? UPDATE -+2 114. Not shooting!Boots PMPS 161- should I shoot?

Liz H

Member Since 2020
Hi all,

After a bunch of cycles in the 300s to make up for a mistakenly skipped AM dose, Boots was at 189 AMPS and 161 PMPS today. She is eating now. My gut says to shoot because she is likely at 161 because of the insulin and I'll surely wake up to a high 300 and we'll be right back where we started when I skipped that AM dose. I'm still a newbie, so would love your advice.

Thanks,

Liz
 
Hi there. I'm sorry I can't offer advice in re to shooting or not. Maybe if you put the question mark prefix in your title if could draw more attention. Go to thread tools and click the edit title button; the prefix is located at the very left in a drop down menu...it has an arrow. If you mouse over the no prefix different options become available... 911(emergency only), GA(gone ahead) and ? Click the question mark and save(of course). Now the ? appears in your title. When your question has been answered just edit title again and click no prefix. Sorry that I can only offer help in trying to draw more attention to your thread. Hopefully you will get some guidance soon:)
 
Hi there. I'm sorry I can't offer advice in re to shooting or not. Maybe if you put the question mark prefix in your title if could draw more attention. Go to thread tools and click the edit title button; the prefix is located at the very left in a drop down menu...it has an arrow. If you mouse over the no prefix different options become available... 911(emergency only), GA(gone ahead) and ? Click the question mark and save(of course). Now the ? appears in your title. When your question has been answered just edit title again and click no prefix. Sorry that I can only offer help in trying to draw more attention to your thread. Hopefully you will get some guidance soon:)


Thank you! I learn something here every day!
 
I can't offer shooting advice, but I can get you ready for when an experienced member comes along.

  • Do you have plenty of medium carb (10-17% carb) and high carb (18% carb and over) canned foods
  • Do you have honey or karo?
  • Do you have an extra 50 test strips ?
  • Are you around to monitor tonight
 
To add on some more:

-is your spreadsheet up to date? Tonight, as you as you test, update your spreadsheet every time.
-after you test, update the title of this thread with the numbers and +time
 
How much can you test tonight? Do you have plenty of test strips and high carb food?

Most important, did you shoot yet? If not could you retest again and see if Boots has gone up?

I didn't shoot. I am too skittish about lows. I can test her now, though. I can test as much as needed tonight and have high carb kibble. I'll report back after I poke her. She's almost +2 now. Thanks!!
 
Liz --

If I may offer a suggestion. It will help us when you have a question about whether or not to shoot and it will help you, in terms of having a better handle on Boots patterns, if you get more test data. Right now, you've done a great job of getting pre-shot tests. The difficulty is that Lantus dosing is based on the nadir -- the lowest number in the cycle. You've already seen some good numbers earlier this month during the PM cycle. Unfortunately, we have no clue if Boots typically drops into lower numbers in PM cycle or if he does the same thing during the AM cycle. Our kitties are entirely capable of starting a cycle in the 400s, dropping into the 40s and bouncing back into the 400s by the next shot time. If you don't get the mid-cycle data, you wouldn't know that a dose reduction was indicated and instead, you'd be raising the dose. I'm not sure what your schedule will permit but getting additional tests will be helpful.

Also, can you look over the sticky that describes our dosing methods? If you've complete transitioning Boots to canned food, you have the option of using either Tight Regulation (TR) or Start Low Go Slow (SLGS). If Boots is still eating dry food, your only option is SLGS. Which ever you opt for, could you include the information in your signature?
 
At +2 she's at 114. Obviously not going to shoot! Is this an insulin depot thing? Sputtering pancreas?
 
More than likely the depot. Typically the depot is in play at least the first half of the cycle following.
 
Liz --

If I may offer a suggestion. It will help us when you have a question about whether or not to shoot and it will help you, in terms of having a better handle on Boots patterns, if you get more test data. Right now, you've done a great job of getting pre-shot tests. The difficulty is that Lantus dosing is based on the nadir -- the lowest number in the cycle. You've already seen some good numbers earlier this month during the PM cycle. Unfortunately, we have no clue if Boots typically drops into lower numbers in PM cycle or if he does the same thing during the AM cycle. Our kitties are entirely capable of starting a cycle in the 400s, dropping into the 40s and bouncing back into the 400s by the next shot time. If you don't get the mid-cycle data, you wouldn't know that a dose reduction was indicated and instead, you'd be raising the dose. I'm not sure what your schedule will permit but getting additional tests will be helpful.

Also, can you look over the sticky that describes our dosing methods? If you've complete transitioning Boots to canned food, you have the option of using either Tight Regulation (TR) or Start Low Go Slow (SLGS). If Boots is still eating dry food, your only option is SLGS. Which ever you opt for, could you include the information in your signature?
Thank you so much! I read the dosing options but will need to read again to be sure I understand before committing to one. It's a lot to process.
I am off tomorrow and will do my best to get more data on my sheet. I think grabbing her each time her autofeeder opens will be the plan (every 3 hours).
Again, thank you all so much. I couldn't manage this without your help!
 
Back
Top