Update: how to get out of the bouncy bounce bounce?

Sarah & Charlie-cat

Member Since 2022
Charlie got a drop dose tonight. He's just been going up up. He hasn't been eating well, didn't want to eat his whole dinner, didn't eat his 10pm snack, did not devour the salmon treats from his ear stick just now.

Last night he yowled at me to come downstairs, like he actually herded me down stairs and I slept on the couch. He's not even coming up tonight, so I'm here on the couch. One of the best things about having my good old Charlie back was him sleeping in the cat tree next to my bed again.

I can't sleep so if I'm still up for a plus +5, I'll try to get that too. I'm guessing he needs to go back up to .1u, even though he's been weirdly dipping low later in his evening cycle. Vet has yet to call me back when I called on Monday to again ask for a refill on his steroids so we don't just run out and to share that his numbers are going all over.

Before this, we had a good week or so without any kibble incidents and just solid mid -low 100s. Since we aren't doing TR, that seemed like a pretty ok place to be.

Thread from earlier this week https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/charlie-amps-275-6-253-pmps-76-help.274166/
 
Since you are following SLGS you need to wait a week before going back up. Looking at his ss I am pretty sure he will need an increase then.
 
When I came downstairs to demand my husband guess what his BG was at shot time, he reported that Charlie had spent the afternoon having the zoomies. Which in fact matched his BG of 76.

Since head in food is how I get him too cooperate for a blood draw, I waited 2 hours and tried again 86. Then I threw up my hands and gave up.

Now I am awake at 2 am pondering whether we have run out of SLGS runway. And that we will have to switch to TR and I will have to figure a way to make sure he gets tests during the day and how to feed him higher carb foods at certain times to keep him on an even keel.

Going to split his steroid dose. But I won't really be home during the day tomorrow and on Friday, I will be away for 14ish hours. So not sure I want to start that yet. But also, being 76 at 8:30pm and whatever high number he is at 8:30am seems problematic as well?
 
We are on the pogo stick and I don't know how to get him off it.

We're at a drop dose. There is no room to reduce the dose. He has been in the 70-130ish range at his evening preshot. I wake up and he's in the high 200s, even high 300s. We've skipped some doses due to low numbers and work travel. But even those days he still seems like he's bouncing!

He did definitely seems to feel better at 79 than 379. But how to break this bounce cycle?

I'm at a loss of what to do. Raise it back to .1u and stay up to test and feed the curve? Impractical and just thinking about not getting enough sleep with my work schedule this week is making me want to cry.
 
What time of day does he get his steroid now? We had one member than gave her kitty steroids in the AM, so kitty would be a little higher (and safe) when she went into work for the day. Note, how long it takes for the numbers to start going up after steroids is ECID, so you'd have to figure that part out.

What carb food is Charlie getting now? One way to get a little more insulin safely into kitty is to feed a somewhat higher carb LC food. Say something in the 8-9% range.

With data and experience, people following SLGS can lower their reduction point and "no shoot" numbers.
 
He gets his steroid at 5 pm. Previously, he had been dropping after his steroid dose, which had been confusing. Now he's just high all the time.

ECID?


Hi Sarah and Charlie!

My last diabetic cat was put back on prednisilone 2 years after diabetic DX.

The half life of pred is approximately 6 to 7 hours after administering. That means the effects start to wane off at that time.

I used to balance Luigi's pred dose with the insulin by giving his pred about an hour and a half before he hit nadir (lowest BG) for the day.

If you have pinpointed Charlie's nadir, it might work for you! ECID, it's true, but it's trial and error when there are meds that affect BG.

You may notice his nadir is a little higher if you try this method, but for us, it worked and kept him from spiking too high.

Just my 2 pennies!

Deb
 
Logistically, I'm not going to be able to give him his steroids and hour and a half before his nadir (which seems to be +5 or 1:30 in the afternoon... I am sometimes home at noon but not always, and sometimes if I am, I have meetings). He used to get it with first or second dinner (5 or 10). The transdermal plus ear prick was not happening so he got it with his 5pm snack. He's now happily eating the pill in his food, so that's working out ok.
 
Back
Top