There are three key factors to managing diabetes: food/nutrition, home testing and insulin
As you are home testing and using lantus, I will touch on the first one Food:
1) Feline Nutrition: Now, as far as diet - definitely dump the dry food (if you are feeding any). I see you are feeding DM. ALL cats, and especially those with diabetes, do best on a species appropriate diet that is high in protein and low in carbs. Dry food DOES NOT fit that bill and DM food, even canned, just really isn't that great as far as quality and is higher in carbs than we like to use. Most here on FDMB feed low carb/high protein canned or raw bought from a pet store or they make their own.
Here is a link to a site by a vet "Dr. Lisa DVM" ... who also posts on this board from time to time ... www.catinfo.org
If you look on the right side of her site, she has a food comparison chart to help you figure out what food you want to get based on the carb %.
You want to keep the carb % below 10% and around 7% is great. (Personally, I stay between 0-6% carbs.)
While on her site, you can read about in-depth info. on nutrition and how to make raw food, etc.
Here is another link that will give more information about food/nutrition
Nutrition/food info
If you have more than one cat, you can safely use the same food for all your cats and it may save you some costs and headaches of having to do separate feedings and keeping track of what they are eating.
If you have not already been to the Lantus forum, I suggest you go over there and read the starred (sticky) information. It talks about tight protocol, home testing, when to change the dose, how long to keep a dose, and the whys about this.
STICKY: LANTUS & LEVEMIR - NEW TO THE GROUP? PLEASE READ...
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=18139
STICKY: LANTUS & LEVEMIR - TIGHT REGULATION PROTOCOL...
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1581
STICKY: LANTUS & LEVEMIR - WHAT IS THE INSULIN DEPOT?...
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=150
STICKY: LANTUS & LEVEMIR - INFO, PROPER HANDLING, & STORAGE...
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=151
I get that this is a lot to read, but it is important for you to start looking at this, so that you can better understand when to adjust the dose.
Here is an excerpt from the links above:
"General" Guidelines:
Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles).
Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.
Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
Reducing the dose:
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.
If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose.
Try to go from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely.
Random Notes:
Because of the cumulative nature of Lantus and Levemir:
An early shot = a dose increase.
A late shot = a dose reduction.
A "cycle" refers to the period of time between shots. There are 2 cycles in one day when shooting twice a day.
Sometimes a dose will need to be "fine tuned" by adding some "fat" or "skinny-ing up" the dose.
Hopefully, this will help explain why others are telling you not to change the dose every time you shoot and how long to hold the dose.
Please let us know how else we can help.