice, but I just wanted to say *Hi*.
Callie is doing great!
So are you!!

Poo to the vet for saying not to test. Ask her if she would recommend a parent not checking their child's bg?
Ok, well, you might not want to say that, but I'm know you'll be thinking it! ;-)
 
Isn't Marty doing great.... Callie is one lucky little girl kitty to have her for a mommy. This woman will not be stopped. But if she's still low.. 150ish... I'm thinking skip till tomorrow morning.... but what do you experts think... I know we can advise... but it is up to Marty to make the decision.
 
you know Carol that i will do what i feel is right in my heart for callie and i know that everything you guys have been telling me is whats right I trust what I hear on these boards 150 percent :YMHUG: Carol you know what I wanted to do to callies vet yesterday !! my son was worried about me getting arrested lol!

I was in the kitchen this afternoon and callie was laying in the living room I heard her yowling ?? <--- my heart dropped i walk very quickly to the living room and callie has one of her balls ( toys) in her paws , she always makes this weird noise when she is playing or is caring her toys in her mouth ??? lol cat_pet_icon I can't say this enough callie and i thank you from the bottom of our hearts !
 
You are doing so great. My civie makes that yowling sound too when she carries around her fuzzy ball.

For more specific dosing questions about Prozinc come on over to the PZI forum and meet your fellow PZI'ers and ask all the Prozinc questions you can come up with. :-D

They would love to meet you.
 
well callies pmps was 303 @ 7:30 I gave her 1/2 can ff at 7:45 and then gave her shot @ 8:30 I will do +6 again and give her a snack later! is this normal ?? last night her bg was 191 with out insulin, today is her first day on insulin and the 303 reading is higher than its been since last week ??
 
Callie You're doing great!!!!... Do a new post asking in the subject about fixing the spread sheet???

Kiss their sweet noses for me... and get a good rest tonight. You sure have earned it.. What a week you've had.
 
callie's +5 231 I gave her 1/4 can ff , she seems to be doing fine I am a zombie I-) good night and much love to all the beans and their kitties :YMHUG:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top