Unpredictable Buddy

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marci and Buddy

Member Since 2009
This morning amps was GREEN! I was thrilled . first green in months., even though its by 1 number, i'll take it!
Wasn't sure how to proceed with shot. i fed him, he was hungry-and waited 90 min till he was 195 and shot 25 u.
i think i may have shot too little, but i thought better to play it safe. i guess i will see rebound #'s later today.
Any thoughts on what i should give him for the pm dose? i'm thinkning this thin 1.5 u is close to his ideal dose?
 
Why did you change the dose? Levemir isn't PZI. You don't drop the dose unless he goes below 40/50. You were successful at 1.4 units. Stick with it! The .25 this morning means you will have to start over. And if, at any time, you absolutely must lower the dose, then drop it by .25 units, not by 1.20 units.
 
Terri-Please explain---are you saying I should have given him 1.40u at an amps of 195 ? wouldn't he have dropped too low? his +12 was 99, and i figured he dropped lower than that during the night, and i know we shoot the low , not the high.
Thanks for your help.
 
Marci and Buddy said:
Terri-Please explain---are you saying I should have given him 1.40u at an amps of 195 ? wouldn't he have dropped too low? his +12 was 99, and i figured he dropped lower than that during the night, and i know we shoot the low , not the high.
Thanks for your help.

Yes, I am saying you should have given him the full dose of Lev. Consistency, consistency, consistency. That's the secret. If you aren't going to be home or just can't bring yourself to shoot the full 1.4 then drop it to 1.3. The kind of big dose change you did today is why you can't get the Lev to work for him. I know it's hard, especially after PZI. But Lev is not PZI.
 
He's never been on pZI.
I was just unsure because i know to shoot the low #, how can the same dose work for a 99 as it does for a 500? But i get your point-consistancy--- thank you.
 
Hi Marci,
Have you read the sticky in Lantus ISG about how to handle lower than usual preshots? http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=147

The whole thing is worth reading because although the beginning part isn't as relevant for Lev or Lantus users, the second half is, as they address exactly what Terri is talking about - the shooting low to stay low.

It might help illuminate that for you. So many of us have had it drilled in to us that low numbers are dangerous, thus shooting low numbers raises the possibility of a hypo. Not necessarily so with Lev. I firmly believe it is the safest of insulins, as long as it is not truly overdosed, which would mean 5 or 10 times the normal dose, like when you read people shooting 10U by mistake. And I believe it was Pamela who double shot Tigger - she shot, her husband came home and thought she hadn't shot, so he shot too! Tigger was fine.

Buddy was 99 at preshot because 1.4U is a good dose, most likely. It is finally doing what it's supposed to do, make the numbers low enough at preshot that they can remain low throughout the cycle.

It's OK, tomorrow is another day. I don't think you need to start over by moving dose up slowly, although essentially you are because your data is all wonky now, but go back to the 1.4U dose.

:YMHUG:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top