Update on Boots

Status
Not open for further replies.
I actually did not do the dose increase...I have had to skip two shots this week due to low AMPS.
 
Interesting. I think you should consider reducing your no shot number. As a newbie we advise not to shoot under 200, because you don't have the data to know how the cat will behave. But over time it becomes important to shoot low to stay low - and you have the data to know if the cat will be ok. And you aren't a newbie any more!

I would reduce your no shot number to 150. If you get a pre shot 150-200 then shoot the normal dose and come on here and let us know so we can help. Also definitely get a test 2-3 hours later to double check everything is ok. If its lower, then get another test in a few more hours.

Heres a primer: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=147

Wendy
 
Okay...the only problem with that is that sometimes no one is here to get a plus 3..sometimes I give him the shot and I have to leave an hour and a half later for work, and I don't get home for about 10 hours after that..which is why I am always so nervous about doing a dose increase when I know I won't be home on the day it takes effect. What would happen to him if he went too low and no one was at home to know? Could he die or anything?
 
Once you have done it a few times and gotten a +3 then you will know what to expect. But for the first couple of times, if you aren't going to be home for the +3 then I would skip.

Wendy
 
Jade77 said:
...What would happen to him if he went too low and no one was at home to know? Could he die or anything?

Yes, he could die of a hypo.

Better too high for a day, than too low for a moment.
 
what about the AMPS of 83 that I got on 11/21? Would I shoot, or skip the shot? I skipped it, to be on the same side because I had to work 7am to 6pm, and was worried.
 
If you can't be there to test, and aren't sure how Boots does shooting a lower number, it's going to be safest for you to skip, but if you do it too often, it's going to make it really hard to get him regulated

If your schedule permits, you can "stall"...don't feed him and retest in 20 minutes...if the number is heading up, it's probably fine to go ahead and shoot..and you can leave food down for him to eat during the day too. When their numbers start to drop, they usually go looking for food, just like a human diabetic goes looking for a Coke or a candy bar when their blood glucose gets low
 
Gotcha. So with that 83, do you still think it's a good idea to increase to 1.5? It's so weird how most of his numbers are so high, then I get something like 83, and a half a day where he stays at or under 160.
 
If it had been me that got that 83, I would have stalled and then in 20 minutes, if the number was rising, I would have gone ahead and given the dose of 1.25 since that was the dose you were on at the time. If it wasn't rising, you can either stall again (if your schedule allows), skip the shot or give a BCS (big chicken shot...a smaller than normal dose just to avoid totally skipping and losing all momentum)

As for increasing to 1.5, since you did skip that morning, the general rule is that the 6 cycle clock starts over, so you'd only be on the 3rd cycle at AMPS today, BUT if you're going to be home to test over the weekend and can test more frequently, I think there's a good argument to be made to go ahead and increase now to 1.5

He's been on the 1.25 long enough and his nadirs aren't where they need to be

(If it had been me, I probably would have increased the morning of 11/16 since he'd been on 1.25 for 6 cycles and was still getting nadirs in the 300-500 range)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top