It's very common for relatively newly diagnosed kittys to have their numbers seem to be all over the place. They are learning how to work the insulin, which is a hormone, and also getting used to blood sugar numbers than now be lower than what they were used to before they were diagnosed. A very common phenomenon is something we called bouncing. From the New to the Group Sticky Note:
Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).
As an example, on the 10th, Huey got down to some lovely blues, but he's not used to that, so that evening and the next day his numbers went soaring as he bounced. Another phenomenon that can play with the numbers is something we call New Dose Wonkiness, which is a temporary rise in numbers that happens in some cats, after an increase. It's thought to be due to some of the depot rebuilding and only impacts the first few cycles.
Speaking of increases, with our Start Low Go Slow method (and even if you were following Tight Regulation), those blues you saw on 1.5 units would mean an increase of 0.25 units to 1.75 units, not a full 1/2 unit increase. Cats are sensitive to small changes in insulin.