Nancy and Cody
Very Active Member
Re: HELP!!! Sudden low numbers
Usually when a cat has a hypo or near hypo experience, their hormones are very sensitive and they rebound up high the next day or 2. You are going to need to ignore that and shoot 1u until things calm down, and you get him stabilized on a LC canned food only diet. No more dry treats except in situations like tonight.
It is still possible that he is an acrocat, because the pituatary tumor hormone output fluctuates, and if it drops, it can suddenly cause low numbers because you are giving so much insulin. Acro-beans have to be vigilant on testing everyday for that reason.
Buy the ketodiastyx tomorrow- any pharmacy
You really should test again tonight. He may not be out of the woods. If BG get below 20 its not unlikely to have a seizure.
Usually when a cat has a hypo or near hypo experience, their hormones are very sensitive and they rebound up high the next day or 2. You are going to need to ignore that and shoot 1u until things calm down, and you get him stabilized on a LC canned food only diet. No more dry treats except in situations like tonight.
It is still possible that he is an acrocat, because the pituatary tumor hormone output fluctuates, and if it drops, it can suddenly cause low numbers because you are giving so much insulin. Acro-beans have to be vigilant on testing everyday for that reason.
Buy the ketodiastyx tomorrow- any pharmacy
You really should test again tonight. He may not be out of the woods. If BG get below 20 its not unlikely to have a seizure.