Update! Dora AMPS 235

Dora the Explorer

Member Since 2020
Hi,

If anyone would take a good look at Dora’s chart I’d very much appreciate any thoughts. We increased her dose after a curve two days ago. For work reasons we couldn’t test during the day yesterday or the day before. Vet says do another curve next Tuesday so I’m checking when I can but she’s always so high when I do. I’m getting really worried. She seems ok, but yesterday she was lying in her sick pose, which she only does when she feels off. She was at 450 with no insulin when she was diagnosed and it feels like she just stays there

She eats FF and Friskies pates with her 7/7 shots and then again at lunchtime and bedtime.

Thanks -
Jane and Dora
 
With the curve you ran, and since you are following SLGS, you should have increased by 0.25 units, not the full 0.5 units. The same thing was suggested by several experienced members on your previous post here: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/update-doras-first-curve-and-im-sad.230686/ You also didn't do a curve when you went from 0.7/0.75 units, so you don't have as much data as you should before doing an increase. You will find we really focus on data here, especially knowing how low the dose is taking the cat before increasing safely.

You said you can't test during the day, but it is possible to get a before bed test every night? Many cats go lower at night anyway, and it'll really help fill in the picture to see what is happening.
 
Thanks-

I put the 1.5 in in case I speak to the vet and show the chart. I’ve been doing less although frankly it’s so hard to tell. I apologize for not making that more clear, I read every word on my previous thread.

This was Dora’s first curve and we did it at the vet’s request. We are brand new to this and just learning. There were just the two days where we couldn’t test during the day, usually we can.

I guess the problem and my frustration is that when I ask for help I just get told what I’m doing wrong. Is it actually the case that in all the data here there is just no way that anyone can offer any help?
 
Last edited:
I love her name, it's so perfect for a cat! Though our young cat is more of a marauder than an explorer.

I understand why you're frustrated. It's hard at first. Taking care of your cat is hard, figuring out this message board is hard.

I want to see if I understand - you are giving 1.25 units? But you put 1.5 in the chart to show the vet?

It's going to take time to help Dora, but you will do it. Keep posting every day. I'll look out for your posts!
 
The data you have collected is good, but we'd always like more. ;) Your signature says you are following SLGS. SLGS says to do a curve once a week to evaluate the dose before evaluating the dose dose to see if you should increase. It doesn't say the before bed tests, but experience here is if you can get them, they are particularly helpful. We really want to know how low the dose is taking the cat before increasing, to make sure it's safe to do so.

The problem with newly diagnosed cats, is that their numbers can literally be all over the place because their bodies are getting used to the insulin. When key pieces of data are missing, I can think of multiple possibilities for why the numbers are what they are. One is the dose is too low, the other scenario is that it is too high. These darn cats are just so unpredictable. Data tells us the answers.
 
I love her name, it's so perfect for a cat! Though our young cat is more of a marauder than an explorer.

I understand why you're frustrated. It's hard at first. Taking care of your cat is hard, figuring out this message board is hard.

I want to see if I understand - you are giving 1.25 units? But you put 1.5 in the chart to show the vet?

It's going to take time to help Dora, but you will do it. Keep posting every day. I'll look out for your posts!

that’s right about the dosage. Although if I’m being honest, I have a hard time differentiating between 1.25 and 1.5.

I didn’t realize about the curve once a week, but we’re doing another next week anyway. I do wish I’d done them sooner. Dora hated it though. It made her miserable and only showed poor results

oh - her name - she’s a cat from the streets of North Philadelphia. My son took her in when he was at LaSalle University...so she’s named after their mascot and it suits her!

thank you!
 
I had to chase Dora around the house this morning and she was making her crazy murring sound. I held my breath and waited for the reading: 235! A fluke or the start of a trend? We will see! Definitely going to try to determine 1.25 as opposed to 1.5 units if I can.

Will someone tell me how to copy the link to a post so I can link it to a new one? Thanks!

jane
 
I had to chase Dora around the house this morning and she was making her crazy murring sound. I held my breath and waited for the reading: 235! A fluke or the start of a trend? We will see! Definitely going to try to determine 1.25 as opposed to 1.5 units if I can.

Will someone tell me how to copy the link to a post so I can link it to a new one? Thanks!

jane


can you see the address area of your browser window? you can copy it from there.
or when you look at all the posts listed in the forum, find yours and right click on it. you should see option to copy link.
 
Back
Top