Update: BG 52 at +5 past AMPS (Nov. 16). [PMPS a little low (Nov. 15), help please!]

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by HaileyandTulip, Nov 15, 2019.

  1. HaileyandTulip

    HaileyandTulip Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2019
    Hello!

    Tulip's BG numbers have been a little weird lately and I have had to adjust her dose or skip it due to low numbers within the past few days.

    Tulip's prescribed dose is 1u. Yesterday I gave her 0.75u in the morning because I overslept and had to feed her early that evening due to a staff meeting. She was pretty low that afternoon (61 at +5.5, 71 at +6, 90 at +6.5) so I fed kibble before my lunch break ended. Tested 413 at +10. Had to feed her at +10 and decided not to shoot.

    This morning she was at 356, AMPS. 75 at +6.5. Put out 1/2 can of FF. Tested 97 at +7. Tested 172 at +11.5. PMPS was 183 so I stalled. 182 twenty minutes later. Put out her meal after that.

    I'd like to shoot a token dose. But I'm not sure how much to reduce her dose. TIA! :cat:
     
  2. Sarah&Soph

    Sarah&Soph Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2019
  3. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Given that Tulip dropped to 61 yesterday and 75 today, I'd reduce the dose to 0.75u now and if you are uneasy about tonight given the lower pre-shot reading, you could reduce the dose to 0.5u for tonight only and resume with 0.75u tomorrow AM provided BG at pre-shot is high enough to shoot. Definitely get another test tonight at +2 post shot or before you go to bed to make sure she isn't dropping.
     
    Sarah&Soph and HaileyandTulip like this.
  4. HaileyandTulip

    HaileyandTulip Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2019
    Thank you so, so much!! I am feeling worried so I will go with 0.5u tonight and resume with 0.75u tomorrow morning. I will be able to get more frequent tests since it's the weekend and will definitely test at +2 and probably around +4 as well before I go to sleep.
     
    MrWorfMen's Mom likes this.
  5. HaileyandTulip

    HaileyandTulip Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2019
    Updates:

    Tulip's BG was 247 this morning for AMPS! Fed her, then gave 0.75u.

    I just tested her (at +4.5) and she's at 55. Immediately retested, still 55. I put out 1/4 C kibble and she ate about 1/8 C.

    No physical signs of hypo. Going to test again at +5. We are hanging out on the couch together right now.
     
  6. HaileyandTulip

    HaileyandTulip Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2019
    52 at +5. Fed her 6 or 7 Blue Wilderness Chicken and Salmon treats and got her to eat about another 1/8C of her kibble (Blue Buffalo Healthy Aging for Mature Cats). She's been drinking water too. No physical signs of hypo. Still monitoring.
     
  7. HaileyandTulip

    HaileyandTulip Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2019

Share This Page