lkcbyer said:
I am using the glargine with human syringes and have been increasing it only a half unit, which is really hard to determine, after a week with no changes, per my vet's instructions. The reason he is now on the glargine is because they stopped producing the Vetsulin and we were not getting anywhere with the prozinc. I actually was able to get some readings in the mid 400s and 500s when we initially started on the Glargine but it did not last. I work full time so, I try to do curves when I am at home on the weekends and also try to take his BS in the evenings before and after his shot but it is always Hi, so over 600. I have been feeding him hi protein, 14%, no carb soft food and try to remember to pick up the dry food when he is in the house but it doesn't always get done. My vet and I just can't seem to get him figured out.
The three most common reasons for not being able to regulate are 1. feeding dry food, 2. too high a dose of insulin, and 3. having an infection or needing a dental. These are the factors you need to eliminate before determining if he is a high-dose cat.
I used to feed the Taste of the Wild dry before Bandit was diagnosed so I called to get the as-fed values back then, and it figured to be around 20% carbs. You'll need to get under 10% carbs to lower his BG and regulate. The only way to do that is to get rid of all the dry, period, and feed a lower carb wet food. 14% is too high. I try to stay between 2-6% carbs with Bandit.
If you can't keep him from getting into the dry food because of your other cats, you may need to switch all of the cats to a wet diet as well and ditch all the dry period. It's far healthier for the cats to feed a cheap, grain-free or low carb wet food than the most expensive dry you can find, and will save you money on vet bills in the long run. You can free-feed wet food also, by freezing or adding water. Or you can do feeding times if they're all good eaters of wet food. I know how much I paid for Taste of the Wild, and it actually works out to be less money to feed low carb Friskies in the big cans than that. I fed the grain-free flavors of Fancy Feast but I recently switched to the 13.5 oz cans of EVO grain free wet food because it was cheaper and the food is better quality. Take a look at the cat food nutrition charts:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/diabetic-cat-diets.htm. Pick anything under 10% carbs, but I prefer less than 6% because Bandit is very carb sensitive.
When you switch the food, and this is very important, you must reduce his insulin dose to 1u or 1.5u and start over. The diet change can almost immediately lower is BG by 100-300 points.
I work 60 hours a week and I'm in grad school, so I know how hard it can be to get tests. With glargine, you need to get at least three numbers every day--the AM pre-shot, the PM pre-shot, and a test 6 hours after the shot in either cycle. I used to test, go to work, test when I got home, and then test 6 hours after the PM shot. And I would do a curve on the weekend. The reason you need that test 6 hours in is because glargine dosing is determined by the when the insulin peaks, not the pre-shot. If you don't get that number, you have no idea if you are giving too much or too little insulin, because too much insulin will keep his numbers high as well (his body dumps glucose in his system to compensate for the high dose.
I hope you'll set up a spreadsheet and post in the Lantus (glargine) group! There are dosing experts there that have brought nearly 200 cats (including my own) into remission since 2008. Good luck!