Uk PZI numbers question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Di and Jasper

Member Since 2013
I posted on here are the weekend but can't seem to find my post so I thought I would start a new one :oops:
Jasper was diagnosed in feb 12 and he was on 5 units twice a day of caninsulin. He had a hypo oct 12 after which he wasn't regulating. A new vet suggested monitoring and since then his numbers have been very wonky so she changed him to PZI last week. Half a unit once a day (am). First dose on Saturday (1 unit) and he had a hypo, with the help of Elizabeth he came through it. nailbite_smile
His numbers this week have been
6/1/13
+0 18 (324), +2 15.8 (284), + 4 11.3(203),+6 8 (144), +8 9.6 (172), +10 13.3 (239), +12 16.5 (297).

I have been at work so haven't been able to do a full curve but have tested before food and injection
7/1/13
+0 23.4 (421) +11 (tea time) (198)
8/1/13
+0 16.9 (250) +11 21.3 (383) (I gave half a unit) +6 7.7 (138)
9/1/13
+0 28.3 (509) +2 15.3(275) +4 11 (198) + 6 7.9 (142) - I was off this morning so could test. + 6 21 (378)
I faxed Sundays curve to my vets and phoned her today to discuss. She has told me to continue with once daily injections until she has spoken to an expert and she has asked me to do another curve this weekend. I'm a little concerned that this numbers at +11 are still high and just wanted to know what you thought. It's going to be another week before I can speak to her as she only works part time. So will Jasper be ok with numbers like his +11 numbers for another week?
Thanks
Dianne
 
It is hard to know, but I think, if he were mine and I could monitor, I would try .5 twice daily. As Elizabeth has said, Bertie sometimes goes longer than 12 hours on the PZI you are using, but I don't think it is a every cycle thing.

Of course, you wouldn't dose under 200 but wait 20 minutes without feeding and retest. (To be sure he was going up, not down and that he is over 200)

If that really makes you nervous, many PZI users in the US use U100 needles and the conversion chart (Conversion chart) to give doses under .5 You could try .2 or .4 units and work your way slowly back up.

I don't think it is wise to have him on this roller coaster of high and then good numbers. Not only does it feel really crummy, but it isn't helping you get him regulated. It is pretty clear, at least at the moment, it is wearing off by +12. Since you are testing, you can see if, in a given cycle, it lasts longer and you should skip.
 
Thanks Sue you've just said exactly what I've been thinking. I just think 21 (378) is just to high for him not to have a shot. His +12 is midnight so not too late to do another test as long as I have plenty of coffee the next day ;-)
 
Hi Dianne,

Lovely to hear from you!

Sue has given you excellent advice there. But to reiterate something of what she said; if you want to try giving two shots a day and if you feel nervous about giving half unit doses every 12 hours you could try a smaller dose and see how Jasper is with that. You can always work your way back up again from that lower dose...

Do you still have the link to the thread that had advice on measuring mini doses..? I'll try to find it and post it here....
Edited to add;
Link to mini and micro dosing thread: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=86344
Your original thread: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=86299

Best wishes,

Eliz
 
Thank Eliz I've just seen a link at the top (I had my ipad on magnify so couldn't see it before) that links into your previous posts :oops: :oops: :oops: maybe I should get reading glasses instead of magnifying the ipad :razz: I've just checked jasper again and he's still at 21 so think if he's like this tomorrow ill give him a shot.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top