Update: 2/12 Tonka AMPS 234, +11.5 92, PMPS 81... And 83 this morning at AMPS

Status
Not open for further replies.

jmalasiuk

Member Since 2014
So now I'm wondering if the reason Tonka hit his nadir so early last night was that he rebounded slightly. He was on the higher side this morning, and I got home early enough to test him at 11.5 hours, by which point he was down to 92. Half an hour later, and he's still dropping (at 81).

I've dosed him his 2.0 units and fed him a bit higher carb wet than usual (8% rather than 3%) to give his insulin something to work on. Hoping that he stays a good level because I'd really like to get to sleep before 2 am tonight :)
 
Two green nights in a row! Looking good. :D Since Tonka was sliding down into PMPS, I'd get some earlier tests tonight.

Paws crossed for some lovely surfing.
 
He was 3.9 (70) at +2, so still coming down, but at least it's not at a crazy fast rate. I'll probably just keep testing him hourly (unless he starts diving) and see where he winds up.
 
Slowing down - same level at +3.5 (3.2, or 58). This is about the time that he started climbing last night, so it could be the same deal tonight.
 
He did the same thing on the AM cycle of the 8th. I've noticed that some kitties when they start green have their nadir earlier. Since he's basically flat, you could give him a couple tsp of low carb food to see if you can encourage him to surf.
 
Tonka like the food idea (as did Teeger, who of course must also participate in the late night feedings). I just tested him and he's still at about the same level.

I should note that these readings have been on the Bravo meter, which as noted yesterday seems to test consistently higher than the One Touch. Out of curiosity I checked him on the One Touch as well, and that reading was 2.8 mmol (50 mg). So they're closer to each other at the lower end of the scale, but Bravo still reads a bit higher.
 
It's your call, but by the OneTouch Tonka might have earned a reduction tonight when he did the 54 on the Bravo.

My civie has to have his share of the extra snacks too - he's the first one to the test spot for treats.
 
I was thinking that I should probably drop him down a bit in the morning again, especially since I fed him more carbohydrates than his usual meal and he was still either just above 50 or possibly below, depending on which meter you believe. Either way, if 1.75 units turns out to not be quite enough, I can always raise him again, right?

It's going to be interesting to see what happens when he has his dental at the end of the month, if their levels tend to go down after cleaning up any issues with their teeth and gums.

Teeger's actually been very considerate when it comes to feeding time. Days before Tonks got sick, Teeger would always elbow his way in to be sure he was first to be fed (being elder-cat has its perks, apparently). Now he just sits back and waits patiently for the patient to get his share.
 
Given how long you are away during the day, lowering to 1.75U seems the prudent thing to do. If you find his numbers are starting to drift back up, you can always increase again. After reducing, you wait to see what happens when the bounce is done. If he's not back into green, then the reduction may have failed. If you are unsure, post and ask.

Some kitties go down after dentals, some not, depends on what gets done. And it can take a while to affect the sugar levels. If there are extractions, then there may be some resulting inflammation. After Neko's dental (and one extraction) I had to raise her dose for about a week before the inflammation calmed down, then she just went down a little bit below her predental dose.
 
His vet wants to start him on antibiotics a couple days before the dental, to keep any infection from even having a chance to start up, I think. I really don't like the idea of overusing antibiotics (how it's creating drug resistant bugs and all that), but in this case, it will hopefully help more than hurt him.
 
Depending how much you need to get to sleep, you could carb him up. This surf is great for his pancreas, but he'll do just as much healing in the 80's. Neko once hovered at 53 for 3 hours in a row. In the middle of the night of course. :rolleyes:
 
Well, he finally broke through to 4.0 (72) so that last helping of food that I gave him an hour ago appears to be sending him back up. All good. Maybe I will get to sleep before 2. Thanks for your support tonight
 
And this morning, Tonka is back down to 4.6 (83). I'm giving him the 1.75 and have to head out to work, so am leaving a bunch of frozen med carb food and might have my catsitter look in on him today. Safe?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top